Ratings based on 255 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
55% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 24, 2016
The hotel, especially the room had a very serious humidity problem. The room A/C was running but everything was sticky from dampness. The linens felt damp from it.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 15, 2016
Pros: location
room was stale, carpet was sticky. the staff was friendly and overall clean. won't stay here again
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 19, 2016 by Robert, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, I deeply apologize about the issues with your stay. Thanks for your feedback, I am addressing each of your concerns and we are working to make sure that this situation does not happen again in the future. I have scheduled your room to be deep cleaned so that everything will be fresh and ready for our future guests. Again, I am very sorry for your experience and I hope that you will give us a second chance to give you a good stay in a clean comfortable room. Sincerely, Robert P Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ames, IA

Worse hotel ever.

Posted Jul 2, 2016
Smelled horrible. Staff unclean and wore inappropriate clothing. Air conditioners didn't work. Pool was shut down and I was not told until I had already payed. Seriously smelled so bad I got an instant headache, I would not recommend this hotel to my worse enemy, discusting.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 19, 2016 by Robert, Hotel Management
I am so sorry about the experience that you had during your stay with us. I have checked your room and I am have made our housekeeping supervisor aware of your situation so that we can make sure that your room is fresh and spotless. I apologize that our pool was closed for maintenance, we are working very hard to provide our guests with the best accommodations and amenities. I hope that you will visit us again, we would love to hear about your next stay with us in one of our clean comfortable rooms. Sincerely, Robert P
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

do not stay here

Posted Jun 24, 2016
The hot tub was filled with sand and gravel. The pool's water was green and cloudy. The small of the hotel was terrible. I would never stay here again or recommend it to my worst enemy.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 19, 2016 by Robert, Hotel Management
Thanks for letting me know about your visit I deeply apologize for your stay not meeting your expectations and for anything that was less than perfect. Our staff is working together to address each of your comments and to improve for all of our future guests. We would love to have you backas our guest to provide you with a great stay in a clean convenient location. Sincerely, Robert P Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from OFallon, MO

Deals are not always better!!!

Posted Jun 21, 2016
When we arrived at the hotel there was no one available to check us in after a 6 hour drive. Of course I complained so I guess that because of this they gave us a room that had a broken air conditioner. For the record we travel during the summer so the room was extremely hot. The indoor pool was extremely dirty and they had some construction going on without any signs or explanations. We travel to Iowa often and this hotel (if it can be called that) will never be an option for us.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 19, 2016 by Robert, Hotel Management
You are a valued guest and we are glad to have your feed back. I apologize for your a/c if we had been aware of this situation we would have moved you to another room right away. The comfort of our guests is is very important to all of us. Our pool is being cleaned and we are currently having some construction done. The area is being blocked off for safety. Again, I deeply apologize about anything that caused your visit to be less than perfect. Sincerely, Robert P Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Graduation weekend

Posted May 10, 2016
Not many hotel avaliblities due to Iowa state graduation. Never stayed before probably won't again. Staff were not friendly and inspite of exterior renovations it wasn't much to look at.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 2, 2016 by Robert, Hotel Management
I am very sorry about the experience that you had during graduation weekend. Our goal is to give everyone a comfortable stay and make all of our guests feel at home. Again, I apologize for your stay being anything less than perfect. Sincerely, Robert Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dirty

Posted May 3, 2016
Dirty, and smelly. There was still a bar of used soap in the shower, smelled terrible of cigarette smoke, and spiders, and ants.
3 out of 5
by Vincent

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 26, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

great price for an above average hotel

Posted Apr 23, 2016
Use to stay here years ago when it was the Comfort Inn. Stopped coming because the rates were increased to over $80 a night. Great to be back
1 out of 5
by Dawn from Dyersville

poor hotel

Posted Apr 19, 2016 on Hotels
Tile missing in bathroom, shower dripped all night, pool area had mold on the door,tile missing on the floor, pool was cloudy, hot tub was not working and did not look like it had worked for awhile.