Ratings based on 291 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sammamish, WA

Ames IA Stay

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: Clean and a good breakfast.
Enjoyed our stay. Friendly staff and a great breakfast. Overall I would recommend this place anytime for the traveler.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Stayed here for a college visit. The whole family came there were 5 of us so we stayed in the king suite. It was perfect for the 5 of us king bedroom, queen bed and a sofa pull out that my son said was actually comfy. A very nice room and cheaper than booking two rooms.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Omaha, NE

Amazing service

Posted Aug 21, 2017
What makes this hotel stand out compared to the plethora of inns on the street is the outstanding quality of guest care that is expressed by every member of the staff. It was back to school week when we happened to be visiting, and every student was given a little present to welcome them. The lobby anyways has a little coffee and cookie station, and we were even given a gift card for drinks at the hotel happy hour upon check in. Unparalleled!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great accomodations

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Pros: Large areas to visit
Booked quite a few rooms for our daughters wedding. Was great to use the fire pit at night and a wonderful breakfast in the morning.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from illinois

Not for light sleepers

Posted Aug 17, 2017
The room AC units are the kind that cycle....on for a few minutes...then off....then on....then off....which for light sleepers means you wake up a lot..... Also, we we're by one of the exits, so there was extra noise... Otherwise the hotel was nice....if I stay there again, I'm bringing my own fan, sleeping pills and earplugs.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from seattle

Overpriced for the amenities

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Hotel was full and Understaffed, room cleaning incomplete. There are much better options nearby.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 20, 2017 by Customer Care, Hotel Management
Thank you for writing a review. We always desire for our valued guests stay to be outstanding. On the other hand, we apologize that you were not satisfied with your stay due to the cleanliness of your room and the service you received from our staff at that time. This is certainly not the kind of experience we would like you to have. Our team is working hard to ensure that our guests are comfortable and are receiving our best service. Your feedback is appreciated and will be forwarded to the hotel management for further improvements. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to hosting you again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Room

Posted Jul 8, 2017
The floors & bathroom were filthy. We had a bad experience before but thought we would try again...no more.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 12, 2017 by Customer Care, Hotel Management
Thank you for reaching out and writing your review. We are sorry that you were not satisfied with the cleanliness of the floors and bathroom during your stay. This is certainly not the kind of experience we want our valued guests to have. Your feedback will be forwarded to the hotel management to ensure to ensure all guest rooms are up to Country Inns & Suites by Carlson standards. We hope to see you again in any of our Country Inns & Suites by Carlson Hotels in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Blinking telephone in room was only negative.

Posted Jul 1, 2017
Pros: Very clean and great breakfast
Cons: Blinking room telephones
Location: Only spent the night...easy access to interstate and downtown
Already did...very annoying repetition of information already provided
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice and clean

Posted Jun 29, 2017
Pros: close to the campus
Cons: fix the noisy air conditioner
Location: close to state campus
room service was great, breakfast was setup well and good
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 23, 2017 on Hotels