Ratings based on 425 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
61% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 23, 2017
Room looked clean, fridge needed to be wiped out. There was a hair in the sheets.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington, IA

Carefree overnight

Posted Jun 5, 2017
Pros: It was a great deal with my Expedia points applied to the room rate. And it was close to my meeting place.
Location: Only about a mile or so from the Iowa State University campus where my meeting was held. This was a business trip so I wasn't looking for leisure.
There was nothing in particular that stood out about this hotel, but that was exactly what I was looking forward to. The staff was pleasant, check-in was easy, everything worked like it should. No hassles!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 11, 2017 by A.P. General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. Glad to hear you found our location convenient and our staff pleasant. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NC

Nice hotel near downtown Ames

Posted May 29, 2017
Pros: Cleanliness, convenience, breakfast selection.
Cons: About the only thing they didn't have was a waffle maker.
Location: Dollar Tree right next door. Walking distance to downtown shopping and eating. Across the street from Target!
This was an excellent experience. Rooms had been newly remodeled and were very clean. The breakfast was great. Lots of things from which to choose, including biscuits and gravy!! Early or late, everything was well stocked. Quiet. Convenient.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 30, 2017 by Umesh P. General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your positive feedback. Comments like yours encourage our staff as we strive to provide exceptional guest experiences. Glad to hear you found our property clean. Housekeeping is a priority for us. Our location is very convenient. I hope we will see you again soon and I promise we will make every effort to make your next stay even more enjoyable. Hurry Back!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Libertyville, IL.

Don't stay here!

Posted May 17, 2017
Pros: Good location near restaurants.
Cons: Old carpets smell bad and rooms were not clean. Staff never stays at the front desk, so good luck finding someone if you have a problem or question.
I've never written a review, but after such an awful experience, I feel I should warn everyone. For starters, the pictures of the rooms on Expedia are deceiving. I booked a suite with 1 queen size bed and couch for 2 adults and one child. When I checked in at 6pm, I was told that I had a queen size bed and jacuzzi. Where was my son supposed to sleep? I asked for another room, but the front desk said they were completely booked and they couldn't do anything even though there were only 5 cars in the parking lot and many others had not checked in yet. Graduation weekend, so no other rooms in Ames. They did offer us a rollaway bed for no charge. Immediately on arrival, we saw a piece of the toilet laying on top of it. Broken piece controlled the flushing. We notified front desk who couldn't understand what happened as they "just cleaned the room." Room was not clean and everything was unplugged as if never used. We asked for another room, they refused. We asked if they could call a plumber, they said No. We asked to speak to a manager. Staff left and returned in 5 minutes and said manager was on a plane and couldn't be reached. We were given a tutorial on how to stick your hand in the back of the toilet, in cold water, to manually flush it. Only other option was to use the hallway bathroom with Out of Order sign. I made a formal complaint online when home. Manager emailed me that we had been offered a refund that night and they would've called other hotels. Not true. Go elsewhere
Comment from Hotel Management
May 19, 2017 by A.P. General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. We are very sorry we failed to meet your expectations. The room Expedia booked is the room we provided to you. We do not know why there was a picture that caused the confusion, however we did provide the rollaway bed at no extra cost. We apologize there was a problem with your toilet. It was working fine at the time it was cleaned. And the room was rented regularly including prior to your stay. Our research indicated you were offered a complete refund if you left without using the room, and certainly we would have provided any assistance we could in locating another hotel. We are all very sorry for this unfortunate experience that was beyond our control. Our hotel was sold out or we would have offered you a different room. Each room type is assigned and we did not have another queen jacuzzi room available. And the room you booked with Expedia was for a queen suite with a jacuzzi. Again we apologize for your less than satisfying stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Great price and wonderful beds

Posted May 7, 2017
From Texas drove with my sister and brother in law all night. To bring my daughtet, whom graduted May 5th, They let us check in, early. No extra charge. Front desk personal was awesome. The beds were like clouds, after long trip and next day day cleaning, moping and making sure it would pass inspection, for deposit. They were heaven.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 13, 2017 by DK Guest Relations, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. I am glad you found our price to be great and our beds wonderful. Our guest's comfort and satisfaction is always our goal. I am happy our front desk was awesome. Customer service is very important to us. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Luck,Wi

Nicely located within shopping and eating

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Very friendly staff, Some concern with the cleanliness of room, because we found a pair of socks on chaie from former person staying in room. All amnities were very good and breakfast facilities were O K.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 25, 2017 by A.P. General Manager, Hotel Management
I am happy to hear you found our staff friendly. Customer service is very important to us. I apologize that you found socks on the chair. We have addressed this matter with our housekeeping department so it does not happen again. I am glad you found our amenities to be very good. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 14, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 18, 2017
Thank You for your survey feedback. We appreciate your evaluation as it helps us as we strive to make every guest stay an exceptional experience. A.P. General Manager
4 out of 5
by Lori

Posted Mar 13, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 18, 2017
Thank You for your survey feedback. We appreciate your evaluation as it helps us as we strive to make every guest stay an exceptional experience. A.P. General Manager
3 out of 5
by Keith

Posted Mar 1, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 18, 2017
Thank You for your survey feedback. We appreciate your evaluation as it helps us as we strive to make every guest stay an exceptional experience. A.P. General Manager
1 out of 5
by Michelle

NASTY AND BROKEN DOORS

Posted Feb 27, 2017 on Hotels
the conditions of this hotel were terrible.... Broken stuff and dirty very unhappy
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 18, 2017
Thank you for writing a review. I apologize your stay was anything less than completely satisfying. Most guests find our property clean and comfortable. I wish you would have notified the front desk as we would have gladly addressed any issues you had. I hope you will consider staying with us in the future and I promise we will make every effort to make your next stay more satisfying and enjoyable. A.P. General Manager