Ratings based on 473 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
58% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from chicago

Pretty sure our bed sheets were not washed

Posted Nov 21, 2017
First check in with a kid who you can tell isn’t happy to be there. No smile or polite. Get into our room and our bathroom had barely any toilet paper that makes you wonder when the last time it’s been cleaned? Then the beds.... There were stains on top comforters and bed skirts. Found a faded stain on sheets. Thankfully we brought our own blankets. $100 bucks isn’t a lot for a hotel but it’s way too much to be sleeping in those conditions.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from chicago, il

Just a bed

Posted Nov 13, 2017
Spider webs on the ceiling & in the corners, uncomfortable beds, few pillows and towels given, rooms smell old and musty.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 16, 2017 by A.P. General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. I apologize your stay was anything less than completely satisfying. I wish you would have notified the front desk that you had issues with your room as we would have gladly changed your room. All of our rooms are inspected before anyone checks in, and we found no evidence of spider webs in any of our rooms. Most guests love our clean comfortable rooms and friendly staff. I am sorry we could not meet your expectations.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis

Hotel in need up repair and updating

Posted Nov 12, 2017
Pros: convenient for Iowa State and reasonable price
All areas of hotel need repair and updating. Room generally clean, but walls and furniture are scuffed and dinged, beds are lumpy and old, light fixture with exposed wires, curtain barely hanging on....In general, a bit rundown.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 16, 2017 by A.P. General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. I am glad you found your room to be clean. Housekeeping is a priority for us. I am sorry you felt our property was run down. We make every effort to keep our property up to date and are continuously making improvements. Most guest like our clean comfortable rooms and friendly staff. I apologize we could not meet your expectations.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from iowa

Near down town

Posted Nov 8, 2017
Hotel near down town. Clean, with a limited breakfast but sufficient. room was fine. I’d stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice and close to Iowa State

Posted Oct 23, 2017
Pros: clean
Cons: breakfast
Continental breakfast leaves something to be desired
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 7, 2017 by A.P. General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. I am glad to hear you found our property nice and clean. Housekeeping is a priority for us. Looking forward to seeing you again soon.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis

Good location.

Posted Oct 23, 2017
Pros: Location.
Cons: The front desk should be staffed during peak times. Breakfast could have more options and more room (there was room for 8 people to sit at two tables
Location: Was visiting ISU student and it was the perfect location for picking up student and running errands. Lots of food options nearby and Target/Walmart.
Location was great - lots of options for food, close to ISU and Target/Walmart. The room and hotel in general was clean. No frills. Breakfast was ok - I've had better at other hotels in the area. No one was at the front desk when I arrived, had to call to get someone to check me in (checked in at 4pm on a Friday). No one was at the front desk when I left, had to call to get someone to check me out and was told to just "leave the key on the front desk". I checked out at 9:30 on a Sunday morning... I would think someone would be available to check people out. Would I stay again? Yes... but only if my other choices weren't available and I set my expectations low.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 7, 2017 by A.P. General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. I am happy to hear you liked our location. Our front desk is always staffed. If there are no guests in the lobby our front desk is attending to various duties. Sometimes front desk needs to go to a guest's room to help with a television issue, or he may be preparing for breakfast or many other duties. On Sunday when you called our front desk was assisting another guest. The moment he is called he attends to guests as quickly as possible, that is why he suggested leaving your keys rather than make you wait. We do hope you will stay with us again soon.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 18, 2017
There was only one bar of soap for both the shower and sink and one package of sugar and creamer.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 23, 2017 by A.P. General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. If you needed any extra amenities all you needed to do was contact the front desk. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
1 out of 5
by Adam

Dirty sheets

Posted Sep 10, 2017 on Hotels
It was a game weekend, so I understand prices were jacked up higher than normal. I paid well over $200 for a room that had other people's hair on the bedsheets. When we asked for a replacement set of sheets they gave us one, and it had a hair stuck on that also. Pretty gross.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 14, 2017
Thank you for your feedback. I apologize there was an issue with your sheets. We have spoken to housekeeping about your comments. We hope you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Elgin, IL

DON'T STAY-bed bugs!!!!

Posted Sep 6, 2017
Pros: NOTHING
Cons: EVERYTHING-see experience description
The hotel is poorly managed. Room was musty smelling. Behind the nightstand and the dresser was garbage (flossers, wrappers, etc). Refrigerator was dirty with crumbs and sticky stuff on the shelves. The WORST part was that there were BEDBUGS--we found them alive on the mattress. Almost all of us the next day ended up with many, many bites. The hotel didn't really acknowledge what a terrible thing this was--the front desk worker and the housekeeping staff ended up going into the room WITHOUT our permission to investigate. The manager apparently was called but I never had any direct contact despite requesting it. I was told several times things would be taken care of (refund for our stay the night before and a credit for the current night). Still have not received the credit. Very unprofessional. PAY the extra money to stay at hotels off Rt. 30 if you going for anything ISU related. Should have taken photos of the bugs as proof but didn't think of it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 11, 2017 by A.P. General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. I apologize your stay was anything less than completely satisfying. If you had any issues with your room's cleanliness I wish you would have contacted the front desk as we would have immediately changed your room or addressed your issues, whichever you preferred. Your room did not have bed bugs. It was rented regularly before your stay and after you left with no complaints or issues of bed bugs. We believe the mattress you brought into the hotel, for one of your children to sleep on, had some sort of insects in it that caused the bites you experienced. Our rooms are professionally maintained by professional pest control as per franchise standards. No one entered your room without permission. You were checking out and wanted a refund, so housekeeping staff was sent to inspect your room. No bed bugs were found, however there were some small insects in the mattress you brought into the hotel, as you showed us. Though we found no evidence of bed bugs in your room at all, nevertheless in the spirit of hospitality you were provided a complete refund and proof of that refund was sent to our franchise. You did speak to our Manager and he assured you the refund was processed and he sent you a copy of the credit.
4 out of 5
by Nancy

Posted Aug 29, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 31, 2017
Thank You for your feedback. Look forward to seeing you again soon.