Ratings based on 394 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.1 out of 5
59% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US


Posted Oct 21, 2016
Cons: Everything
Toilet leaked smelled like sewage. The front desk gave me febreeze instead of fixing the problem and there were no other rooms available. Wouldn't let my dog sleep there if it was free.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Stayed here a couple of nights. Room was clean. Staff was nice and helpful.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Handy location near city center

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Pros: Location relative to other options
Cons: Window needed fixing, breakfast was rather lame, staff seemed non-committal.
Location: Lots on Main Street! Walk to restaurants, coffee shop, farmers market, co-op...
I chose this hotel for its proximity to the Main Street area -- one of the only ones "downtown." The facility is a bit tired for the price and the street was noisier that I would have liked, but in general my stay was comfortable.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location/smelly room

Posted Oct 2, 2016
The hotel is in a good location if going to an ISU game but is not well maintained. The room had a funny smell. Also be aware that the price quoted on Expedia may not be the price you actually pay. It was MUCH more expensive
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

disappointing stay at busy downtown

Posted Sep 10, 2016
Location: its downtown so right next to Mcdonalds and food places and gas stations and such but thats why there was little parking
the staff didnt know what they were doing and certainly didnt want to work with me when i had a family emergency to refund a shorter stay, smelly in room, towels rock hard, and at first all we had are wash clothes. so busy downtown when came back from our event we had to park way back in the alley and no doors work down there.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Phoenix. AZ

Mediocre stay

Posted Aug 7, 2016
Pros: The bed
Cons: See the comments above. They did not seem to be trying very hard to go over the top to provide well for guests.
Location: Had restaurants in walking distance and Target.
Several facilities were out of order in this hotel. The first floor restroom was out of order, the orange juice at breakfast was out of order, the toilet in our room wouldn't flush. For a total of $100 per night, I wasn't impressed with this hotel. The plunger they brought worked very well so that did not turn out to be a big problem. The room was spacious and one of us liked the bed very much, but we bring our own pillows so we don't have to fight the "over-stuffed bouncy" pillows. The breakfast was adequate, nothing outstanding. Also, the location is not "highway traveler" friendly. We booked through Expedia and it was totally inadequate as far as getting an exit number and directions to the hotel. Probably will not go out of our way to stay there again. Only stayed this time because it is a Wyndham hotel and the location (Ames) fit our travel plan. Breakfast room very small. Had a sign asking people not to take breakfast items out of it but it was so small guests would have to to find a place to eat if the hotel was full!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Pros: Convenience to 35 and shops and restaurants
The only complaint I would have is with the parking at this hotel.It is convenient to 35w and also having Target and Walmart across the street is nice. If you are looking for super nice fancy this is not the place.
3 out of 5
by joseph

days inn ames

Posted Jul 12, 2016 on Hotels
Gave me a room that wasn't ready. Carpet dirty and wet in spots
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ames, IA

Wouldn't recommend it

Posted Jun 27, 2016
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything about breakfast. Pillows very uncomfortable
Breakfast was horrible. AC doesn't work in designated breakfast area. Food selection not good. Milk for cereal was warm. Pillows in room were not comfortable. I would definitely not stay there again.
2 out of 5
by Derek from Kearney, NE

Fair at Best

Posted Jun 13, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel was fair. Decent for price we paid. Continental breakfast could use a vast improvement. Room was small and crowded and the food was very limited.