Ratings based on 451 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
59% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Elgin, IL

DON'T STAY-bed bugs!!!!

Posted Sep 6, 2017
Pros: NOTHING
Cons: EVERYTHING-see experience description
The hotel is poorly managed. Room was musty smelling. Behind the nightstand and the dresser was garbage (flossers, wrappers, etc). Refrigerator was dirty with crumbs and sticky stuff on the shelves. The WORST part was that there were BEDBUGS--we found them alive on the mattress. Almost all of us the next day ended up with many, many bites. The hotel didn't really acknowledge what a terrible thing this was--the front desk worker and the housekeeping staff ended up going into the room WITHOUT our permission to investigate. The manager apparently was called but I never had any direct contact despite requesting it. I was told several times things would be taken care of (refund for our stay the night before and a credit for the current night). Still have not received the credit. Very unprofessional. PAY the extra money to stay at hotels off Rt. 30 if you going for anything ISU related. Should have taken photos of the bugs as proof but didn't think of it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 11, 2017 by A.P. General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. I apologize your stay was anything less than completely satisfying. If you had any issues with your room's cleanliness I wish you would have contacted the front desk as we would have immediately changed your room or addressed your issues, whichever you preferred. Your room did not have bed bugs. It was rented regularly before your stay and after you left with no complaints or issues of bed bugs. We believe the mattress you brought into the hotel, for one of your children to sleep on, had some sort of insects in it that caused the bites you experienced. Our rooms are professionally maintained by professional pest control as per franchise standards. No one entered your room without permission. You were checking out and wanted a refund, so housekeeping staff was sent to inspect your room. No bed bugs were found, however there were some small insects in the mattress you brought into the hotel, as you showed us. Though we found no evidence of bed bugs in your room at all, nevertheless in the spirit of hospitality you were provided a complete refund and proof of that refund was sent to our franchise. You did speak to our Manager and he assured you the refund was processed and he sent you a copy of the credit.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tucson,AZ

Great location

Posted Aug 26, 2017
Pros: location
Great location. Close to everything including the University of Iowa.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 28, 2017 by A.P. General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from iowa

By I S U

Posted Aug 22, 2017
Pros: Close to campus
Cons: Check rooms ahead to make sure it is ok
Location: Campus
No coffee maker in our room and the toilet seat was very loose.Working on parking lot and not enough parking
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 28, 2017 by A.P. General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. I am glad you found our location convenient. Looking forward to seeing you again soon.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MN

Accommodating

Posted Aug 22, 2017
Pros: Nice location; front desk staff very pleasant and accommodating.
Cons: Bathroom door in first hotel room didn't close.
The first room we checked into reeked! Within minutes, my throat and eyes were burning. The parking lot right outside the room had just been re-tarred that day. Fortunately, they had another non-smoking two queen bed room available. We changed rooms, and the next room was fine. The continental breakfast was nice. The first room needed a little attention - bathroom door wouldn't shut.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 28, 2017 by A.P. General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. I am happy to hear you liked our location and found our staff very pleasant and accommodating. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from oo

Low price hotel you get what you pay for.

Posted Aug 21, 2017
Recent stay in Ames was mediocre. Basic hotel, older and the room showed it. I would not go back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 28, 2017 by A.P. General Manager , Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. I apologize we could not meet your expectations. Most guests love our clean comfortable rooms and friendly staff.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

hard beds

Posted Aug 18, 2017
Cons: Beds were like sleeping on the floor.
Hard beds hard hard hard beds. It would have been more comfortable sleeping on the floor
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 21, 2017 by A.P. General Manager , Hotel Management
Thank You for your feedback. I apologize you found our beds to be hard. We do use the brand standard beds for Days Inn. I hope you will visit us again in the future.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

It was a room to stay in, that's it.

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Pros: Nothing
In a nutshell, it was not a good motel to stay in. The beds were too hard. We had 4 people staying in the room, and both nights we stayed we had to ask for towels, we only had 1 set. You would think they would see that 4 people were staying in that room and have enough towels. I bottle of shampoo and conditioner and 1 bar of soap. For the price they charge for a night, one would think you would get better service. I had a hard time understanding the front desk clerk, and the vending was sub par. I have stayed in many motels, and this one ranks right close to the bottom. There also may be a problem with billing my credit card, I am waiting to see if a charge drops off that they put on there before I even checked in.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 21, 2017 by A.P. General Manager , Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. I apologize we were unable to meet your expectations. Most guests like our clean comfortable rooms and friendly helpful customer service. I hope you will stay with us in the future so we will make every effort to make your next stay more comfortable and enjoyable.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Greenwood, SC

Serious Mistake

Posted Aug 15, 2017
Pros: NOTHING
Cons: Management, House Keeping, and in general everything.
Would not recommend this hotel to anyone. We rented 2 rooms for 7 nights and in that amount of time we had workers grilling in the parking lot at the same time the manager was on duty but of course he never made a move from his one way mirrored office to say anything to the men. The management was tested for cleaning capabilities. Beads were in one room's bathroom floor upon arrival and were still there on the morning of departure. Blood from the second night (mine from a cut) got on the sheets. Those sheets were still on the bed upon departure. Most hotels give you 2 washcloths, 2 hand towels, 2 towels and 1 bathmat. On the third day we were having to ask for 2 washcloths and 2 hand towels and the manager called that getting "extra" and making it sound like you stole them. We ended up buying pillows, washcloths, hand towels and bath towels just so that we didn't have to go through the manager. Oh and if you plan on staying after all this please plan on paying for your room up front even if you use a debit card because they will pull the money out and you can't use the card. The money will be refunded after 4-5 days even if you pay cash upon departure. So expect to pay twice. Oh and I forgot about the car horn blowing every 15 minutes beginning a 6 am. The management at that time will tell you they "don't know who the car belongs to". Make of cars was not asked for. Better check under the bed-candy wrappers were under one bed (and this is call house keeping).
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 21, 2017 by A.P. General Manager , Hotel Management
Thank You for your feedback. We apologize we were unable to meet your expectations. Unfortunately when you put a do not disturb sign on the door you cannot expect housekeeping. Your towels were changed and extra provided. Since you made no complaints during your entire stay we had no opportunity to address any issues you may have had. Had you informed us we would have gladly changed your rooms. Most guests love our clean comfortable rooms and friendly service.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from greenwood, SC

Horrible experience

Posted Aug 13, 2017
Non-helpful staff. Lack of ability as to how to run a business much less a hotel/motel. Not clean or well maintained. Workers grill in the parking lot without any utensils. Sink hole in parking lot. Etc, etc, etc. would not recommend to a dog much less a human.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 21, 2017 by A.P. General Manager , Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. We apologize your stay was anything less than completely satisfying. Your stayed with us for a week, if you did not like our property you certainly could have checked out. You also made no complaints during your entire stay. Most guests love our clean comfortable rooms and friendly service. We are sorry we were unable to meet your expectations.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from AMES, IA

CLOSE TO SHOPPING AND DINNING

Posted Jul 4, 2017
NUMDER ONE IS THE PRICE . BOOKED THRU EXPEDIA. BOOKED AT CHEAPER RATE AND WHEN WE ARRIVED IT WAS A MORE EXPENSIVE STAY. CLERK SAID NOTHING SHE COULD DO. THE BREAKFAST WAS GROSS. NO DECAFE COFFEE. ALSO NO COFFEE MAKER IN ROOM ALL THE FIXINGS WAS THERE BUT NO WAY TO FIX IT. ALSO TV WOULD NOT WORK. WHEN WE OPEN THE BED AT NIGHT WE DISCOVERD BLOOD SPOTS ON THE SHEET ALSO THE COVER TO SLEEP UNDER.. NEXT MORNING TOOK SHOWER OPEN TOWEL AND HAD A BIG HOLE IN IT. WE HAD ROOM FOR TWO NIGHTS LEFT ROOM TO GO AWAY FOR PART OF THE DAY. WHEN WE CAME BACK THE ROOM WAS NOT MADE. WHE WE COMPLAINED THE SAID MAID HAD ALREADY LEFT. I HAD TO GO TO SECOND FLOOR AND FIND ANOTHER MAID TO CLEAN IT. THAN SHE TOLD ME SHE COULD NOT DO IT UNTIL MANAGER SAID SHE COULD.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 8, 2017 by A. P. General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for writing a review. I am sorry your stay was anything less than completely satisfying. I wish you would have notified the front desk about the issues with your room. We would have gladly changed your room. If we do not know there is a problem we have no opportunity to address it. Your room was not cleaned because there was a DND do not disturb sign on the door, therefore housekeeping could not enter. When you returned the housekeepers were already leaving for the day. Most guests love our clean comfortable rooms and friendly staff. I apologize we could not meet your expectations.