Ratings based on 355 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Iowa

Econo Lodge, Ames

Posted Sep 3, 2016
Pros: Customer service at the desk. Closeness to several sites and restaurants.
Cons: Start updating the rooms.
Location: Reiman Gardens ISU Hickory Park
The motel is old, outdated, the room smelled so bad that we had to open the windows, the jacuzzi didn't work and it was so cold that we had to turn the heat on to get the room comfortable. The carpet was sticky. It is in bad need of being updated. No eggs or sausage with the breakfast.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from yorkville, il

Breakfast was good

Posted Aug 17, 2016
My only complaint is that the shower drain doesn't drain quickly
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Newer hotel, clean, friendly staff

Posted Jul 12, 2016
Pros: clean, newer furnishings
Cons: nothing
Location: only stayed one night -- passing thru
One night stay, very nice place. The staff was very pleasant. Thought the place was nice and new. Room was very clean.
3 out of 5
by Shari from Oswego

ISU hotel

Posted Jun 30, 2016 on Hotels
This is a mediocre hotel but priced really well. The room was clean, but very outdated. Everything felt dingy and clean. The location was great for our needs. The service was excellent. Very friendly and helpful.
3 out of 5
by Alice

Get rid of furniture in east entrance.

Posted Jun 26, 2016 on Hotels
Confusion at check in. Side door has dumpy furniture giving an unappealing first impression. Room was fine for the price. Wish breakfast ran later for the weekend but it was a nice assortment.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Just the kind of hotel you're looking for

Posted Jun 26, 2016 on Hotels
A no worries stay that was affordable, comfy, clean and friendly.
4 out of 5
by Andy from Minnesota

ISU Orientation

Posted Jun 23, 2016 on Hotels
We were in Ames for my daughter's orientation at ISU. It was convenient to the campus and dining. The bed and room was comfortable and the rate was good. The only negative is that would have liked an A/C unit that had an "Auto" setting so the A/C wasn't running non-stop. Unit was a little loud and a little difficult to maintain a good temp. Overall though, I would stay here again without hesitation.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 19, 2016 on Hotels
Very convenient for our trip.
2 out of 5
by Matthew from Minneapolis

Not great but cheap.

Posted Jun 10, 2016 on Hotels
I needed a place to sleep...no frills. The front desk guy was very personable and directed me to a place to grab a beer so I could watch the game I wanted to see. The room, unfortunately felt old. It smelled musty and damp, even with the A/C going. This made it difficult to breathe and difficult to sleep. In the morning the shower handle came off in my hand as I turned on the shower. All in all, I probably won't stay here on future trips to Ames- even when I just need a place to sleep.
4 out of 5
by Dylan

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 10, 2016 on Hotels