Ratings based on 434 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointed

Posted Apr 1, 2018
Staff was nice but nothing else good to say. I chose a pet friendly room with a higher rate thinking that was why it was more expensive only to find out they still charged us $15 more for our dog. Than first room they put us in was dirty so they changed our room. The guy at desk was very apologetic. Next room was a smoking room that was so bad my pajamas still smelled so bad the next night I couldn’t wear them!. Very disappointed. Had stayed before and didn’t have any issues. Will not stay again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from portage, wi

Posted Mar 5, 2018
Hotel was very clean and up to date. From a free newspaper at the front desk to a hot breakfast. Our room had two queen beds and was very roomy. The staff was friendly and helpful, from the front desk to the staff serving breakfast. Highly recommend this hotel and the cost was very inexpensive.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 27, 2018 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 22, 2018 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lincoln, NE

Loved my stay

Posted Jan 21, 2018
I really was surprised hood the room looked, don't think I've been in an econo lodge That looked as this one did in Ames it felt like home. The only complaint I had is that the plumbing in the bathroom was not on point the drain in the tub was slow and it was dirty when we got there but I'm guessing cause of the slow draining.
5 out of 5
by Frances M

Great Service Here!

Posted Nov 30, 2017 on Hotels
The night clerk was very helpful. He changed my room to one very close to the handicapped parking. In the morning the dayclerk helped me load up my wallet and check out.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Excellent hotel

Posted Nov 20, 2017
Pros: Excellent value, clean room, free breakfast.
Location: Very easy commute to campus. Hotel is right off highway leading to campus.
We were here to visit Iowa Stae for the weekend. The hotel was very clean, room appeared to be newly renovated. Breakfast was also good and plentiful . Excellent value!
4 out of 5
by Patrick

Ok stay

Posted Nov 19, 2017 on Hotels
The hall way smelled so bad I thought I was going to be sick. Room was nice, it served its purpose for an overnight stay. Breakfast could be better.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient location; good price

Posted Nov 18, 2017
Pros: location; free breakfast
Cons: smoking outside only; clean the lounge area that connects the 2 buildings
Location: Close to 35 in Ames; you need to travel around 5 miles to get to downtown Ames or ISU.
For the most part, my stay was quite nice. The hotel consists of 2 connected buildings' there is a lobby in the connection area which apparently doubles as a smoking lounge. The odor of cigarettes is very heavy there. My room was just around corner and I didn't notice the smoke stench, but there's no way to get from here to there without a minute in the mskoe zone.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

convenient

Posted Nov 14, 2017
convenient for visit to college, but rates vary and are quite high for an EconoLodge. Beds weren't made during the day. Nice place,but not great.