Ratings based on 641 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Close to the ISU Football Stadium

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Pros: Location and amenities.
Cons: Hot water.
Location: It's a short drive to the football stadium and Hilton Coliseum. It's right off US 30 so it's easy to get to downtown Ames or I35.
Great scenic location. Executive room was excellent in terms of amenities and cleanliness. Restaurant was super. Just one little thing....The hot water took a long time to reach the shower head.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Great place to stay

Posted Nov 14, 2016
I have stayed here in the past and was very comfortable. When Expedia allowed me to get a great deal, it was a no-brainer. Very comfortable, once again. Will stay again in the future.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Oct 23, 2016
Location: Very close to Iowa State University and downtown Ames.
Great location for visiting Iowa State. Comfortable rooms with nice pool and exercise facilities.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from MI

Excellent location for Iowa State.

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Location: Great for Iowa State.
The rooms are clean and acceptable condition. Breakfast was very good with a lot of variety. Cost is on the high side for Ames area.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Extra Charges

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Cons: The extra charges.
Trying to figure out why an extra charge of $15.70 was charged to my card. If it is for the bottle of water we opened, that is RIDICULOUS. I do not feel that paying $222.00 for a nights stay, and then being charged for the water they bait you with is very customer friendly. I probably won't stay again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wonderful stay

Posted Oct 3, 2016
Close to everything. Comfortable and clean. Let us check in early :)
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel and close to campus!

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Pros: Like the location close to campus and decent parking.
Cons: Add a small refrigerator and replace bathroom mirror - not a must have, but would give a better impression.
This was a great hotel with excellent service! I would have preferred to have a small refrigerator in the room and our bathroom looked like it had suffered earlier issues on the counter and the mirror, but overall - it was a good comfortable room.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Restaurant

Posted Sep 5, 2016 on Orbitz
We enjoyed our stay at the Gateway....the only issue we had was with the restaurant staff on three occasions of using the restaurant. Inattentive staff for the most part, not refilling drinks and taking a long time to get an order in and back out again for some reason. Plenty of workers, but didn't seem to be in any hurry to do anything.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from mussouri

Very nice hotel close to everything

Posted Aug 18, 2016
Great hotel for staying close to university, lots of walking trails around hotel to walk dog if u bring one. The only negative is there is no breakfast and no refrigerator or microwave in our room hard to keep extra food or drink in the room, but overall great place.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 17, 2016 on Hotels