Ratings based on 137 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ames, IA

Nice Whirlpool room for our Anniversary.

Posted Dec 26, 2016
Pros: The Whirlpool was ahhmazing, I was just so impatient I wish it would have filled up faster, the waiting was the worst part.
Cons: Free breakfast! Even if it cant be for every single room, big suites and such should have it included.
Location: Ames is great, we choose it over DM every time. Lots to do, great restaurants and there is a Fun Center type arcade right across the parking lot.
Room & Check-In were great, we loved the whirlpool tub and that it was pretty much the same price as the regular rooms. Walls seemed to be really thin or something because we heard people yelling and laughing and having sex all night long, in a bit of a different order than that but still. For the Hilton you'd think I wouldn't have been kept from sleeping peacefully on that amazing bed. Also wish breakfast would have been cheaper or free, I've stayed at other places better and lower priced that had breakfast included. I can understand kinda, breakfast wasn't horribly priced but for the price I paid for less than 24 hours in the building.... It left something to be desired. Only real complaint was the lady that kept us up all night, we should have called the desk but we were trying to be nice and didn't expect it to last so long.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from US

It's been better

Posted Nov 29, 2016
Pros: Usually good service and clean rooms. There is a small restaurant area just off the lobby that serves a nice breakfast.
Cons: Attention to detail in the rooms and customer service
We checked in Thanksgiving evening around 5:00 pm. It seems, understandably, there were few people on staff and we were assisted at the desk by, possibly, someone from the kitchen. Our room was clean and ready for guests, however the toilet tank was running. My husband was able to fix it and as long as we pulled the handle up after flushing, it was fine. Ironically, the same issue occurred in our daughter's room when she stayed there. Also, the heating unit is loud and only has two choices: on intermittently or continuous fan. Adjusting the thermostat down to sleep kicked in the air conditioner; not what we were looking for. In general the building is well maintained and our previous stays have been better. We will likely stay there again but not over a major holiday.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Will checkout a different hotel next time.

Posted Aug 18, 2016
Poor water pressure. HK didn't clean bathroom floor each day. No free breakfast. Didn't get room requested. Front desk was full of excuses.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Omaha, NE

Keep looking

Posted Aug 17, 2016
Pros: Location.
Cons: Clean up the stairwells and hallways. Fix the smells in the bathrooms. Make photos on booking site accurate.
Location: Close to highway, gas station, campus, and restaurants.
Do not trust the photos online of the room layout. We booked thinking we were getting a particular room based on the photos and when we got to the hotel they told us differently. Would not work with us on making the situation right. The bathroom smelled like sewer gas. Hallways were rough and looked really beat up for the age of the hotel (almost like they had not been painted in the stairwells).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent customer service

Posted Aug 16, 2016
When I discovered my suite did not have a bedroom door which would have been awkward with my group the manager had told me they didn't have any suites with doors in my category. A few minutes later he called our room and gave us an upgrade to a bigger room with s door. They even brought us the keys and offered to move luggage. Great stay definitely recommend
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Small Amish Town

TREMENDOUS

Posted Apr 26, 2016
Pros: GREAT STAFF, every single one of them was smiling and pleasant, and seemed genuinely happy to be there.
Cons: I think a nice touch would be two things: 1. A fresh chocolate chip cookie. 2. A container of clorox wipes. ( I am a germ-a-phobe)
Location: I am a HUGE BILL BURR FAN. BILL BURR came to the Stephens Auditorium. Great venue, loved the place. Had great garlic bread at the Pizza Pit.
We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The check in was the fastest that I had ever been, with smiles and asked if we needed anything. Checking-out was even FASTER! I love a no hassle exit. I loved the quiet room, I loved that I could have the TV on nice and loud and hear it while bathing in with jacuzzi tub, and must not have bothered my neighbors. The tall ceilings created a lovely atmosphere. I really hope that another comedian that I love will come to Ames to have another chance to stay at this hotel. I recommend this hotel to anyone needing a night in Ames. Good times.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Iowa

Noisy neighbors

Posted Apr 19, 2016
Pros: Pleasing walking in, water for guests along with some type of cookies.
Cons: Sound proofing the walls?? It was so loud and noisy I got absolutely NO sleep. When I pay this much for a hotel, I expect to get some sleep.
I was woken up in the middle of the night by loud noises. The room directly above us ran, stomped sounded like they threw their suitcases on the floor ALL night long. When it was mentioned to the front desk, they acted like they did not really care. We are gold members for Hilton, this is not the normal way that the Hilton treats their guests. I would not recommend, and I will NOT stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 25, 2016 by HGI Ames, Hotel Management
Jean, I wanted to thank you for your review on your recent stay with us. I appreciate your feedback and am sorry about the noise you experienced during your stay. I hope you choose to stay with us again and we can provide you with a quieter room. Kind regards, Elizabeth Niewoehner Front Office Supervisor
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 19, 2016
We had a great stay here. Clean and great staff. I was a good experience and I would stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 25, 2016 by HGI Ames, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review! I'm you had a great stay with us! We hope you stay with us again soon! Kind regards, Elizabeth Niewoehner Front Office Supervisor
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 12, 2016
Easy to find and great room! Pool area was great for the kids. Very clean and friendly staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 25, 2016 by HGI Ames, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review! I'm happy you enjoyed the pool and our staff. We hope you stay with us again soon! Thank you, Elizabeth Niewoehner Front Office Supervisor
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Callender, Iowa

beautiful hotel

Posted Dec 29, 2015
Pros: Great price for a large room with a jacuzzi tub.
Cons: more pillows in the room (closet) for people who like a lot of pillows. for most people 4 pillows would be plenty
Location: We stayed at Ames hotel and we went skiing in Boone before staying and also went out to eat at Texas Roadhouse in Ames!
This was an amazing looking hotel with a great room at a very reasonable price with a jacuzzi tub in the room. The only complaint i had is we found a few hairs in the jacuzzi tub which was disgusting, but even when you clean its hard to get all them pesky hairs up. Sheets were very clean only suggestion is to have back up pillows in the room for people like me that like many pillows! The bed can be adjusted to your comfort which is great!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 25, 2016 by HGI Ames, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review! I appreciate your feedback regarding your stay and will share this information with our managers. I'm glad you enjoyed your room and the bed! We hope to have you as a guest again soon! Kind regards, Elizabeth Niewoehner Front Office Supervisor