Ratings based on 411 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Iowa

Not Given What We Paid For

Posted Nov 1, 2017
Cons: Customer Service!
We reserved a king suite which was prepaid and guaranteed through Expedia, However, upon checking in we were told that they did not have a king suite available and gave us a queen room instead. When asked about being refunded the difference in price we were told that they could not do anything because it was paid through Expedia. I asked to talk to a manager who of course was not available. So, I left my name ,number and email for the manager to call me. That was 3 days ago and still have not received any contact from the hotel! Very POOR customer service! We will not stay here again and we visit the area frequently, nor will we recommend it to others!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fargo, nd

Nice hotel close to college

Posted Oct 31, 2017
Great stay. Bathroom needs updating and repair. Nnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnn
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 2, 2017 by HGI Front Desk, Hotel Management
Hi Kathy, thank you for your time to respond and give us feedback! We are sorry for any inconvenience the out dated bathrooms may have given you; however, we look forward to the hotel renovations being done in the next year, and hope you will enjoy them as well during your future stays!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ames, IA.

Dirty

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Room was complete disappointment. Walked in and carpets were dirty, shower tub was backed up, mold on tile grout, pubic hair on toilet, bath fan broken, room key had to be re activated twice. I will never stay again. Constant issues on 2 night stay.
5 out of 5
by Dowell

Posted Aug 20, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2017
Thank you so much for your review! We hope to see you again soon! -Hilton Garden Inn Staff
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 17, 2017
We were given a handicapped accessible room which was fine, but the bathroom shower wasn't ideal.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 19, 2017 by Abi , Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your comments and score! We do apologize for our lack of other room types this week, our property was sold out due to the college move in rush. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again in the near future! -Hilton Garden Inn Staff
5 out of 5
by Brian

Posted Aug 15, 2017 on Hotels
Had everything we needed, plus was close to Iowa State campus
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 19, 2017
Thank you so much for taking the time to fill out the survey and thank you so much for your wonderful scores! We hope to see you again in the near future! -Hilton Garden Inn Staff
5 out of 5
by John

Room 336

Posted Aug 14, 2017 on Hotels
Nice place. Bathroom didn’t have a working ventilation fan, so if you’re the second one to use it, make sure you have a high constitution.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 19, 2017
Thank you for filling out our survey! We love seeing reviews like this and yes the hotel was designed without ventilation fans in the bathrooms however we are looking into finding a new solution to the problem during our renovation. Thank you again for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon! -Hilton Garden Inn Staff
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 31, 2017 on Hotels
Everything was very good, however, the water pressure was terrible, hardly any pressure at shower or any sinks
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 14, 2017
Thank you so much for your feed back! We have notified maintenance about the water pressure in your room so that we can improve it for future stays!
4 out of 5
by Jeffrey

Nice rooms, convenient to ISU campus

Posted Jul 23, 2017 on Hotels
Overall, no complaints, the only thing I would note on the condition was the exterior, specifically the lawn/landscaping, as it was a weed-ridden mess. Yes, I realize that this has nothing to do with my stay and has more to do with my personal issue with shoddy lawn/landscaping maintenance.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 14, 2017
I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to respond to your stay survey. We appreciate the rating we received from you about our property and your stay. We would also like to apologize for the condition of the lot in front of our hotel, we do not own the property in front of us but our maintenance team does their best to maintain the landscape around our hotel. We hope to see you again soon! -Hilton Garden Inn Staff
1 out of 5
by Stephen

Uncomfortable

Posted Jun 30, 2017 on Hotels
Receptionist was distracted and aloof while I was checking in. The bed was horriblely uncomfortable. I chose the Hilton family of hotels because I thought it'd be a safe bet. I'll stay someplace else next time.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 29, 2017
Dear Stephen, I would like to thank you for your review and feedback in regards to your recent stay. I do apologize that your stay was not up to your expectations. I also sincerely apologize on the bed being uncomfortable. Our hotel will be going under a renovation and we are starting with new beds. Rest assured, that I will address your concerns with my staff. We hope to be of service to you again, to show you that our guest concerns are our concerns. Should your travel plans bring you back to Ames, we would love to assist you with reservations. Best Regards, Sheila J. Front Desk Supervisor