Ratings based on 381 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

It's been better

Posted Nov 29, 2016
Pros: Usually good service and clean rooms. There is a small restaurant area just off the lobby that serves a nice breakfast.
Cons: Attention to detail in the rooms and customer service
We checked in Thanksgiving evening around 5:00 pm. It seems, understandably, there were few people on staff and we were assisted at the desk by, possibly, someone from the kitchen. Our room was clean and ready for guests, however the toilet tank was running. My husband was able to fix it and as long as we pulled the handle up after flushing, it was fine. Ironically, the same issue occurred in our daughter's room when she stayed there. Also, the heating unit is loud and only has two choices: on intermittently or continuous fan. Adjusting the thermostat down to sleep kicked in the air conditioner; not what we were looking for. In general the building is well maintained and our previous stays have been better. We will likely stay there again but not over a major holiday.
4 out of 5
by Merrill

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 29, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 29, 2016 on Orbitz
I have stayed in this hotel many times when visiting Ames but this time was not a pleasant experience. The room was not up to expectations for the price. The shower head had VERY little pressure and it was difficult to shower and the toilet would not flush properly. I was very disappointed.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Will checkout a different hotel next time.

Posted Aug 18, 2016
Poor water pressure. HK didn't clean bathroom floor each day. No free breakfast. Didn't get room requested. Front desk was full of excuses.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Omaha, NE

Keep looking

Posted Aug 17, 2016
Pros: Location.
Cons: Clean up the stairwells and hallways. Fix the smells in the bathrooms. Make photos on booking site accurate.
Location: Close to highway, gas station, campus, and restaurants.
Do not trust the photos online of the room layout. We booked thinking we were getting a particular room based on the photos and when we got to the hotel they told us differently. Would not work with us on making the situation right. The bathroom smelled like sewer gas. Hallways were rough and looked really beat up for the age of the hotel (almost like they had not been painted in the stairwells).
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent customer service

Posted Aug 16, 2016
When I discovered my suite did not have a bedroom door which would have been awkward with my group the manager had told me they didn't have any suites with doors in my category. A few minutes later he called our room and gave us an upgrade to a bigger room with s door. They even brought us the keys and offered to move luggage. Great stay definitely recommend
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 10, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 3, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Steven from Evanston IL

Best Hotel in Ames

Posted Aug 1, 2016 on Hotels
Best hotel in ames
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 1, 2016 on Hotels
Great room service, perfect place to stay while the university assigned me housing.