Ratings based on 391 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to Iowa State facilities poor food service

Posted Jan 19, 2017
Cons: Buffet and wait service. If you sit in the meal area someone should approach the person and at least explain the breakfast buffet.
The greeting from desk staff and room accommodations were great. Room was quiet and bed comfortable. Check in/out was easy and efficient. I ordered room service for a late meal but had to pick sandwich up from front area as they don't deliver past 9 pm. I went down for breakfast at 9:15 in the continental breakfast deal. I saw 2 people who never approached me or another man waiting to put in our breakfast order. We went to them to put in our order. 30 minutes later we still didn't have our order. It wasn't a big order from either of us (omelet pancake and a waffle). Needless to say I didn't get my full order before leaving. I only got the waffle but was charged the ENTIRE amount. I am really disappointed that the server didn't discount my meal knowing that I wanted more from the kitchen but on received a portion.
4 out of 5
by charles

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 7, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Brianne

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 6, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by William

Posted Jan 1, 2017 on Hotels
Would have liked breakfast included
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ames, IA

Nice Whirlpool room for our Anniversary.

Posted Dec 26, 2016
Pros: The Whirlpool was ahhmazing, I was just so impatient I wish it would have filled up faster, the waiting was the worst part.
Cons: Free breakfast! Even if it cant be for every single room, big suites and such should have it included.
Location: Ames is great, we choose it over DM every time. Lots to do, great restaurants and there is a Fun Center type arcade right across the parking lot.
Room & Check-In were great, we loved the whirlpool tub and that it was pretty much the same price as the regular rooms. Walls seemed to be really thin or something because we heard people yelling and laughing and having sex all night long, in a bit of a different order than that but still. For the Hilton you'd think I wouldn't have been kept from sleeping peacefully on that amazing bed. Also wish breakfast would have been cheaper or free, I've stayed at other places better and lower priced that had breakfast included. I can understand kinda, breakfast wasn't horribly priced but for the price I paid for less than 24 hours in the building.... It left something to be desired. Only real complaint was the lady that kept us up all night, we should have called the desk but we were trying to be nice and didn't expect it to last so long.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from US

It's been better

Posted Nov 29, 2016
Pros: Usually good service and clean rooms. There is a small restaurant area just off the lobby that serves a nice breakfast.
Cons: Attention to detail in the rooms and customer service
We checked in Thanksgiving evening around 5:00 pm. It seems, understandably, there were few people on staff and we were assisted at the desk by, possibly, someone from the kitchen. Our room was clean and ready for guests, however the toilet tank was running. My husband was able to fix it and as long as we pulled the handle up after flushing, it was fine. Ironically, the same issue occurred in our daughter's room when she stayed there. Also, the heating unit is loud and only has two choices: on intermittently or continuous fan. Adjusting the thermostat down to sleep kicked in the air conditioner; not what we were looking for. In general the building is well maintained and our previous stays have been better. We will likely stay there again but not over a major holiday.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel and area

Posted Oct 24, 2016 on Hotels
Pillows were awful. Wish I had brought my own. Other than that. Excellent
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 16, 2016 on Hotels
I had a suite. It was big and well kept. When u checked in the front desk guy wasn't too friendly but when I checked out the front desk person was.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Over priced

Posted Sep 27, 2016 on Hotels
When we entered the room we started checking this out. Right away in the bathroom I noticed that the Shower rack was rusty and dirty looking. After using the bathroom we discovered the bathroom door stuck and would slam loudly every time it was opened. The carpet was damp and poorly patched together by the jetted tub. When we used the tub it was very low powered and and not very impressive, the jetted tub was the main reason I got the room. And the City view advertised was of there parking lot because the room was on the first floor. Over all the hotel was way over priced for the quality
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 25, 2016 on Hotels