Ratings based on 267 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Iowa

Great customer service

Posted Aug 28, 2015
The Ames Hilton staff was one of the best I've seen at any hotel in its class, maybe even a step up. They greet you when you walk in, remember prior conversations from previous days, and seem to genuinely care. You can generally tell when an employee is being nice because they have to...that's not the case here. Great job!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Baptism

Posted Aug 25, 2015
We were in town for a Baptism at a church near the Iowa State campus. Very easy to get to - 10 minutes. Hotel is updated. Rooms were very nice. The lobby is beautiful and has several places to sit and visit. No free breakfast, but there was a single Keurig coffee machine in our room and Dunkin' Donuts close by. A big step above the cookie cutter hotels!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

over night after state fair

Posted Aug 24, 2015
Pros: most everything
Cons: A/C fan more than just high
Location: west Ames not as congested
everything very good only fan for A/C in room only has high and thermostat not shut off fan sometimes everything else as a 5 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel

Posted Aug 23, 2015
Pros: It's clean and modern. It's convenient to the university, but far enough that it's right in the middle of the craziness. Nice staff.
Cons: The rooms need more light. The bathrooms need fans. When you have several people showering the amount of steam that builds up is ridiculous.
Location: I have only done overnight stays.
This is the second time we have stayed here and both times have been great. The rooms are clean, modern and comfortable. The hotel itself is well maintained and nicely decorated. The staff has been friendly and efficient. Our son just started at the University so I foresee a lot of future stays there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from LM, Iowa

Our to hotel in Ames, is showing a little wear.

Posted Aug 18, 2015
Cons: Vacuuming the room especially under the beds by the posts.
Location: Iowa State activities.
This is our "go to" hotel in Ames over the past 3 years. Unfortunately it has started to show a bit of wear and tear. The shower head in the room we were in did not adjust and was loose from the wall. The a/c unit fan was very loud and would come on and off all night, and when you are a light sleeper, got annoying waking up every 30-40 minutes. There was some blood (or something red that looked like spots of blood) on the inside of the comforter, so I switched that to the side that nobody was on. This will still be our "go to" hotel when we are in Ames. But need to step it back up to keep it clean and updated.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient location to Iowa State Univ.

Posted Aug 16, 2015
Courteous and helpful staff!! The bartender was very enjoyable, he recommended a few new restaurants to try around town. Our maid was very helpful during a health issue we had! Thank you
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 21, 2015
Great staff. Terrible beds. They HAVE to be replaced. Totally worn out mattress
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 30, 2015 by HGI Ames, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your experience. I apologize you had a poor experience with our beds. I'm not sure if our staff made you aware but our beds are all adjustable. I'm glad you enjoyed our staff. We hope you give us another change in the future. Thank you, Brittany Johnson Assistant General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Illinois

Not what you would expect from Hilton.

Posted Jun 30, 2015
Pros: It is a beautiful building that is in desperate need of repairs. Carpet was nasty, scratched and dings in the halls throughout the building.
Cons: most everything could be improved.
Location: not much on a weekend.
The carpet in our room was badly stained. My daughter keep teasing me that someone was probably killed there. The restaurant and bar were very disappointing. Only had a handful of items on the menu, and the bar was simply 4 stools next to the check in counter. I was looking for a weekend of not having to leave the hotel, but I was mistaken.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 30, 2015 by HGI Ames, Hotel Management
I apologize you were not satisfied with your stay. This is certainly not our standard and I hope you give us another chance in the future. Thank you, Brittany Johnson Assistant General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from mn

Nice place to stay.

Posted Jun 30, 2015
Very nice- clean - quiet and relaxing . Would recommend to everyone to stay here.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 30, 2015 by HGI Ames, Hotel Management
Hi Jen! Thank you for the great review and for the recommendation! We hope to see you again soon! Thank you, Brittany Johnson Assistant General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean, quiet hotel.

Posted Jun 9, 2015
Business stay. Hotel was quiet, clean and friendly staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 30, 2015 by HGI Ames, Hotel Management
Thank you for the great review! We're happy you enjoyed our hotel while on business travel. We hope to see you again soon! Thank you, Brittany Johnson Assistant General Manager