Ratings based on 187 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hiawatha, Kansas

Free breakfast option needed

Posted Apr 20, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: complimentary continental breakfast
Location: ISU
My expectations were to have a complimentary continental breakfast in this hotel class. So when the only choice was a hotel café whose prices were relatively costly, it was easy to go to Panera Bread 2miles away and pay the same amount for a higher quality of food. I will look elsewhere for lodging with my next trip to Ames.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 22, 2017 by Carol S, Hotel Management
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay. One of the amenities of a Holiday Inn is a restaurant, and our restaurant serves breakfast and dinner and offers a bar service in the evening. I am truly sorry that was disappointing for you as our breakfast offerings are very delicious. I do invite you back when in Ames. Carol S General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Nice and quiet except for the snow plow

Posted Mar 20, 2017
I had a pleasant stay at the Holiday Inn. It is very quiet in Ames during spring break so the hotel was also almost empty. It's a bit far out from the city, but the hotel staff is very friendly and the hotel is in very good condition. One thing I found really annoying was that a very loud snow plow cleared the parking lot of snow in the middle of the night. It was incredibly loud. Not sure if the was really necessary.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 26, 2017 by Carol S, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for the "Five Star" rating. It is wonderful to hear that you had a pleasant stay and noted the friendly hotel staff. I am sorry about the snow plow noise. Our snow removal contractor tries to clear the lot early so that those early morning travelers can exit the lot with ease. Trusting your next visit will not be during a snow fall or ice day. Thank you for being our guest and we look forward to a return visit. Carol S General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Iowa

Quiet hotel close to University

Posted Feb 28, 2017
Nice quiet hotel. Exercise room and pool area available. Rooms are comfortable and average.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 2, 2017 by Carol S, Hotel Management
Thank you so very much for the "Four Star" rating. We are always happy to hear that your room was comfortable and your stay was quiet. Please visit us again when in Ames. Carol S General Manger
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Iowa

Front Desk Very Helpful

Posted Jan 15, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: The Staff
Cons: Better signage and lighting at the entrance very dark and confusing the first time into the lot.
Location: central to most activities.
The night desk lady was very friendly and helpful and filled our request for assistance with a smile! The check in staff and check out staff were very efficient and helpful even when we could not find my reservation under my name. I had made it under my wife's name and forgot that I did it that way. They were quick and friendly in fixing my error.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 21, 2017 by Carol S, Hotel Management
Thank you for the wonderful "Five Star" rating. We are so pleased to hear that the staff was very helpful and friendly. We invite you back for a visit when in Ames. Carol S General Manager
4 out of 5
by Allison

Posted Jan 12, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 14, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so very much for being our guest and for the lovely "Four Star" rating. Please visit us again when in Ames. Carol S General Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 6, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 12, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so very much for the lovely "Four Star rating. Please visit us again when your travels bring you to Ames. Carol S General Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 27, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 12, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so very much for the "Four Star" rating. Please visit us again when in Ames. Carol S General Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient, clean, comfortable hotel near ISU.

Posted Dec 12, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel was clean, comfortable and very conveniently located to Iowa State University. The staff was friendly upon checkin. The room was clean and the bed was very comfortable. I liked the on-site restaurant. It had good service and the food was pretty good, although it did feel slightly pricey, but I guess that's somewhat expected at a hotel restaurant. One of the only downsides is that there doesn't seem to be much in the area around the hotel. You'll definitely need a car to conveniently get around, but since I was visiting ISU and only staying one night, the location was not too much of a problem. Overall, it was a well-kept property, and would definitely stay here again if I were conducting business at ISU.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 12, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so very much for your lovely comments regarding the Holiday Inn Ames Conference Center. We so appreciate the positive rating. Please do visit us again when in Ames. Carol S General Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Comfortable stay

Posted Dec 4, 2016 on Hotels
Bed was very comfortable!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 9, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so very much for the wonderful "Five Star" rating and noting a "comfortable stay". Thank you for being our guest and please return if your travels find you in Ames. Carol S General Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Neligh, United States of America

Skip the breakfast

Posted Nov 22, 2016
While the room was clean and I have no complaints about the overall quality of the hotel, if you are going to be in the room less than 12 hours (we checked in after 9 and checked out 12 hours later), I would look elsewhere. I would definitely skip the breakfast. The price was over inflated for the value.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 25, 2016 by Carol S, Hotel Management
Thank you for noting the cleanliness of our property. I am so sorry that breakfast was a disappointment. I would invite your return when in Ames. Carol S General Manager