Ratings based on 149 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Michelle

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 28, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Heather

Posted Oct 13, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel seems to have had an update in the lobby but I can't say the same for the room. It was clean but could use some updating. You could also hear everything in the hallway. Staff was just ok, didn't go out of their way for anyone.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 16, 2015 by Shannon, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are sorry that you found your stay sub-par. We try to ensure that each guest has a memorable stay with us. We sure hope you will give us another chance next time you are in the area. I know we are capable of much more.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Pool problems.

Posted Oct 13, 2015
Pros: The beds were very comfortable and we slept well, but can't get past the pool incident.
Cons: Take things like pool cleanliness seriously.
Kids and I swam in pool for one hour in the evening, only ones there. My son,10, came over and said there is poo in the pool. I figured it was someone's joke like in Caddyshack. He said he scooped it up in his hands to get it out of the pool (thought it was a bug) and put it on edge of pool. Unfortunately, we both smelled it and determined it was in fact feces. Then my daughter, 12, pointed out that she had observed more in the pool. Quickly got kids out of the pool and up to room to shower. Called front desk and spoke to David and told him what happened. He apologized and said the manager took care of the pool and was gone for the weekend (this was a Sunday nite). He said he would give us some money off room, then called back and said he couldn't because we had paid thru Expedia; instead would give us free breakfast coupon. He brought up coupon and also extra shampoo and towels that we needed. Went to bed and left in a.m. Had to go back a half hour later as my daughter forgot an expensive thermos there. They gave it to me, and while there, I used the main floor restroom.Leaving, I peeked in the pool window to see what they had done to close off pool (I knew they would have to close it to clean it). I wasn't going to even write about it, but when I saw that there was no sign, I felt I had to. Very disappointed that they put other guests at risk with fecal matter in pool. We will not stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 16, 2015 by sld, Hotel Management
Thank you for your concerns on the pool.Our Certified Pool Operator was informed that night and followed state code guidelines in removal /cleaning of the solid matter.We ran the proper tests before re-opening the next day.We would love to welcome you back should you decide to give us another chance
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by karen

Posted Sep 30, 2015 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 16, 2015 by Shannon, Hotel Management
Thanks for the 5 stars!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very comfortable beds

Posted Sep 13, 2015
Pros: Friendly and comfortable
Location: Location was good for us as we were visiting people close but if you want shopping and restaurants close by not the case.
Loved the refrigerater and microwave option. Enjoyed an evening drink at the bar. All staff were friendly. Only stayed one night but will return as we have family in Ames.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 16, 2015 by sderaad, Hotel Management
Thank you for the 5 star review. It's our goal that each and every guest has a positive and memorable stay with us. We are thrilled that we could deliver that to you and can't wait to see you again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Everything I needed

Posted Sep 11, 2015
Booked a room here in the run-up to professional post-grad medical exams being held at Iowa State. Also acclimatising to a time change from the UK. Always a bit of a nerve-racking time as peace and quiet, a good work-space and night's sleep all really important. This place ticked all the boxes. Wonderfully quiet, super helpful polite staff, room comfortable and clean with a roomy well-lit desk and quality chair. Service station just across the road sells lunchtime provisions including a fair bit of fresh stuff. Great to have a fridge and microwave in the room. Breakfasts highly recommended. Dinner OK. Ideally hire a car to get to the university or shopping areas - both about 30-45 minutes walk otherwise.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 16, 2015 by sderaad, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, and I will make sure I pass along your kind words to the entire team. We sincerely hope to see you again, if your travels bring you back to the Ames area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by William G.

2015 Fall Semester Orientation

Posted Aug 26, 2015 on Orbitz
We dropped our daughter off at Iowa State. She accepted ISU sight unseen so we stayed a couple of nights for moving in, orientation, and to just soak in the wonderful campus and town of Ames. I think we were the very last parents to leave. This Holiday Inn is in a great location to the highway and campus. It is modern and the staff was very friendly. Our only complaint is that the pillows, for our personal comfort level, are way too fat but mushy so you couldn't breathe while lying on your side.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 24, 2015
Pros: We could fit all 6 of us in the room which was such a short night, all we needed was simple accommmodations.
Cons: It would be nice to include breakfast for the same price.
It was a short stay, late arrival, early departure, so we were glad to be close to campus and a room that could accommodate all 6 of us.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 16, 2015 by sderaad, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for the 4 stars. We are glad that you were able to enjoy your stay, even if it was rushed. Hope to see you again, should you return to Ames.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Westmont, IL

Nice stay

Posted Aug 20, 2015
Pros: Chocolates left for us on the table and the closeness of the hotel to ISU.
We really enjoyed the pool and hot tub along with the weight room. Plus it closeness to ISU made it a great place to stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 16, 2015 by sderaad, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for the 5 star review. We are glad that you enjoyed the pool area and our proximity to the university. We sure hope to see you again, should you return to Ames.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dodgeville, WI

Very clean and modern hotel!!

Posted Aug 20, 2015
Pros: Very clean and the room was spacious.
Cons: Wished they had a free breakfast buffet instead of a $20 breakfast coupon. Breakfast hours should go to 10 a.m. instead of 9:30 a.m.
Location: Close to ISU
Excellent stay. Very clean room. Staff was friendly. Wished they had a breakfast buffet instead of a $20 breakfast voucher.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 16, 2015 by Sderaad, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for the 5 star review. Excellent stay, friendly staff, and clean rooms are phrases we like to hear. Since we are a full service hotel, we do have the restaurant instead of a continental breakfast like you might find at a limited service hotel (e.g. Holiday Inn Express). We sure hope that won't keep you from visiting us again in the future.