Ratings based on 120 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 24, 2015
Pros: We could fit all 6 of us in the room which was such a short night, all we needed was simple accommmodations.
Cons: It would be nice to include breakfast for the same price.
It was a short stay, late arrival, early departure, so we were glad to be close to campus and a room that could accommodate all 6 of us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Westmont, IL

Nice stay

Posted Aug 20, 2015
Pros: Chocolates left for us on the table and the closeness of the hotel to ISU.
We really enjoyed the pool and hot tub along with the weight room. Plus it closeness to ISU made it a great place to stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dodgeville, WI

Very clean and modern hotel!!

Posted Aug 20, 2015
Pros: Very clean and the room was spacious.
Cons: Wished they had a free breakfast buffet instead of a $20 breakfast coupon. Breakfast hours should go to 10 a.m. instead of 9:30 a.m.
Location: Close to ISU
Excellent stay. Very clean room. Staff was friendly. Wished they had a breakfast buffet instead of a $20 breakfast voucher.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Albuquerque, NM

Decent hotel for business stay

Posted Aug 16, 2015
Pros: Location, on-site restaurant and lounge.
Cons: Rooms need a little TLC, kind of musty.
Location: Iowa State University, several good restaurants in town within 10-15 minutes easy driving/parking.
Stayed for a two-day training. Staff in restaurant was friendly, service was good and meals were prepared well and a good price. Hotel needs a little TLC but okay for a business stay. Fitness center a little disappointing.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2015 by sld, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking time out of your day to write a review on the Holiday Inn Ames. We do appreciate your feedback and use it as a way to continually improve how we deliver exceptional service and quality. I have shared your review with our restaurant staff. I know that the whole team shares the same vision of excellent quality at an affordable price. We sure hope to see you again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Naperville, IL

Perfect for Iowa State

Posted Aug 8, 2015
Pros: Beds are very comfy. Breakfast was great.
Cons: Squeaky tub floor
Location: Iowa State!!
Moving my daughter in her first apartment. Very convenient to Iowa State. Quiet and friendly!
Comment from EPC
Aug 25, 2015 by sld, EPC
Thank you so much for the 5 star review of our hotel. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again, next time you are in Ames.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel but....

Posted Jun 6, 2015
This was a nice hotel. Front desk staff were great. We had a bad experience with housekeeping coming into our room without knocking and my daughter was going into the shower naked. I was also very dissappointed they did not include breakfast.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 9, 2015 by sderaad, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We do apologize for the housekeeping issue. Please know that it is not the standard we want to make a lasting impression on. We have addressed the issue immediately. As a benefit to our customers, the hotel offers a full cooked to order breakfast whereas most hotels with a Continental breakfast only serve a few selected pre-made items. Holiday Inn finds that most of our guests enjoy the well equipped restaurant services. We hope that the next time you choose to stay with us, your experience is wonderful!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 31, 2015
I wish there had been a free breakfast. Otherwise every thing was good..
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 9, 2015 by sderaad, Hotel Management
Thank you for the 4 star review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We want to apologize to you on the miscommunication regarding free breakfast. Within our brand, the Holiday Inn does not offer free breakfast. Instead, we offer a cooked to order breakfast and dinner as well as a bar service. This is what differentiates us from other hotels like a Holiday Inn Express for example. We hope you will give us another shot in the future, should you return to the Ames area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Sue from Texas

Great stay!

Posted May 20, 2015 on Hotels
Easy access to the University. Good clean hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 26, 2015 by Shannon, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for the 5 star review. We are glad that you had a "Great Stay" and hope to see you again in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from New York

Nice place overall

Posted May 5, 2015
Pros: Staff, Location.
Cons: Can use some upgrading and sprucing up
Location: Whatever little there is to do in Ames Iowa, it is certainly easy to get in & out, seconds to the highway and to the main drag
Friendly Staff, "centrally" located right off the main highway, Quiet. The rooms are OK but can use some upgrading and sprucing us, same for the fitness room
Comment from Hotel Management
May 26, 2015 by sderaad, Hotel Management
Our Holiday Inn takes each comment as a way to continually improve how we deliver exceptional service and quality. We appreciate the 4 star rating and hope to see you, should your travels bring you back to the Ames area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Iowa State visit

Posted May 1, 2015
Good sized room. 2 queen beds. Close to Iowa State.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 5, 2015 by sderaad, Hotel Management
Thank you for the 4 star review. We are glad that you enjoyed your room and hope to see you again in the future.