Ratings based on 110 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Stephen from Iowa

Great place to stay, unless you like breakfast

Posted Nov 10, 2015 on Hotels
Convenient location off of I-35. Room was large and modern. Bathroom was spacious too. Water pressure in shower was GREAT! Breakfast area was large with lots of options, but none of it tasted very good. It seems that the breakfast was designed to be foolproof for the staff to prepare, not for the guests to enjoy.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 16, 2016 by Carol S, Hotel Management
Thank you so very much for your kind comments and "Four Star" rating. We love hearing you enjoyed are large newly renovated rooms. I'm sorry the breakfast offerings were not to your liking. We have a good variety of hot and cold items and our breakfast attendant does an excellent job of keeping all hot items freshly prepared. Please do visit us again when in Ames. Carol S General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Tyler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 8, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 28, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Clean and Quiet

Posted Oct 22, 2015
Pros: This hotel was priced reasonably, and was clean and quiet.
Location: This was within walking distance of a nearby sandwhich shop and pizza place. You will need to travel if you are looking for something more.
I found my stay to be pleasurable, the rooms were clean and the facilities were well maintained. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The continental breakfast was very nice as well.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 23, 2015 by Carol S, Hotel Management
Thank you for selecting the Holiday Inn Express for your lodging while in Ames. We love hearing you had a pleasurable stay which included well maintained and clean rooms, friendly and helpful staff and a delcious hot breakast to start your day. Please visit us again when in Ames. Carol S General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Carrie B.

College Tour

Posted Oct 21, 2015 on Orbitz
Overall it was a good stay. The staff was very friendly and helpful, the hotel itself was very modern and clean and breakfast was great. The only downside was that we had to ask for a change of sheets because there was a large stain on them when we opened up the bed - yuck. Staff brought up a fresh set right away and we got them taken care of. We would stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 11, 2015
Pros: .
Cons: .
Location: .
The hotel was fine -- i was only there to sleep and shower but it was good
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 23, 2015 by Carol S, Hotel Management
Thank you for stopping by to "sleep and shower". We appreciate hearing that "it was good". Please visit us again when in Ames. Carol S General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel was very clean, staff was friendly.

Posted Sep 8, 2015
Pros: Clean, free breakfast
Cons: Pool should be open; elevator is a little on the slow side.
Location: Not sure as we were just stopping by on a longer trip. I believe though that the hotel is pretty close to the university.
Hotel was very clean, staff was friendly and accommodating, and the breakfast was better than expected. I liked the hotel as much as supposedly "nicer" hotels I have stayed at. The only downside is that the pool was closed and a sign said it would remain closed for a few more weeks.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 14, 2015 by Carol S, Hotel Management
Thank you for the wonderful "Five Star" rating. We love hearing our staff was friendly and clean accommodations. I am sorry that our pool was undergoing it's renovation while you were here. It is now completed and up and running. Please stay with us again when in Ames. Carol S General Manger
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

not bad

Posted Aug 25, 2015
Location: good
it was good , clean rooms but there is no services
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 14, 2015 by Carol S, Hotel Management
Thank you for noting our clean rooms. For services, the Holiday Inn Express brand furnishes a delicious complimentary breakfast each morning with our signature warm cinnamon rolls. We offer a pool, washer/dryer area and a business center. Our front desk staff is always available for directions to a local restaurant for lunch or dinner. Please visit us again when in Ames. Carol S General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Iowa

Nice location in Ames.

Posted Aug 10, 2015
Pros: Location was very good. Close to I-35 & Highway 30 but far enough away that the neighborhood is quiet. Hot breakfast is pretty good w/ many options.
Location: Easy access to I-35 and Highway 30.
We were able to add a rollaway to our room at check-in so we would have enough beds for everybody. The hotel is close to the major restaurants in Ames as well as the movie theater and golf courses.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 18, 2015 by Carol S, Hotel Management
Thank you for the wonderful "Five Star" rating. We are always pleased when you have enjoyed your stay with us. Please visit us again when in Ames. Carol S General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Missouri

Excellent hotel - room recently remodeled.

Posted Aug 4, 2015
We were allowed to check in early since room was already cleaned. Room recently renovated so very fresh and eye catching decor. Slept like a log in the bed. Pool will be under remodel first part of August, 2015. Excellent pool size for doing laps indoors, evening snack of warm cinnamon roll - yum - and I'm a pretty picky person! Staff was very friendly both coming and going. Excellent location right off main road easy to get on and off / in and out - not a noisy, traffic congested location.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 18, 2015 by Carol S, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your kind comments. We are so pleased that you enjoyed the newly renovated rooms, comfy beds, friendly staff and of course, our signature cinnamon rolls. Thank you for rewarding the staff with a "Five Star" rating. Please visit us again. Carol S General Manager