Ratings based on 164 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ames IA

Nice hotel, close to activities

Posted Apr 6, 2018
Unfortunately, if not for the impersonal attitude of the front desk host, I would have rated this hotel higher. He never got out of his chair, never looked at me, very blah & unwelcoming. Also, walls are very thin, so thankfully I brought earplugs. HOWEVER, the room was clean & comfortable, dining staff was friendly & engaging (she helped me find a coffee shop for my unique tea, even presented a map), and cleaning staff was friendly n helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 10, 2018 by John, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback! I'm thrilled our breakfast host was able to help you find a local coffee shop to find your favorite kind of tea! I am sorry to hear about your welcoming experience at the hotel and assure you this is not the usual experience. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 1, 2018
We had just driven 20 hrs and needed a place to stay for the night. This was a great choice! It was very clean and the staff was very nice. The only thing missing that would have been great after a long drive was a hot tub. We did enjoy the pool though. Great experience.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 10, 2018 by John, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your feedback! We look forward to your return again soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable welcoming stay away from home.

Posted Feb 8, 2018
Pros: Cleanliness and environment
Location: Close to University of Iowa
Excellent, close driving distance to U of Iowa. Staff were very friendly, rooms were comfortable, the entire hotel from doormat to mattress gave off a welcome vibe.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 22, 2018 by John, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback! We look forward to seeing you again soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Apple Valley, Mn

Posted Jan 30, 2018
Nice, clean and comfortable...........................................
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 31, 2018 by Nicole Frye, Hotel Management
Thank you for your 4 stars and taking the time to leave us a review on your recent stay. I am pleased to hear we were able to supply you with a clean and comfortable room. I hope to see you again on your next trip to Ames. Sincerely, Nicole Frye General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great complimentary breakfast

Posted Nov 27, 2017
They have a nice assortment of breakfast items. Variety of warm breakfast foods and healthy fruit and yogurts. Many choices of coffee and teas along with 3 flavors of creamers. Clean and large breakfast area. Rooms were clean and comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 5, 2017 by Nicole, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your 5 star review. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed our variety of breakfast options. I hope to see you on your next trip to Ames. Sincerely, Nicole Frye Operations Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Salina,Ks

Friendly staff & very good breakfast!

Posted Nov 22, 2017
No problems at all. Stay was smooth. Room clean & comfy. Staff really friendly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 5, 2017 by Nicole, Hotel Management
Thank you for your 5 star review and taking the time to leave us feedback on your stay. I'm happy to hear that you had a smooth stay with no problem. Hope to see you on your next trip to Ames. Sincerely, Nicole Frye Operations Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Iowa

Nice and clean.

Posted Nov 17, 2017
Nothing remarkable. Clean room, clean bath, quiet.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 5, 2017 by Nicole, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback on your stay. It is great to hear we were able to supply you with a clean and quiet stay. If your travels bring you back to the Ames area I hope to see you again. Sincerely, Nicole Frye Operations Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Il

No pool

Posted Oct 16, 2017 on Orbitz
No pool, they took off10%,they charge 234.00 for a collage family weekend
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Davenport

Was surprisingly impressed

Posted Sep 30, 2017
Surprisingly impressed with staff, cleanliness, quietness of rooms,. Never stayed in Holiday inn Express Before but will take 2nd look from now on.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 4, 2017 by Nicole Frye, Hotel Management
Thank you for your 5 star review. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and will be looking at Holiday Inn Express for future stays. I hope to see you on your next trip to Ames. Sincerely,
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 25, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 4, 2017 by Hotel Team, Hotel Management
Thank you for your 4 star review. If your travels bring you back to the Ames area I hope to see you again. Sincerely, Nicole Frye Operations Manager