Ratings based on 145 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 28, 2017
Excellent continental breakfast. Better choices than a lot of other motels. Close to Iowa State University. Not too pricey
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 15, 2017 by Perri Young- Operations, Hotel Management
Greetings, Thank you for taking the time out to provide our hotel with a review we greatly appreciate your feedback. On behave of management we are pleased to hear that you had a great stay and where able to get to Iowa State University. Thank you again and we look forward to your next visit. Perri- Operations
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Did Not Receive Customer Service

Posted May 11, 2017
Pros: The rooms were great and the breakfast was fantastic but the lack of help to the situation ruined it for me.
Cons: The staff offering a discount, a refund for the second night or AT LEAST contacting me back.
During my stay, the room we were assigned had no screen on the window and the second day we were in the room, we had the window open and a handful of wasps filled the room due to the lack of screen. Upon realizing, we left the room to talk to the front desk to have someone come and take care of the wasps. The front desk didn't voluntarily offer to take care of the wasps and didn't naturally see an immediate need for action. Since the front desk didn't seem too concerned about the problem, two of my friends decided to go and survey the situation. They ended up killing 11 wasps themselves with more attempting to get in. We told the front desk we needed another room because none of us were comfortable staying in that room. We were given the only other room left in the hotel, but it was a great inconvenience. Our next room didn't have as much bed space so part of our 4 ended up getting an extra hotel room at the Quality Inn across the street. When I checked out, I asked if we were being refunded or discounted in any capacity. The man who checked us out was very nice and apologized for everything but said he couldn't do anything about it since the manager was out. After trying to reach out to the manager on numerous occasions about the issue, he did not contact or try to contact me.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 15, 2017 by Perri Young- Operations, Hotel Management
Greetings, Thank you for taking the time out to review your stay with us. On behave of management we apologize for the inconvenience it was to your stay and the issues you had with your room. We know that comfort and happiness are two great things when traveling and we are working to make sure that our staff can meet all of the needs of our guest. We again would like to extend out deepest apologizes for the inconvenience and we hope that your next stay is well and pleasant. Perri Young -Operations
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from L

Great beds

Posted Apr 2, 2017
My wife has a hard time sleeping in hitel beds and said this is the best nights sleep in a hitel shes had. We boik there every time we visit our daughter at ISU now.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 27, 2017 by Hotel Team, Hotel Management
Ronny, Thank you for the kind words we greatly appreciate feedback from our guest. it warms our hearts that your wife is able to get a good nights sleep when visiting Ames. We look forward to serving you in the future.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 13, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 22, 2017 by Hotel Team, Hotel Management
Thank you for the 5 stars! We look forward to your future stays with us.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 7, 2017 on Hotels
Service was great. All staff members friendly & helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 8, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are so thrilled you were able to give us a 5 star rating! We look forward to your future stays with us. Sincerely, Hotel Team
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 1, 2017
The condition really surprised me. It's really good.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 3, 2017 by Hotel Team, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review your time with us. We are so pleased you were happy with the condition of the hotel. We take great pride in our accomplishments. Sincerely, Hotel Team
5 out of 5
by Kevin

Posted Feb 28, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 2, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We look forward to your future stays with us.
4 out of 5
by RICHARD

Posted Feb 6, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 16, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Richard, Thank you for taking to time to rate your stay with us. We warmly welcome you back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Dakota

Posted Jan 29, 2017
We enjoyed our stay very much. Staff was incredibly friendly. Room was spacious, clean and very comfortable. Breakfast was great also!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 16, 2017 by Hotel Team, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking to time to tell us about your stay. We are so happy you were able to enjoy our delicious hot breakfast. We look forward to serving you in the future. Sincerely, Hotel Team
5 out of 5
by Kim W from KCMO

Posted Jan 26, 2017 on Hotels
Everytime I've stayed in a Holiday Day Inn Express it's been great.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 16, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Kim, We are so pleased you were able to give us a 5 star rating. We thank you for being a loyal guest and are looking forward to your next visit. Sincerely, Hotel Team