Ratings based on 71 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

One of the best places I've ever stayed.

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Location: The Iowa House Hotel in Ames is located adjacent to the Iowa State University Campus, and close to the Conference Center and the sports venues.
The hotel is a beautiful old building with a comfortable and inviting look. The staff was friendly and personable. It felt like I was staying at a friend's house. My room was spacious and well appointed with a comfortable bed, and a desk. Amenities included a fridge, microwave, TV, and a jacuzzi tub. A fantastic breakfast is included with your stay. I could go on and on about how I liked everything about this place, but it really just boils down to this: they got all of the details right, and after just one night, I can't imagine staying anywhere else in Ames.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 8, 2016
Although we arrived late and departed after and before normal hours, the staff was extremely accommodating. It was great to be on the Iowa State campus.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ames

Good experience

Posted Aug 5, 2016
Pros: Like home
Cons: Reception desk in operation.
Historical experience like home along with the serving of breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A charming Gem

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Pros: everything
I only wish I would have know about this place before. Charming, lovely, clean and homey place to stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Extremely Comfortable and high class

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Pros: The ease of checking in and minimal staff interaction. I felt like i was simply coming home after a day of work. very relaxing.
Cons: nothing! it's perfect
Location: I attended some workshops at ISU. So, not much time to play or doing anything besides learn and relax at the hotel.
This hotel exceeded my expectations by miles! I've already recommended this place to my entire staff. Please don't change a thing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very pleasant place

Posted Jul 17, 2016
Great... really great. Great... really great. PS Great... really great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Friendly, warm, clean, comfortable

Posted Jul 15, 2016
The staff was friendly and accommodations were wonderful.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not overly impressed

Posted Jun 30, 2016
It's a nice enough place and a convenient location to ISU campus. The building certainly has more character than your average big chain. Our disappointments reflected some of the other comments I had read but not taken that seriously. Our room definitely needed some deep cleaning. Who ever vacuumed obviously didn't go out of the way to get debris that could be seen but not reached without using a vacuum hose attachment. The cooling system had trouble regulating the temperature, continuing to put out cool air even after I turned it up a couple of times. Breakfast portions were small and it would have been nice to have had a choice in how the egg was cooked. Oh--and my wife and I were celebrating our 20th anniversary and we got stuck in a room with two tiny beds. ugh.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Old frat house turned into a nice hotel

Posted Jun 5, 2016
All was well. We were in town for Iowa State U orientation for our daughter. They were able to put an inflatable bed in the room for an added guest last minute. That took up all the floor space in the room. Fresh made breakfast and cozy atmosphere. Thanks!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 27, 2016
More of a bed and breakfast type of place. The only thing that bothered me was when I told the front desk that the a/c unit wasn't working and he told me to open the windows instead. The snacks were a nice touch.