Ratings based on 216 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 17, 2017
Nice clean facilities, friendly staff. We stay here while visiting our daughter at ISU. They are pet friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Winona, MN

A Night's Stay

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Pros: A modern, clean facility.
Cons: Not aware of anything.
Location: The motel is close to a major business hub in Ames, Duff Street, where a good selection of restaurants are located.
The check-in was quick and easy with a welcoming staff person at the front desk. Found the motel to be a modern new facility having a clean look. The room had all the amenities of frig, microwave, tv, internet hook up, etc. The bed was one of the more comfortable I have slept in on recent trips. Not large but well equipped exercise room. The place was quiet, no interruptions in the night's sleep. Breakfast was the typical, not a stand out for sure.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Good value for the price

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Pros: Price and location
Cons: Larger pillows
Staff was very friendly. Not fond of the mirror headboard, but room size was nice
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Comfortable and clean. Not very spacious, but, for that price, having a very clean room was all I expected.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Iowa City

Looks like New

Posted Jan 26, 2017
Pros: Looked nice and the bed was very comfortable
Cons: The shower was ripped and in order to plug in our phones we needed to crawl under the night stand to reach an outlet.
Location: We stayed here while attending a conference at Iowa State.
We had a nice stay at this newly renovated hotel. The staff was courteous and breakfast was provided.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 25, 2017
Clean, quiet, economical hotel. Breakfast was good, would recommend to others.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Ames iowa

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Pros: Staff went above and beyond to straighten out a minor booking issue
Cons: Lil hiway noise from interstate..... but no big deal
Location: Easy access even though of main drag
When I arrived, I'd noticed my booking accidentally had 2 nights stay vs 1 as planned. The gals at the counter went above and beyond to help straighten things out....
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MN

Posted Dec 27, 2016
clean room, only problem was trying to change alarm clock time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Grinnell, United States of America

good place to stay if you're going to the game

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Pros: Convenient location
Cons: upgrade the bathrooms especially the tub.
Location: Just a few blocks away from Duff Ave a major shopping and dining area. Also a great Mexican resturant "la Azateca" just across the street.
stayed one night to attend the ISU vs Texas Tech football game. The hotel is conveniently located in relation to the stadium, and close to dining and shopping on Duff Ave. The Hotel is clean and the staff is nice. The only downside was the bathroom. Because of the small space (really tiny bathroom) the door opens out which is inconvient if someone is trying to use the vanity or reaching under the vanity and you crack their head with the door coming out the bathroom. Also the tub flooring was cracked and peeling. We had to put a towel down in the tub to keep from getting scratched up.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Easy on my wallet without sacrificing quality

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Though the rooms are smaller (hence the name microtel) the quality of service, beds, and other accommodations were not sacrificed. I appreciated the friendliness of the staff very much and overall, I would stay here again.