Ratings based on 789 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Iowa

Near highway and restaurants

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: N/A
Location: Near restaurants and highway.
Went to an ISU football game. The hotel is located right next to the interstate with restaurants nearby.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Stay Microtell Inn

Posted Oct 9, 2017
The rooms are clean, friendly staff and the pricing was excellent. One thing that was a little frustrating is that when I came down for breakfast there was no room for me to sit. So I took my breakfast up to my room. (Breakfast itself was fine:-)) Overall a great stay !
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice and clean for an excellent price.

Posted Oct 4, 2017
I stayed in a single room for one night, while small in size it fit the bill for my needs at a reasonable price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fort Madison, Iowa

Quick visit with daughter at Iowa State!

Posted Oct 2, 2017
Pros: Great value and clean, comfortable rooms!
Cons: All was well!
Location: Close to Iowa State campus!
This was our second time staying at the Microtel Inn in Ames. We will be back every time we visit our daughter at Iowa State. Comfortable, clean rooms and friendly staff. Great value!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Spencer

Nice hotel for business stay

Posted Sep 22, 2017
Pros: Easy location, close to everything.
Cons: Empty the fridge and garbage. There was an unopened Keystone Light in the fridge and the garbage had not been emptied.
Room was comfortable enough, there was a cold beer in the fridge and some empty's in the garbage can, but other than that it was fine.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 5, 2017
The room was nice enough,however the bed was very uncomfortable ;one person was higher than the other. It was also difficult to maintain a comfortable temperature in the room.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 27, 2017
Stayed here in 2015 when it was new and it was great. Just stayed August 2017 and the hotel has deteriorated beyond belief. We moved rooms 3 different times and each one was dirtier than the last. Stains on the mattresses, filthy showers, terrible smells and much more. Do not stay here!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

You get what you pay for

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: Front desk staff very friendly.
Cons: Maintenance.
The staff was wonderful. The dryer had been out of commission for several weeks with no repair on the horizon. The rooms were dank, as if the filters in the AC units were not changed. The cleaning staff was spread pretty thin and it would be a couple of days between getting the room made up.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

No frills; close to campus.

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Clean, quiet and roomy. Only issue was direct TV... not a lot of tv channels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect for a college visit.

Posted Jul 26, 2017
Cons: New pillows.
Location: Only a couple minutes away from ISU.
The lobby is clean and looks newly remodeled. Check-in was speedy. The room was pleasantly decorated and the breakfast of waffles, biscuits/gravy, bagels, banana and yogurt was good. Water pressure in the shower was strong. The hotel is along the highway, but I could not hear the traffic noise. The only thing I didn't like was the flat, hard pillows.