Ratings based on 734 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from B

Close to Iowa Attack Fieldhouse

Posted May 16, 2017
Staff unfriendly. Sink vanity had dead bulbs. Tub appeared stained or very dirty. A good cleaning with a bleach product would've helped. Very limited cold breakfast. Good bed.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lawrence

Just A Place to Sleep

Posted May 15, 2017
Pros: The breakfast was pretty decent.
Cons: Better attention to detail while cleaning. Better work from the landscaping crew. Better response from the front desk staff to guest's issues.
On first look, this isn't a bad looking property. Unfortunately, once you get checked in and to your room the deficiencies are more apparent. We had a third floor room and there was a noticeable bounce when walking from the door to the bed indicating cheap construction. The bed and bedding were clean enough, but the bathroom was not well maintained and there was mold growing on the room's HVAC unit. There was also a problem with water pressure for both the shower and the toilet. The front desk was notified about the mold issues and didn't do anything to accommodate us (new room, ask housekeeping to spray fungicide, etc.)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel, great location.

Posted May 7, 2017
Pros: See above.
Cons: Not much.
Location: It was a very easy drive to campus.
I only needed the room for one night. The hotel was clean, the room clean and comfortable. Front desk was efficient. Location was very convenient.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 5, 2017
Pros: clean and comfortable and a fair price
Hotel staff were friendly. Building was clean and in good condition. Overall enjoyed staying at this location
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Compact but sufficient. Good use of s small space

Posted May 2, 2017
Lack some of the amenities of a larger hotel but more than adequate for an overnight stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

convenient to Iowa State University

Posted Apr 10, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff, clean room, convenience to the university.
Cons: Fix Direct TV connection, update bathroom
Location: Iowa State University
Friendly staff, Room was large with a single queen sized bed. There were 2 television sets, one in front of the bed and the other one located on the same wall as the first but in front of the sofa. The Direct TV was not working on the set in front of the bed. Bed was very soft so uncomfortable for us. The bathroom area, although clean, was dated and the floor of the tub overlay stained.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Nice try - but...

Posted Apr 4, 2017
Pros: Free breakfast.
This was my first time at a Microtel & I probably won't be staying at one again. The hotel itself was like an C-/D+ mainly because the noise between the walls and the floors (I was on the first floor). I heard everything the girl above me said to whoever she was talking to on her cell phone. She was pacing the floor and I swear she must have paced 5 miles. I was exhausted and just wanted to sleep but her talking and walking was keeping me awake. I had to turn up the tv to drown out the noise of footsteps and chatter (and it was a good movie). This was no fault of the person staying above me, just a poorly constructed building. Tried to save a buck but not worth it.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to campus

Posted Mar 31, 2017
Lobby was recently redone- breakfast was nice but room was old, carpet worn and dirty, tub was filthy with hair in it, sheets were thin and old, bathroom very small. Would not stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Convenient to Iowa State, College visit

Posted Mar 11, 2017
Beds were very comfortable, room clean, pretty noisy though. The fan in the bathroom was very loud and the water pipes whined as the toilet tank was refilling after each flush. We had to adjust the heat down to 58* in the room because it was so hot (this was a night when the temp was in the teens outside). The breakfast consisted of oatmeal, waffles and cereal. We were hoping for some eggs so we went out. Overall it was a decent place to stay for the price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 8, 2017
We'll run clean and affordable, have stayed there many times and they do a great job