Ratings based on 808 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Midwest traveler

Posted Dec 1, 2017
We have stayed here numerous times - there is a reason we always go back. Modest price, excellent facilities, and friendly knowledgeable staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Salem, OR

Posted Nov 30, 2017
Clean, comfortable, with amenities for cooking and refrigeration.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fine hotel unfriendly staff

Posted Oct 21, 2017
Hotel staff was very unfriendly, in fact she didn't even speak to us. We had 4 people and she sent us to a room with one bed. When we came back and said it wouldn't work for us, she just typed into her computer and laid a new set of keys on the counter. We had to ask what the price difference was!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Iowa

Near highway and restaurants

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: N/A
Location: Near restaurants and highway.
Went to an ISU football game. The hotel is located right next to the interstate with restaurants nearby.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Stay Microtell Inn

Posted Oct 9, 2017
The rooms are clean, friendly staff and the pricing was excellent. One thing that was a little frustrating is that when I came down for breakfast there was no room for me to sit. So I took my breakfast up to my room. (Breakfast itself was fine:-)) Overall a great stay !
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice and clean for an excellent price.

Posted Oct 4, 2017
I stayed in a single room for one night, while small in size it fit the bill for my needs at a reasonable price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fort Madison, Iowa

Quick visit with daughter at Iowa State!

Posted Oct 2, 2017
Pros: Great value and clean, comfortable rooms!
Cons: All was well!
Location: Close to Iowa State campus!
This was our second time staying at the Microtel Inn in Ames. We will be back every time we visit our daughter at Iowa State. Comfortable, clean rooms and friendly staff. Great value!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Spencer

Nice hotel for business stay

Posted Sep 22, 2017
Pros: Easy location, close to everything.
Cons: Empty the fridge and garbage. There was an unopened Keystone Light in the fridge and the garbage had not been emptied.
Room was comfortable enough, there was a cold beer in the fridge and some empty's in the garbage can, but other than that it was fine.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 12, 2017 on Hotels
Toilet kept running. Breakfast could be a little better with more hot options and more fruit. Otherwise, it was fine.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Microtel Inn, Ames, Iowa

Posted Sep 12, 2017 on Hotels
Room was clean, quiet and adequate. Plumbing was the problem with a toilet that barely flushed, a clogged shower head and shower drain. They "fixed" it they said, they did replace the shower head and the toilet barely flushed unless you held down the handle for about a minute. They never fixed the slow moving shower drain. About a minute into your shower you were standing in a good inch of water, by the end of your shower you were standing in about 10 inches of water in the tub. Good breakfast. Fix your drains!