Ratings based on 184 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very nice room and the employees were very good.

Posted Aug 20, 2016
Pros: The room looked brand new and was very clean.
Cons: The dining room could use an update (the furniture was a little worn), but it was clean.
Location: The hotel is near Iowa State University.
The room as very nice. It looked brand new and was very clean. The dining room could use an update (the furniture was a little worn), but it was clean. The breakfast was nice.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 25, 2016 by General Manager , Hotel Management
Dear Guest Thank you for the 5 star review, I am glad to hear your stay with us was well, my staff will be happy to hear of the comments of nice room and good employees, we hope to see you next time you visit Ames
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Iowa

Comfortable & quiet

Posted Aug 18, 2016
Very clean, quiet. Were able to check in a little early. They were very accomodating. Very friendly
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 25, 2016 by general manager , Hotel Management
Thank you so much for our 4-star rating! We are glad to hear you enjoyed staying at our Red Roof Inn in Ames and found our staff "very accommodating and friendly" and "rooms very clean, quiet." We look forward to your next visit when coming back to Ames. Thank you!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Frankfort Il

Posted Aug 17, 2016
Pros: Close to Iowa State.
Only suggestion is related to signage. Little difficult to see sign from road./c
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Red Roof Inn Ames Needs Some Improvement

Posted Aug 15, 2016
Pros: Close proximity to Iowa State University
Cons: Attention to detail of the housekeeping staff
Location: Iowa State University
Storm water leaked into our room and caused the floor to be soaked. There was clothing of a previous guest left in the room. Lack of attention to detail was evident.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 12, 2016
The room is dated but clean. Very good price. The staff is helpful and nice.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Rockford, IL

Great room great value

Posted Aug 3, 2016
Hotel is right off the highway and close to Iowa State University. Our room was large and clean. The bathroom was very large, which is a great thing. The hot breakfast included sausage and biscuits, along with waffles. I am very pleased with this hotel, and thrilled we got it so cheaply.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel within driving distance of Iowa State

Posted Jul 3, 2016
Comfortable room with satisfactory breakfast and pool access. Needs improvement for signs out front
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 23, 2016 by general manager , Hotel Management
Dear Guest Thank you for the 4 star review I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us, as we just transitioned we did get the singed changed, Comfortable room with satisfactory breakfast and pool access are the words my staff and I look for to strive us to do more for our guests. Hope to see you next time you visit to ames
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wichita KS

Was there for basketball camp (daughter)

Posted Jun 19, 2016
breakfast was Good, it was close to location we Were traveling back/forth from, staff was very nice!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 23, 2016 by general manager , Hotel Management
Dear Guest Thank you for the great review, i am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us during your visit to ames i hope we have the pleasure to accommodate your on your next visit
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from hudson, wi

Clean, economical, comfortable

Posted Jun 11, 2016
I chose this hotel for the lower price. I'm glad I did - it had everything I needed for an overnight stay. First in priority, it was clean and comfortable and the nonsmoking room did not smell like smoke. Nice bathroom with shower/tub combo. Microwave, fridge, coffeemaker, tv. Staff all very friendly. There was a pool, kind of a strong chlorine smell there. Workout room was small but adequate. Breakfast ok but nothing special. I had everything I needed and was pleased to pay $40-$50 less than many other choices in the area. I'd stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 23, 2016 by general manager , Hotel Management
Dear rachel Thank You for the 4 star review, I am glad you enjoyed your stay, friendly staff, clean and comfortable rooms with all the amenities are the things we love to hear from our guests. we hope to see you again on your next visit to Ames.
4 out of 5
by Carrie from Britt

Posted May 22, 2016 on Hotels
No refrigerator/microwave in the room which is very rare these days. Also, no hot tub in pool area. Other than that, it was really a nice, comfortable hotel. This was during a change over from Hampton Inn to Red Roof Inn.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 23, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest Thank You for the 4 star review, i am sorry for not having the amenities you expected. Since the transition from Hampton to Red Roof we will be doing renovations shortly. I hope we can accommodate you on your next visit to Ames.