Ratings based on 434 Verified Reviews

2.9 out of 5
51% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wausau WI

Do not stay here!

Posted Mar 12, 2017
Spend the extra money, stay at one of the other 5 hotels next door. Place is old and smells bad. Pillows were worst possible and the place just felt unclean.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from iowa

Roaches

Posted Mar 12, 2017
No thermostat. Hot and cold from an AC window. Very hard to adjust to comfortable.sweat or freeze. Roaches on walls. Back hurts from bed. Shower slippery as hell. No grab bars or mats. Breakfast was negligible and I skipped it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice place for a cheap stay

Posted Jan 30, 2017
Pros: It was quiet, had all the amenities I needed, and was cheap.
Cons: breakfast
My room was clean and it came with a fridge and microwave, which is unusual for cheap hotels. The staff working were really quiet both at night and in the morning. Before booking my stay I read the reviews which were less than favorable, but I am not sure why.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Iowa

Wonderful hotel for the price.

Posted Jan 10, 2017
We usually don't get to go to hotels often, so when we do we certainly can't afford nice fancy hotels. We took a chance with this one because it was cheap and had semi good reviews. We didn't check in until almost 10pm, the agent at the desk was nice and even allowed us a noon checkout when we asked. The room is small but looking at the price you are paying. It was updated, and clean for the most part. My wife has worked in the hotel business and she definitely felt it could have been way cleaner. It looked like the whole base of the wall the beds were on was vacuumed months ago.. The tub didn't look that clean either, but we weren't planning on using it anyway. The coffee was terrible but I'm not a big coffee drinker! We stayed on a Saturday night and didn't really hear any noise. It was a overall good hotel for the price we paid.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Santa Ana, CA

Eighteen-Wheelers and Milk

Posted Dec 20, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: It is clean.
Cons: Tell the truckers to either turn off their engines or go elsewhere.
Location: Iowa State is only a half mile away.
This is a nice basic hotel at a good price. I like to go here each time I visit Ames because of that. However, on this last trip, there were two nasty issues that came up. I'd rather be on the northern side of the motel because the highway noise and restaurant lights on the south side are a bit much. Unfortunately, the motel allows eighteen-wheelers to park overnight with their engines running...on the north side. Yes, it's winter, and there is a problem starting them in below freezing weather, but this is horribly annoying, as it's like having the highway traffic right next to your window droning all night long. The other thing was not cleaning the milk containers after each breakfast. It's not very nice when a dozen solid cream chunks fall into ones cereal. Also, I noticed the thermostat was not adjustable, stuck at 70.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 19, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 28, 2016 on Hotels
Room was fine, good parking (we were pulling a trailer) nice picture in the room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

It was a friendly greeting, quick check in.

Posted Nov 6, 2016
Pros: Friendly greeting, quiet nights, full breakfast buffet .
Cons: Bathroom shower could have used some miner maintenance.
Location: Middle of hotel row. Must drive to all happenings in Ames. But easy access to highways, local streets, and less than 10 min. from heart of campus.
Friendly greeting with a huge smile. So pleasantly surprised. Check in was very fast. Room had more amenities than expected, too. Pricier than I noreally pay so I was glad for the little upgrades. Even though filled to capacity I felt like I was the only one there. Very quiet, very friendly. I was late to breakfast yet still had a full buffet of choices. I was really happy to have stayed there.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Only if you really want to save money

Posted Oct 30, 2016 on Orbitz
I was shocked when I see the pillow cases. They were covered with spots of different colors. Maybe they were washed but they should not be used for guests! also found a hair in the bed.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 21, 2016 on Hotels
The room felt warm, humid, and damp and the air conditioner was SO LOUD. I was also only supposed to be charged $51 but was charged $59.99. Not a HORRIBLE stay but not sure I'll stay there again if I can help it.