Ratings based on 153 Verified Reviews

2.8 out of 5
52% of guests recommend
3.0 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Iowa

Wonderful hotel for the price.

Posted Jan 10, 2017
We usually don't get to go to hotels often, so when we do we certainly can't afford nice fancy hotels. We took a chance with this one because it was cheap and had semi good reviews. We didn't check in until almost 10pm, the agent at the desk was nice and even allowed us a noon checkout when we asked. The room is small but looking at the price you are paying. It was updated, and clean for the most part. My wife has worked in the hotel business and she definitely felt it could have been way cleaner. It looked like the whole base of the wall the beds were on was vacuumed months ago.. The tub didn't look that clean either, but we weren't planning on using it anyway. The coffee was terrible but I'm not a big coffee drinker! We stayed on a Saturday night and didn't really hear any noise. It was a overall good hotel for the price we paid.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

It was a friendly greeting, quick check in.

Posted Nov 6, 2016
Pros: Friendly greeting, quiet nights, full breakfast buffet .
Cons: Bathroom shower could have used some miner maintenance.
Location: Middle of hotel row. Must drive to all happenings in Ames. But easy access to highways, local streets, and less than 10 min. from heart of campus.
Friendly greeting with a huge smile. So pleasantly surprised. Check in was very fast. Room had more amenities than expected, too. Pricier than I noreally pay so I was glad for the little upgrades. Even though filled to capacity I felt like I was the only one there. Very quiet, very friendly. I was late to breakfast yet still had a full buffet of choices. I was really happy to have stayed there.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Noisy, thin walls, not recommended.

Posted Oct 20, 2016
Pros: Price, location.
Cons: About everything.
Location: LOTS of competitive hotels. GREAT Mexican restaurant next door.
No place to plug in wifi or laptop as micro and fridge use outlets.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis

For a no frills, cheap place to stay...

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Location: Close enough to ISU (about 15 minutes) and Duff Street for shopping, restaurants. Not walking distance, but a quick drive.
For a no frills, cheap place to stay - this will do. It could use some updating (bathroom was very dated and worn...but clean).
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Affordable

Posted Oct 3, 2016
Plentiful hot water. Quiet location. Room clean. Soft drink machine outside and didn't work.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mpls

Close to Mexican restaurant and highways.

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Bathroom pretty shabby and not the cleanest. Rest of room pretty good. Bring your own pillows.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Iowa

Smelliest hotel room I have ever stayed in

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Cons: 1. The smell 2. The breakfast
Location: It was close to a major highway There were restaurants and shopping malls close by
Our party had 4 rooms and they all smelled terrible. It was smelled like a combination of lysol and dog urine. We bought some spray air refresheners and sprayed them every 30 minutes. The continental breakfast was lacking. The hotel staff were hard to understand. I will never stay in this hotel again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from omaha

The room stinks.

Posted Aug 30, 2016
Pros: The clerk
Cons: They need to do something to remove the stench.
I got here at 9:00 pm and the clock laws courtious when I checked in. When I got to my room there was horrible odor in the room reminiscent of nicotine and urine. I should have left then and there and taken my money back, that is my fault, but I was tired after a full day of work and a three hour drive. I will never stay in ask Suoer 8 again if their standards are this low. The room was basically clean but the was paint all over the bathtub.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

NO Handicap access

Posted Aug 27, 2016
Pros: staff was pleasant
Cons: Handicap Access
Location: Nothing near by but a Mexican Restaurant, have to drive for other things.
The rooms and staff are ok, but there really isn't any good access for handicapped people. I am handicapped and the facilities are not even remotely good for this. No facilities in the bathroom that can be used since there are no bars in the bath area and there is a tub for showering.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Council Bluffs, Iowa

Easy to locate

Posted Aug 7, 2016
No toiletries in room. No luggage rack to put suitcase on. No towel bar in bathroom. Beds were comfortable.