Ratings based on 467 Verified Reviews

2.9 out of 5
50% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from WI

Met expectations

Posted Dec 3, 2017
Cons: I thought the breakfast could have had more options
The shower water temp changed drastically several times while I was trying to get it to what I wanted it to be. I think the staff had started their laundry. I found a big bug on the rug and could not ID it. I brought it to the front desk for them to determine what it was and if they might have a problem. (It was hard to see the bug with the color of the carpet matching it.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Jesup

Hole in bathroom ceiling

Posted Dec 3, 2017
A hole in the bathroom ceiling and in the morning the person above us took a bath and we got shower down in our bathroom to the whole sheets are dirty towels or dirty sheets were torn I wouldn't recommend this Motel to my worst enemy
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Omaha, NE

You get what you pay for

Posted Nov 20, 2017
This hotel had a decent price which is why I stayed here for a conference I had in Ames. However the room and hotel had multiple issues. The room always had something loud on. Either the cooling unit for the fridge or the heater. The room also had a very stuffy smell. It was obviously a smoking room. My nose was always plugged in the morning and unplugged after a couple minutes out of the room. The hotel itself was decent. However I could hear people closing their doors on the other side of the hotel in my room. Also I was right next to the steps and there was pounding and stepping noises from people coming in and out all night. All in all, I’d just say you get what you pay for.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 31, 2017
The bathrooms were dirty with hair in the tub, and there were paint stains all over the sheets. The hotel is old, which shouldn't be a problem as long as it is kept clean which it wasn't.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from COUNCIL BLUFFS

Nice hotel and close to where we wanted to be

Posted Sep 28, 2017
Pros: close to be where we wanted
very good, it was clean and the staff was great, close to resturants and lounges
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 28, 2017
The hallway smell was awful!!! I could not take it!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Des Moines, IA

No Air conditioning

Posted Sep 28, 2017
Pros: Easy access
Cons: Air conditioning and something more than toast on the breakfast bar.
The air conditioning didn't work in the room. Outside was 92 degrees and the hall was nice and cool but in the room was really hot. I went to Target just to cool down. I did call the hotel the next day and told them of the issue but the owner is out of the country. I hope he addresses this before they rent the room again.
4 out of 5
by david

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 12, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Melissa

A solid choice

Posted Sep 10, 2017 on Hotels
The Super 8 was a great pick for me and my friends as we were staying overnight for the Iowa Iowa State game and wanted to have a cheap place to stay. There was a great channel selection, the beds were very comfortable, and the service at the front desk was great! Breakfast was the classic hotel breakfast, nothing special but the coffee was fantastic.
5 out of 5
by Sylvia

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 5, 2017 on Hotels