Ratings based on 23 Verified Reviews

3.0 out of 5
48% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.0 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Iowa

Clean Room

Posted Oct 11, 2016
The room was really clean, but there was way too much noise til 1:30am & it started again at 4am.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good enough motel at a good location.

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Pros: The room and location.
Cons: Get a good, working computer in the lobby.
Location: Good restaurant nearby: The Colorado Grill.
The room was fine. But the one guest computer in the lobby was not working. The front desk was often unmanned. The continental breakfast was better than average.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from KC

No so friendly

Posted Dec 27, 2015
Booked a King room but when we arrived were told no kings left and would have to take queen bed. After asking why I did not get what I reserved and wondering if price was different she reluctantly offered us a king room on the 3rd floor which she said was normally closed in the winter. Called the desk the next morning to let them know we did not need our room cleaned that day. The person we talked to insisted we could not have a room on that floor but after checking finally acknowledge this and seemed irritated(probably the owner). Not friendly at all. I did not expect 4 star accommodations but did not expect such unfriendly staff.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis

You get what you pay for

Posted Oct 5, 2015
Pros: Convenient to restaurants; basic amenities were provided
Cons: Better air conditioning
Location: Restaurants nearby; ISU/Ames is a 15 minute drive
Stayed one night during ISU Family Weekend, when hotel rooms were hard to come by in Ames. The hotel seemed very tired. Air conditioning was non-existent in the lobby and hallways. AC worked in our room, but was weak even with the thermostat turned all the way up. There was no elevator, so we had to walk up three flights with our luggage. Interaction with the staff was adequate -- nothing special but nothing bad, either. On the plus side, the room had a refrigerator and microwave, the TV worked, and there were plenty of towels. The location was easy to find and convenient to several restaurants as well as Walmart. The nightly rate was significantly less than the hotels in Ames.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 30, 2015
Room smelled like it had been wet, the air conditioner/heat had broken buttons some you couldn't use Breakfast wasn't that great, the waffle maker didn't have spray and kept sticking, syrup was out and took awhile for the staff to fill it, the biscuits were cold and the gravy was overcooked Had to go to the office 3 times to check out since nobody was there
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

business

Posted Sep 28, 2015
The only motel with rooms for a bunch of miles. Clock in room buzzed and wouldn't shut off had to unplug it. Other then that it was okay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from abilene, ks

Good Stay

Posted Sep 28, 2015
Pros: close to restaurants, easy to find
Cons: nothing
Location: easy to find, close to everything
Clean, neat, courteous and helpful staff. Especially good for the budget minded who are most concerned with clean place to sleep, shower, safe neighborhood.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Non smoking?

Posted Sep 28, 2015
Our room smelled musty, like old smoke. The bathroom had mold in it. The room door was not locked when we arrived. The beds were not comfortable.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Michigan

All around horrible experience

Posted Aug 18, 2015
Booked hotel thru expedia, by mistake we booked a smoking room. Asked to change rooms, was told they were booked solid. Sure didnt appear that way. Hotel located directly across street from Boone Speedway, which you could hear the loud cars and the PA announcer thru the walls of the hotel, even turning on air conditioner didnt work. Races every Saturday night from Memorial DAy to Labor Day and runs until 1130pm. Bath tub wouldnt drain, missing smoke detector, room reeked of smoke. Breakfast wasnt fit for Fido.. we have done alot of traveling for hockey and college, worst stay ever at a hotel. Will not ever go back...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Council Bluffs, IA

Good Value

Posted Jul 13, 2015
Pros: Easy access, quiet and peaceful.
Cons: AC Unit could use updated.
Location: Boone, Iowa. Loads of local charm. Enjoyed riding the Boone Scenic Valley Railroad.
Our room was clean, comfortable and affordable. The room was a surprise as it came with a great television, cable, microwave and refrigerator/freezer. Room was handicap/wheelchair accessible.