Ratings based on 108 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
59% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Pick another hotel

Posted Aug 21, 2016
Room smelled, bugs on the staircase steps, owner was incredibly rude. The hotel looks nothing like the photos - it was gross!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Decent hotel a bit dated

Posted Aug 19, 2016
Hotel personnel was friendly and helpful, both check in and out. I left a pair of earrings on the nightstand and the front desk person immediately went and checked for them and should be in the mail to me any day now. The room was clean. Shower pressure good. Bed comfortable. Quiet. No issues. Breakfast was disappointing. I've had better at hotels I've stayed for less$. Not much to choose from. Yogurt, a couple bananas, dry cereal, waffles, toast. Oatmeal was available but there was no hot water. Stay was good but need to eat breakfast elsewhere.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The room reeked of smoke burn holes in bedding

Posted Aug 16, 2016
Pros: Not much
On vacation with 2 grandchildren not the best experience they didn't even go down for breakfast had to wash all our clothes because of the smoke smell they did give us a bottle of fabreeze that we did go through for the smell
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from c

Place Smelled horrible

Posted Aug 14, 2016
After several years of booking lodging on line This rates the number 2 worst experience ever .
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 12, 2016
Hotel smelled musty and/or moldy the moment we walked in the front door. Rooms smelled the same way. I smelled that way when leaving hotel and had to wash everything in my suitcase. Breakfast WAS goid.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from iowa

Posted Aug 2, 2016
The air conditioner/heater was noisy, but everything else was good.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from illinois

Posted May 9, 2016
Clean, updated rooms. Very nice breakfast bar with typical: cereal, toaster, waffles, fruit. Overall, much nicer than anticipated and better than more expensive hotels we have stayed. Will definitely stay again when in area.
5 out of 5
by Tim

Posted Mar 26, 2016 on Hotels
My stay at the Comfort Inn in Story City was wonderful. Staff was excellent and helpful. Room was nice and large and made a weeks stay like being at home.
4 out of 5
by Julia from Norwalk

Very impressed

Posted Mar 1, 2016 on Hotels
We needed a room for the night while in Ames for a dance competition. The room was perfect! Everything was very clean and just the right size for my daughter and myself. The breakfast bar, though, left a lot to be desired - not much selection.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Decent for the pricetag.

Posted Feb 23, 2016
Pros: Dog Friendly
Cons: Appearance
Location: Ames is closeby.
Rooms look like they are in the process of being updated. Heaters are old - they work, but we couldn't keep temperature well regulated. We woke up freezing the first night, turned it on, and then woke up sweltering later. Bathroom was decent. TV was decent. Bed was okay.