Ratings based on 102 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
64% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from illinois

Posted May 9, 2016
Clean, updated rooms. Very nice breakfast bar with typical: cereal, toaster, waffles, fruit. Overall, much nicer than anticipated and better than more expensive hotels we have stayed. Will definitely stay again when in area.
5 out of 5
by Tim

Posted Mar 26, 2016 on Hotels
My stay at the Comfort Inn in Story City was wonderful. Staff was excellent and helpful. Room was nice and large and made a weeks stay like being at home.
4 out of 5
by Julia from Norwalk

Very impressed

Posted Mar 1, 2016 on Hotels
We needed a room for the night while in Ames for a dance competition. The room was perfect! Everything was very clean and just the right size for my daughter and myself. The breakfast bar, though, left a lot to be desired - not much selection.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Decent for the pricetag.

Posted Feb 23, 2016
Pros: Dog Friendly
Cons: Appearance
Location: Ames is closeby.
Rooms look like they are in the process of being updated. Heaters are old - they work, but we couldn't keep temperature well regulated. We woke up freezing the first night, turned it on, and then woke up sweltering later. Bathroom was decent. TV was decent. Bed was okay.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Solid place. Easy access to Ames.

Posted Dec 2, 2015 on Hotels
Pleasant staff and very accommodating. It's not a luxury hotel, but it's not expected to be. Decent breakfast: yogurt, toast, some rolls, waffle maker, etc. It was exactly what I needed it to be when attending a conference in Ames.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 30, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Mindy

Good value

Posted Nov 20, 2015 on Hotels
Nicer than a lot of Super 8 motels I have been too
3 out of 5
by Not Provided

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 4, 2015 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Whoa....what happened to the hotel in the reviews?

Posted Nov 3, 2015
Pros: The manager was pleasant.
Cons: Everything!
Location: Not much there. The info in your ad says there a super outlet mall but we found out there's only 1 store left and the others have been gone awhile.
The first clue was the outside appearance, the 2nd was the smell as we entered and the dirty carpet up the staircase, in the hall and room. No way was I walking barefoot. The bed was way past time for replacement. The breakfast was OK, nothing to write home about. Would I stay there again, no way!
3 out of 5
by Michael from Milwaukee

Posted Oct 21, 2015 on Hotels
I have a student at Iowa State in Ames because of a home football game finding a room in Ames was hard at short notice. No problem to drive the 12 miles to Story City. The Hotel is right off the freeway. The building is a bit dated but room was clean. Service was fine. Wi-Fi spotty as was the cable as it cuts out at times. We really only slept there. Beds were comfortable. Did not partake in the breakfast but it looked like the usual continental breakfast type food. Would stay again.