Ratings based on 110 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from searsport Maine

Nice enough

Posted Aug 22, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: An indoor pool and hot tub..again for my back.
Location: We were just passing through on our way to Cape Breton Highlands park.
I usually. Choose comfort Inn because in my experience they are always the best way to go, so sometimes I don't mind paying a bit more. The comfort inn in Amherst Canada was not bad by any means, clean, comfortable room, lovely bathroom..I take baths at night for my sciatica, the heat on my back helps the pain that radiates down both legs. I would recommend to anyone. The person on the front desk was cordial and told us how to get there. Our Tom Tom kept us going in circles. A word of warning..if you are going to Canada trade your money before you go..banks, credit union s and most other people we encountered only want their money because the rates change daily.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from kitchener, on

A quiet stay

Posted Jun 30, 2017
The facilities are nice. My only complaint would be that the ice machine was a little far from our room, but only because we happened to get the one literally furthest away. Didn't have the breakfast myself but got decent reviews from the rest of my group
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ottawa

Last of Eastern motels

Posted Jun 23, 2017
Pros: Location, staff, room
Cons: Replacement of very loud bathroom fan!
This was our last of many hotels/motels we stayed at over a 3 week period. Only negative at this one was a very loud bathroom fan. We reported same and trus it was replaced. Overall, a wonderful place to stay!!!
4 out of 5
by E Kim

Amherst long weekend in May

Posted May 24, 2017 on Hotels
We had our 3 day club bike tour based at this hotel. It was a very good location. The hotel allowed our group to host happy hour in the lobby. Easy check in.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 31, 2017
Dear Valued Guest Thank you for your complimentary review of the Comfort Inn Amherst. We are pleased that you enjoyed our hotel. We would be honored to have you stay with us again. Glenda J.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

okay hotel.

Posted May 2, 2017
Pros: The location was fine. The day manager in the morning was more polite.
The hotel building was satisfactory, except for the overpowering smell of room deodorizer in the lobby. The main disappointment was the first room I was given. When I arrived it had a horrible smell that felt toxic and highly unpleasant. On top of it, there was also the smell of a deodorizer that was not able to cover it up. I complained to the front desk and was moved to another room which was fine. The employee at the front desk did not apologize and I was given no compensation of any kind. He explained that a student d lived in that room who had a particular smell, and it would take a long time for it to go away.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 4, 2017 by Naith , Hotel Management
Dear Mary, Thank you for sharing feedback on your recent visit. We are very sorry to learn that you did not enjoy all aspects of your visit with us and offer our sincere apology. Again, thank you for sharing feedback on your recent visit. Best regards, Naith
3 out of 5
by pauline

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 1, 2017 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Halifax, Nova Scotia

Location off highway convenient.

Posted Apr 1, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: Staff accommodated my ask for a late check out.
Cons: Use duvet covers.
Location: Amherst, Nova Scotia. I was there for a funeral.
I will pass on this hotel. I found a mans sock sticking out from underneath one of the beds and upon checking under the other bed, a soap wrapper and dust bunnies. The duvet was NOT covered which turned me off! Who doesn't use a cover on their duvets? I WANT TO SLEEP IN FRESHLY LAUNDERED BEDDING and do not want to be handling bedding used by a guest the night before. By the looks of the laundry in the hall, the DUVETS are not laundered after every use. When getting out of bed in the morning, I found a long, black hair on top of the duvet. I'm blonde. I rest my case. Rooms a little crowded but ok. You did have to hold the toilet handle down for it to flush properly. I noticed the sink and tub were upgraded but I don't think the toilet was. (different colour) Staff friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Halifax

Great spot.

Posted Feb 23, 2017
Perfect for our needs........................
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 27, 2017 by Naith , Hotel Management
Dear Pat, Thank you for providing a review on your resent visit. We thank you for your positive rating of our services and looking forward to your next visit. Best regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 30, 2017
Super comfortable bed and helpful staff. Always stay here when staying in Amherst.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 31, 2017 by KIMMY, Hotel Management
Dear Guest Thank you for your great review of our hotel. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to having you stay with us again. Kim Gould Front Desk Manage Comfort Inn Amherst
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location!!

Posted Dec 18, 2016
Clean-comfortable,decent free breakfast!! Will stay again!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 19, 2016 by Naith , Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, thank you for your positive rating of our services. We are looking forward to your next visit. Best regards, Naith