Ratings based on 186 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The location is good but the hotel needs some deep

Posted Jun 26, 2017 on Orbitz
Cons: Needs to be deep cleaned and updated
Location: Great location to many shops and local restaurants
There was a large bug in my bed and several bugs on the bathroom floor
5 out of 5
by Jessie

Solid Spot

Posted Mar 24, 2017 on Hotels
Low key, friendly, nice accommodations for a motor lodge. Right on the edge of Umass Campus and walking distance to downtown.
3 out of 5
by Zach

Gets the Job Done

Posted Feb 9, 2017 on Hotels
Picked motel because it was very close to the university and cheap. Room was dated and felt worn but it was clean. Shower wasn't amazing but I was out of the room most of the time. Great place to stay if you just need a place to sleep. Bed was comfortable enough.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from T

quiet and clean

Posted Feb 6, 2017
Stay was great aside from poor wi-fi reception. Quiet and clean made the stay good. I would stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 28, 2017
Very conveniently located within walking distance to UMass, Amherst College, and the center of town. The room was clean, quiet, and affordable.
3 out of 5
by Joshua

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 23, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Lawrence

Posted Jan 16, 2017 on Hotels
Warm, cheap, easy walk to town, and yes: clean!
4 out of 5
by Thomas

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 16, 2017 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Stay here only if there is nothing else available.

Posted Nov 2, 2016 on Hotels
We were underwhelmed at the University Lodge. It is a BASIC motel. The service upon check in and out was non-existent. It must be run by students from the UMASS HRTA School as the person behind the counter was being trained by another person on how to use the check-in computer system. No "Hello's" or other greetings. The WiFi service was very sketchy - constantly kicking you off. Our room was small and clean but very Spartan. Worst of all was they had evidently just replaced the shower curtain and the smell of plastic was overwhelming. We took the curtain off the rod and put it in the refrigerator to control the odor. We paid $285 to stay for two nights - definitely NOT worth it.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston

Great price and location but shaky condition.

Posted Oct 20, 2016
Location: Convenience to UMass and downtown Amherst was excellent. I believe only the campus hotel is closer. We often use that but it was all booked.
We knew it was an older motel but we were attracted by a very low weeknight price and proximity to UMass campus (.6 mile). We read the mixed reviews but figured it would be ok for one night. We were also encouraged because the hotel group that owns it also owns some others that have been fine. Found it to be very musty smelling right away. Upon opening windows there were dead bugs and lots of grime in the sill between the window and screen. Otherwise the unit was basically clean although baseboards and woodwork were banged up in places. My wife turns down the bed and there was a living flea on the sheet. She's totally grossed out at this point. Just one night. We can do it. I was awakened at 1:30 am by an ant crawling up my arm. We asked for 1st floor for convenience, not heeding the warning in an earlier review about the noise from above. We should have listened as we heard every footstep, door, and drawer from above. We also ignored the fact that it is a pet friendly motel. Our bad - won't happen again.