Ratings based on 135 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 17, 2015 on Hotels
Terrific location - between university and downtown. Decent bed, nice TV and nice staff. Bathroom a bit old
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Daniel from Boston

Awful

Posted Sep 16, 2015 on Hotels
hotel was disgusting, Power was off in half room, unsafe conditions….absolutely t
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Sara from Thurmont

For visiting college it was just ok

Posted Sep 2, 2015 on Hotels
Hotel room had a musty odor. Could not control the temperatures. AC was either on or off. But the neighborhood right by downow Amherst was fantastic.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean room, close to the UMASS, cheap

Posted Aug 28, 2015
Clean room, close to the UMASS, cheap price, good choice for travellers
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from cincinnati / Abuja

Functional hotel in Amherst

Posted Aug 17, 2015
I was on a college visit to Amherst with my daughter and mistook the hotel for a campus hotel to the college we were visiting. It was close enough though and served the purpose. Had all the basic essentials - toiletries, iron and hair blow dryer. It was clean enough but the carpet and bedding need replacement.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Convenient hotel near Amherst Central

Posted Aug 17, 2015 on Hotels
walking distance from Amherst Central for bus connectivity to move around if you dont hire a car. No breakfast provided.. just coffee.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Ranjitha

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 4, 2015 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from los angeles ca

Overpriced for facilities/amenities

Posted Jul 29, 2015
Pros: location
Cons: wifi
The only thing the University Lodge has going for it is LOCATION. They know it, and they'll make you pay. Otherwise its Hadley on the Hill. That said, here are some serious drawbacks. WIFI is a joke. Room 10 doesn't get it, as its at the end of the rectangular building, and is buried in the hillside. I requested a move so I could get the promised wifi. I was moved to Room 11, directly above the office. It gets wifi, kind of. I had to stand by the window. More often than it took several annoying tries before it would let you sign in. The log-in is a relic from dialup days, with terms and conditions you have to sign on to EVERY SINGLE TIME. The T&Cs should be a rider on the contract so if you decide to invade Iran from your hotel room, etc. So UL, if you're listening: GET A SIGNAL BOOSTER to punch thru the brick walls. The "business center" is a a wheezy Dell box on a table, in the motel office, with a small b&w printer underneath. Seriously. Overall the facilities are tired. Staff was helpful and courteous, and have that patient look that can only come from hearing the same comments from guests with my situation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Kristine A

Posted Jul 28, 2015 on Hotels
I loved the location, for I was only 5 min from the Mullen Center, which I attended a convention there three days in a row. The front desk employees were very friendly n attentive. :) For what you charge per room, especially on weekends, I was suprised that there were no bed spreads our shower curtian. (Liner is different from shower curtian) If you invested in these few items it would definitely make guest feel more welcomed. :)
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia

Nice hotel with a quirk

Posted Jul 20, 2015
Pros: Conveniently located, clean, good value for the money
Cons: A 24-hour reception is all this place needs in order to be great
University Lodge is a budget accommodation close to the UMass campus. It is conveniently located to both campus and downtown Amherst, rooms are reasonably well maintained and perfectly clean, beds are fine. The only quirk is that reception closes at 10pm. If you arrive later, you can pick up your key at another hotel, about 10 minutes drive away. That hotel is conveniently located along the way from the highway exit to University lodge. So checking in is not even a detour. However, if you arrive at your door and the key does not work, you have to drive back, pick up a backup key, and back again to University Lodge. And then your second key does not work, and your drive back, and they have no more backups. As luck would have it, it was exactly what happened to me. I should note that staff at both hotels are extremely helpful. They put us up for the night at the second hotel at no extra charge, and the clerk at University Lodge gave us a nice discount for the trouble. Still, I would gladly pay more to avoid driving back and forth at night after a long road trip.