Ratings based on 195 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 24, 2017
Great hotel! very cosy in cold Amherst! ans very near to UMass and Amherst College
3 out of 5

Posted Dec 13, 2017 on Hotels
The person working the desk was very nice. The room was clean and very good sized. The thermostat in the room did not work. It read 62 degrees, but the actual temp was uncomfortably hot. Also, they did not keep the driveway into the hotel clean. It was snowing the day we stayed. The driveway is very steep, and it was slippery. We had trouble getting up it -- an we are New Englanders, so not phased by snow & ice. They should have plowed more often.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Everett

Loud people staying next door

Posted Dec 6, 2017
I stayed here just for one night. I came back to my room around 11:45pm and there were people outside staying next door to my room. They were outside talking all night. I tried to call the front desk at the after hours number that was listed right on the phone and no one picked up. I stepped out of my room twice to ask them nicely to quiet down and they continue to sit right outside my door talking all night until about 2:30am! I complained to the front desk at checkout the next morning only to find out the after hours number is on the door, not the phone. Good place for it!! Besides no sleep, the hotel itself was ok. It’s not updated and it’s a little run down but for one inexpensive night, I’ll put up with it.
4 out of 5
by John

Great Location

Posted Nov 20, 2017 on Hotels
Great location very quiet - so few rentals the the 3 Days I was there - students left for Thanksgiving Break - That was Friday through Sunday before Thanksgiving Break. Only disappointment during stay was no manager on duty in lobby 8:00pm till 7:00 am during overnight hours.
3 out of 5
by Norman

Expensive and Old

Posted Nov 13, 2017 on Hotels
Close to Concert af Amherst is the only reason I would stay there again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 10, 2017 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by Jeanne

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 2, 2017 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston

feeling sleep-deprived and slightly ripped off

Posted Oct 30, 2017
Pros: Close to the UMass campus and downtown area
Cons: The room is NOT worth $180 night. I don't know how that building could be made less noisy short of tearing the whole thing down.
The first thing I thought when I saw my room was, "how is this $180/night??" I was late booking a room for a conference at UMass, and University Lodge was close and available, so that's where I stayed, and now I'm feeling super ripped off. The room itself is clean, but shabby. Then the building is SO flimsy - I don't know if there really were 20 frat boys staying in the room above me, but it sounded like it, as I could hear and feel all their stomping, voices, tv - having a pretty broken sleep as a result. If you can get a room here for like $60/night, it would be a reasonable deal (do NOT stay on the lower level - you don't want anyone above you), but seriously, if you can find someplace else to stay, do it.
4 out of 5
by Eric

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 27, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Attleboro,MA

Posted Oct 17, 2017
Very nice 5 minute walk through the park into Amherst.The location is excellent. The UMass campus is 10 minute walk in the opposite direction..Clean comfotable room...cable..comfy bed..what more could you want!