Ratings based on 156 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston

Great price and location but shaky condition.

Posted Oct 20, 2016
Location: Convenience to UMass and downtown Amherst was excellent. I believe only the campus hotel is closer. We often use that but it was all booked.
We knew it was an older motel but we were attracted by a very low weeknight price and proximity to UMass campus (.6 mile). We read the mixed reviews but figured it would be ok for one night. We were also encouraged because the hotel group that owns it also owns some others that have been fine. Found it to be very musty smelling right away. Upon opening windows there were dead bugs and lots of grime in the sill between the window and screen. Otherwise the unit was basically clean although baseboards and woodwork were banged up in places. My wife turns down the bed and there was a living flea on the sheet. She's totally grossed out at this point. Just one night. We can do it. I was awakened at 1:30 am by an ant crawling up my arm. We asked for 1st floor for convenience, not heeding the warning in an earlier review about the noise from above. We should have listened as we heard every footstep, door, and drawer from above. We also ignored the fact that it is a pet friendly motel. Our bad - won't happen again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston

Called 90min before checkin to say they overbooked

Posted Sep 19, 2016
We were told by the hotel that we could leave our car in the lot around 11:30 am, when we headed out to the downtown area, which would be followed by the football game. They knew we would not return until late and told us how we could do a late check in. A few hours later they called us and informed us that they had "overbooked" and someone had to move to a hotel further away, no longer in walking distance. We reminded them that we left our car and had no plans of driving anywhere that day, and soon had the football game to attend. They told us that we "might not have a room" if we didn't switch. A while later when we called back they stated they had found someone "reasonable enough" to take this room in the other hotel. Not sure if this is something this hotel pulls a lot, but I don't understand how reservations can be made for more rooms than are available. It created a lot of unneccesay worry and frustration on a day when we were on vacation and trying to relax.
4 out of 5
by Carolyn from CT

No frills comfort

Posted Jul 23, 2016 on Hotels
No frills, but comfortable and affordable near three college campuses.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 19, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia

Budget lodge near UMass Amherst

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Pros: Good value, clean. Very welcoming atmosphere.
Cons: AC was noisy and had to run all the time. A second chair in the room would be helpful.
Location: Walking distance to both UMass campus and Amherst center.
A small and relatively basic facility, but well maintained and very clean. The room and bathroom are quite standard. The bed was firm and all the plumbing worked as expected. One downside is a noisy air conditioning, which we had to keep on all night. Even though the room is equipped with a thermostat, it did not seem to be connected to the AC unit. Overall, a good value for the money we paid. The property is within walking distance from the UMass campus, which is what we needed. We felt very welcomed. This is our second stay at this property, and we are very likely to stay here again next year.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Close to Umass

Posted Jul 13, 2016
Pros: The comfortable beds, the clean sheets, the refrigerator, coffee maker, cleaning service, toiletries, clean towels, cool AC, Wi-Fi,
Cons: The rugs need to be replaced to maybe laminate, it has a very small tub/shower.
Location: Many places to eat, it is close to shops and mall.
The hotel was nice. It isn't your 4 star or 5 star hotel. It is a comforting and adequate place to stay if your looking for a place by the University. The rugs needed to be replaced - it seemed a little grimy. The staff wasn't always in the office. But overall, it was very pleasant.
4 out of 5
by elizabeth

Posted Jul 5, 2016 on Hotels
Great access to University and town. Difficult to check in as there waws no one there for quite some time.
3 out of 5
by Eric from Whitman, MA

Hotel Stay for Seminar at UMASS-Amherst

Posted Jun 22, 2016 on Hotels
I was attending a seminar at UMASS-Amherst and this hotel was very close to campus. It was much less expensive than the hotel right on the campus. I read some of the other reviews and I didn't see or feel the presence of bed bugs. The room had a small refrigerator to keep drinks cold which was great. I wasn't in the room all that much. Its a short all away from UMASS-Amherst and the downtown Amherst area. There is nothing else much around though. The staff person (a male) was interesting.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 14, 2016 on Hotels
Pleasant workers but the lodge needs a bit of TLC. The room needed updating. The carpet was stained and grungy, the refrigerator was loud, the toilet ran (every time you flushed you had to lift the back off to make sure the flapper was closed), outlet cover was broken, the holes in wall were spackled but not painted, cobwebs outside the door, bathroom light flickered. The bedding and towels were clean. Quiet atmosphere. For the price we paid for the room, I expected better.
5 out of 5
by John

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 1, 2016 on Hotels