Ratings based on 43 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by m from united kingdom

Bad Hotel

Posted Aug 27, 2016 on Hotels
the hotel is not very nice. we can call it as one star. plus they over charged us about £10 more as the hotels.com promised us when we booked it
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from k

Unprofessional front desk

Posted Jul 26, 2016
Front desk was very impolite and would not let us leave until we had paid twice. I had to call my credit card company to get a refund.
2 out of 5
by Robert from Dallas, TX

Desperately needs renovations

Posted Feb 12, 2016 on Hotels
Windows didn't close, heater did not work well, water came in through ceiling and around windows. Location is great.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good value for the money

Posted Sep 27, 2015
Cons: I would suggest the hotel to improve quality of linens, pillows and blankets.
Pros: Location, affordable price, and friendly staff Cons: Poor quality of linens and pillows. Hotel is well located but it is aged. There is a contrast between the quality of linens and pillows (usually important for every hotel) and the technology for lights. The hotel offers you a remote control for illumination, but it doesn't show too much appreciation about linens, blankets and pillows. Suites offer kitchenette with appliances that could be useful for longer stays. During my visit, the elevator was down and there was no WIFI signal at all in my room. Staff was really friendly from check-in and during check-out. Buffet breakfast was fair based on what you pay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ednonton

Posted Sep 13, 2015
Location: it is with a walk distance from many restaurants in Amman
The staff there looking likely you knew theme , they are doing all your recommendation, the hotel Nice, clean and comfort
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Great Stay for budget hotel, I would stay again

Posted Aug 23, 2015
Pros: Room size, Bed. Pillows, cleanness, great staff, atmosphere, fast and affordable laundry service
Cons: breakfast could have better options
Location: close to everythink within walking distance of um Uthaina, seifiah, 5th circle and 6th circle Taxis are available at the hotel door,
Staff are very friendly and dedicated, the room was renovated very comfortable bed and great service
5 out of 5
by Franklin from Portland

vacation

Posted Apr 9, 2015 on Hotels
It was excellent
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from American living in Bangkok, Thailand

A bit of Venice in Amman, Jordan

Posted Mar 18, 2015
Pros: I liked the uniqueness of and the friendliness at the Gondola Hotel. It is rare to find this in any hotel in the world today.
Cons: This is not a complaint, but they could re-evaluate their ties to the present "tour company" they use. Improvements could be made.
Location: Nestled between the Sheraton and the Four Seasons Hotels, the Gondola Hotel is within the "5th Circle" as the area is known. Taxis are easy to hail.
Staying at the Gondola Hotel in Amman is like staying on the Grand Canal in Venice. When you look out a window in the lobby, one would almost expect to see a gondola floating by on a canal. The wife of the owner, Mr. Basel, has decorated the apartments and public rooms in the colors and style of a well-to-do Victorian, Venetian home owner. Deep reds and blue predominate with accents in white, the likely colors of the wife of an ancient Doge of Venice. Yet, with all the Venetian trappings, there are some paintings and other artifacts of Arab life, making for a perfect marriage of cultures. When one stays at a usual hotel, seldom does one mix with the staff. Here at the Gondola Hotel, however, it is simply a natural inter-action. I chatted often with Maher, the daytime Desk Clerk and I chatted for hours with Kamal, the nighttime Desk Clerk; my conversations with him made possible by the quieter evening hours. Though Kamal and I did not solve the problems of the world in those conversations, we did come up with many "What if?" possibilities. I learned of Maher and Kamal's friends, family, life and goals and they learned of where my 85 years have taken me. To me, they seemed more like friendly neighbors than staff at a hotel. Indeed, when Maher learned that I lost my cell phone in a taxi in Dubai, he brought in his camera for me to use to take pictures at Petra, one of the Wonders of the Modern World. As a result, we have now become e-mail "buddies". How rare!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 16, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ok

Posted Feb 16, 2015 on Hotels
Ok