Ratings based on 9 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Hospitality second to none!

Posted Aug 16, 2016
Pros: We liked the mix of traditional Greek hospitality combined with the modern amenities but most of all the care that the staff offered to their guests.
This is a lovely family run hotel that is set in a beautiful and tranquil village. The welcome on arrival was second to none and the staff are keen to help and offer any local knowledge about accessing coves and location of the excellent nearby tavernas. Everything is spotless, breakfasts are simple and delicious, a truly relaxing experience.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nantes

situation exceptionnelle, hôtel bien équipée.

Posted Aug 5, 2015
Situation exceptionnelle, pour cet hôtel perché au sommet d'une crête rocheuse, avec vue sur la mer des deux côtés ainsi que sur le port plusieurs centaines de mètres en contrebas. L'hôtel répartis en trois bâtiments à l'architecture typiquement Grec s'intègre merveilleusement au cœur de ce petit village magnifique et traditionnel, qui révèle le soir une animation assez inattendue (le village). Les chambres sont très confortables, spacieuses et bien équipées et offrent à minima un balcon voir une jolie terrasse. Sachant que nous y étions allés 5 ans plus tôt, nous avons eu la bonne surprise de trouver une salle de bain flambant neuve refaite avec des matériaux de qualité et beaucoup de goût. Le seul reproche concerne le look rococo du mobilier en bois marron, qui dénote avec la qualité architecturale de l'ensemble et n'est pas à la hauteur de ce qu'on attend d'un hôtel de ce standing. Malgré cela, je recommande vivement cet établissement très confortable, aussi charmant que le site où il est implanté est bleufant.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oslo

Charming hotel in stunning location

Posted Jul 26, 2015
We stayed for eight days in this wonderful, family run establishment. It is beautifully placed, overlooking both the Aegilali bay to the South-West and the sunset of the North-West. The staff is very friendly and the room was in fine condition. The hotel has everything you need and a very welcoming atmosphere. And the town of Tholario, with its traditional feel and stunning landscapes, makes this a better option than the busier spots down by the beach or in Katapola. Highly recommended.
5 out of 5
by Anders from Kvänum

Best hotell so far

Posted Jul 12, 2015 on Hotels
Mycket bra hotell, utärkt service, egen restaurang med bra & prisvärt utbud, mycket bra service alla tider, fin & lugn by
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Salem Oregon USA

Perfect vacation for us

Posted Sep 23, 2014
We stayed at ghe Vigla Hotel for15 days and loved every minute. The family and staff were always very friendly and courtesy to us. Our rooms were cleaned perfectly every day. The food was wonderful we do not have even one complaint. We will miss them. We will look forward to our next trip.
3 out of 5
by Jean from Paris

Ausgezeichneter Familienbetrieb

Posted Sep 1, 2013
Pros: Familiäre Atmosphäre, sehr engagiertes, freundliches Personal, ausgezeichnete Küche, regionalen Produkte frisch aus dem eigenem Garten, sehr sauber!
Cons: Bautechnisch eine kleine Katastrophe: die Zimmer sind schalltechnisch nicht entkoppelt, jedes Sanitärgeräusch, jedes Gespräch wird wahrgenommen.
Location: Bergregion, zu Fuß 30min, mit dem Bus/Auto 10min zum Hafen/Strand, Wanderungen durch die Berglandschaft und zu den Buchten.
Positiv: bei Ankunft wird sofort der familiäre Charakter durch persönliche Begrüßung deutlich, welcher sich während des gesamten Aufenthaltes noch verstärkte. Sämtliche Wünsche, denn erfüllbar, wurden umgehend umgesetzt. Die Küche, der zentrale Ort dieses Hotels, ist von früh bis spät durch Familienangehörige sämtlicher Alterstufen besetzt und es wird wie selbstverständlich davon ausgegangen diesen Ort auch zu besichtigen! Hier sind 5 Sterne angebracht. Negativ: die Zimmer sind unterdurchschnittlich ausgestattet, einfach, landestypisch, aber alles minderer Qualität. Der Kühlschrank muss nachts abgeschaltet werden, um überhaupt schlafen zu können. Das gilt auch für die Baukonstruktion; man lebt, obwohl Betontrennwände vorhanden, mit den Nachbarn "zusammen"; da keine Schalldämmung vorhanden! Sehr angenehm bei Familien mit Kindern :-)! Auch sind die Wasserleitungen allesamt nicht isoliert! Sämtliche Geräusche, auch der entfernten Zimmer, werden akustisch wahrgenommen, da das Rohrsystem nicht entkoppelt ist und eine Wasserspülung bis zu 10min "nachlaufen" kann. Ferner fehlen an den Holzeingangstüren die Gummidichtungen; alle "Bewegungen" der anderen Gäste sind zu hören. Die Lage ist nicht als ruhig zu bezeichnen, da das Hotel mit der Hälfte der Zimmer zum Dorfplatz ausgerichtet ist. Hier hält der Bus und alle Kfz/Zweiräder ebenso. Am Hotel ist der EINZIGE Zugang in das Bergdorf, alle Bewohner/Besucher müssen hier vorbei. Fazit: für Ruhesuchende nicht geeignet, gut für Abenteurer!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Extremly calm

Posted Jul 23, 2013 on Hotels
This Hotel is 3 km up in the mountains from the Beach. The village is really small, so you have few options. If you want a little bit more options, you should consider staying in aegialis which is the village by the beach. We went there during high seasons, and the room we got was very poor value for money. The bathroom was small and old, and maybe the smallest shower ever. The room in general was quite out of date, and not worth the price, more than 90 euros.
2 out of 5
by Christian from Savoie

Décevant

Posted Jul 21, 2013
Pros: Situation
Cons: Qualité du personnel
Location: Dans un village
Chambres triples exiguës Promiscuité: nos chambres étaient visibles de la rue principale du village Sanitaires en mauvais état de fonctionnement Personnel parfois irascible Prix élevé des diners
5 out of 5
by Sebastien from Canada

Wonderful view

Posted Jul 4, 2013 on Hotels
What a view you'll get when you wake up in the morning ! Located in a small village (Tholaria) up in the mountains near Aegealis beach/port, it's a great hotel for your stay on Amorgos. Service was simply amazing, everybody was very helpful and thoughtful. Lovely people working there !