Ratings based on 353 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

Ideally situated to access lots of attractions.

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Pros: Everything.
Cons: Perhaps some drawers in the wardrobe space.
Location: There is a lovely restaurant around the corner called Castillo for delicious mojhitos, steak and tapas. The floating flower market is very colourful.
We stayed here in January (tip take lots of warm clothes, warm boots as it is blinking freezing and even snowed!) The staff are very attentive and friendly and the decor is nice. We walked to most places from the hotel including the Heineken experience which is worth a visit and De Carrousel - a pancake restaurant on the site of an old carousel, where we had breakfast. We had drinks next to the fire in the hotel reception before bed and a good chat with friendly barman Taco. All in all, we were very pleased with our hotel choice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Jerusalem, Israel

Lovely, stylish hotel in a great location

Posted Dec 14, 2016
The staff at the Albus is kind, helpful and very professional. The location couldn't be better (except for the fact that the street is noisy at 4 am). Room, breakfast - all great. I highly recommend!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from U.K.

Such a friendly hotel in a great location.

Posted Dec 7, 2016
Staff were so helpful. Gave us a free upgrade for my husband's birthday. Location was ideal for visiting main sights.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Inverness

Lovely hotel in city centre

Posted Dec 5, 2016
This is a very clean modern hotel in the centre of Amsterdam. Staff very helpful. Will definitely return to The Albus.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Worcestershire

Excellent location

Posted Oct 12, 2016
Location: We walked to all the attractions. A 10-15 stroll would take to to Dam square and then the area by central station. The 3 horseshoes canal are on your
This hotel is in great location. We walked everywhere from here. Restaurants and snack bars are in abundance within. 2 streets. The service from the staff was wonderful. Nothing seemed to much trouble. The room was a good size, we didn't feel we were in shoe box sized room. Fab bathroom with a heated floor. With the room bring on the front of the building if you opened the windows then it was noisy. We dined in senses the first night and were unprepared for the style of the restaurant. You only chose the number of courses then the food is brought to you. The food decorates the plate but it was incredible, although not cheap. 3 courses and a bottle of wine for two was €10.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Too much street noise

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Pros: Staff, nice clean,modern room
Cons: Air conditioning would have been nice. Something to reduce the noise from the street would be great.
The hotel is conveniently located for sightseeing and transit. Staff is very helpful and knowledgeable. The rooms are not air conditioned and even though a fan is provided, we couldn't open the windows to get fresh night air to circulate because the street noise is unbearable. We hardly slept for 3 nights. Maybe more soundproof windows/walls would help. Our room faced the street but I can't imagine that a rear-facing room 20 feet away wouldn't suffer from the noise as well.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from nz

central to almost all attractions

Posted Sep 7, 2016
The staff here were so friendly and helpful. Nothing was a bother and went out of there way to make us welcome.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Birmingham

Lovely hotel - no air conditioning

Posted Aug 30, 2016
The Albus is a super hotel, very tastefully designed with fantastic staff. The only downside, and it was a big one is that there is no air conditioning and we happened to arrive in late August - our room on the fourth floor was terribly oppressive and hot and sleeping was difficult. They did provide fans which helped a little. It would probably be fine in Winter!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cheshire

Perfect hotel in a central location

Posted Aug 30, 2016
Pros: Lots of good things as mentioned in the 'experience' section
Cons: Only criticism was there was no air conditioning and although there was a fan in the room it just circulated more warm air - was bearable though.
Location: Located by the Flower Market and just behind Rembrantplein - lots of restaurants nearby and on a tram link (number 16).
Weekend away with my daughter for my 50th. We arrived earlier than the check in time on Friday to find our room was ready for us (great news) and we were put in a quiet room as requested. Very central location and easy to find on the tram from central station. Room was very spacious with safe deposit box, espresso coffee machine, hairdryer and toiletries provided. Provided a great location for getting out and about and lots of nice restaurants within walking distance (good Indian just round the corner!). Check in was great - lady offered to put together a visitors guide for us if we were stuck with what to see, provided a map with good places to eat and visit and offered to help if we got stuck with anything. Slight rain shower on Sunday morning and free rain ponchos were provided at reception.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from G.Y Israel

G. Y excellent hotel good location best service

Posted Aug 24, 2016
Been in the hotel for one night best service from the chake in antil the check out Really recommend hotel a±++++++++++++++++++