Ratings based on 122 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Phila PA

Nice Cozy Hotel in Canal District

Posted Dec 31, 2016
Pros: Staff, Coziness. Location.
Location: In the midst of all the attractions.
It is well located in the midst of the Canal District and a short walk to most the attraction. The staff is wonderful - sincere and helpful. The Brasserie serves a nice breakfast. Rooms are well decorated and clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from B

One of the nicest hotel experiences I've ever had

Posted Dec 3, 2016
I stayed for 4 days on business travel and I was amazed at the beauty of his hotel and this city. There was a light display along the canal in front of the hotel that lit up at night. Overall, it felt like home and I really enjoyed my stay because of this hotel. Truly a gem.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from PDX OR

A quick stay

Posted Nov 15, 2016
Pros: LOVED the coziness with a nice chic vibe! We were there just for a quick overnight between flights and would be delighted to spend more time walking the neighborhood and sitting in the inviting lounge areas. Liked the quiet and view of the canal. Restaurant was really good, with great service.
Cons: Had to lug heavy suitcases down a few stairs to get into the lobby. But the staff helped carry them up in the morning to our taxi. There is an elevator inside the hotel. (Small complaint, I know!)
Location: Got in too late to walk the neighborhood. Allow time for being stuck behind delivery trucks unloading when heading to the airport.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Great experience

Posted Oct 13, 2016
Location: The museums and shops
The gal at reception was a special benefit as was the wait staff. It has the best location possible in old Amsterdam. We will return
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Wonderful location in the middle of the Canal zone

Posted Sep 30, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Provide some white noise machines for the rooms
Location: Very close to Anne Frank museum. Lots of cool cafes and bars nearby.
The staff at Ambassade were very professional and friendly. The place is somewhat cramped, as is common with this area. Didn't like the bar noise across the canal from our room; I guess that is part of being in the city, but would recommend getting an interior room if you choose to stay here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Campbellford Ontario Canada

Beautiful Hotel on the Canal

Posted Sep 24, 2016
The staff were wonderful. Our room was quite spacious with a lovely view of the Herengracht canal. The service and food in the restaurant for both breakfast and dinner was excellent. Just wish we had more time to spend here. A wonderful experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 24, 2016
Beautiful room. Would have liked to have coffee making facilities in the room. Staff really pleasant, position very good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Centrally located gem of a hotel

Posted Sep 19, 2016
The Ambassade is a wonderfully situated hotel for visiting all the major sights, usually by walking. The staff was wonderful and helpful in all matters.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Portland OR

A "Find" for Us in Amsterdam

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Pros: See above
Cons: Install a sunscreen for the windows, or awnings to be deployed in the late afternoon, and then retracted as soon as the sun stopped being
Location: Five minutes to a tram stop, to anywhere in the city. Canal Museum; Anne Frank House. Brasserie Ambassade in-house; Lucius seafood rest. nearby.
First impression: a charming facility; superb hotel staff; convenient location. We went on to discover a pleasant canal-view room, adequate "period-like" furnishings, comfortable bed, very new bathroom fixtures, surfaces, lighting. Narrow stairway and small treads but an elevator was convenient and closer to our room than the stairs. Five stories (I believe; we were on the "First" floor, one level above the lobby.) Excellent French restaurant for dinner; doubles as the venue for full breakfasts with buffet options. DR staff matched the hotel staff personnel, and they doubled in some hotel staff duties, too. The single drawback during our three-night stay was that late afternoon sun warmed our room beyond the capacity of the central AC to keep up; we had to pull our curtains - temporarily giving up our view of the canal! - to keep the room comfortable. But, just imagine that - that a drawback was the effect of sunny afternoons!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland

Exquisite

Posted Jul 23, 2016
Fantastic location, great staff, lovely rooms, beautiful food. Just awesome!