Ratings based on 385 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

If You Need A Place To Sleep While In Amsterdam.

Posted Apr 17, 2017
We needed a place to stay while in route to Germany, so we stayed a night. The room was small and dated and the lighting was interesting. The bathroom is RV or caravan type of bathroom and breakfast was served on a adjacent ship across the street. The people at the desk were wonderful and really sold what was really a non-luxurious hotel. This place is at best a 2.5 star hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto , On

For the novelty of staying on a boat in Amsterdam.

Posted Apr 2, 2017
Pros: Convenient boat to the central station. Pillows were rather comfy.
Cons: Staff could be nicer and more helpful.
My partner loved this place, I on the other hand did not. So this has been tempered to reflect both of our opinions. Upside: For the price, it was great value. Clean private room and bathroom. Good hot water and water pressure. Very close to central Amsterdam, albeit via ferry, that runs every 30 min on off peak times, & every 15 on peak times. Bar boat was very elegant and relaxing. Downside: Major renovations meant the bar and restaurant were in a boat docked on the other side of the pier, and reception was makeshift behind the old bar. We believed we had booked a double room as that was what was advertised. They advertise both double beds and 2 separate single beds as a double room. (We booked the former, they gave us they later, and then said it was my fault for booking too late, which had been 1 1/2 weeks prior, we later met a couple that had booked the 2 singles but got a double instead.) The front desk staff were rude. They didn't want to be there, didn't want you to annoy them, and seemed like they couldn't care less about the guests or their questions, no recommendations to give when asked. Finally the room keys. They just would not work. They had to reprogram the keys daily as they expired every 24 hours. This happened to many other guests we met.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel near resurants

Posted Apr 2, 2017
This was a very fun experience! I only stayed one night, this was mostly just a place to sleepy for me. The staff was very friendly and nice and had a good sense of humor. The rooms are very small, like a boat. This wasn't a problem for me considering I was just passing through. The bathrooms are very small, just enough room for one person. The bed were very comfortable and we had a window view of the water. In the morning there is a breakfast buffet that is £12.00. It was a bit disappointing. Given I am vegan and my friend is vegetarian, neither of us had many options so we chose to get something elsewhere. I think they need to add more fruit to their breakfast! Overall this was a pleasant stay! I'd book again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great stay

Posted Mar 18, 2017
Would recommend to stay here, easy taxI ferry across to centre. We liked this because you could escape from all kios, and it was very relaxed in port. Would definitely stay here again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Botel Amsterdam

Posted Feb 5, 2017
Pros: Location and price.
Cons: Breakfast was a bit crowded.
Location: Ideal location, located next to the free ferry boat dock, which crosses to the Central Train Station.
The hotel is located next to the free ferry boat dock. A ferry boat leaves about every 30 minutes and crosses over to the Central Train Station. This makes the hotel ideal for location. The rooms are small but clean. The breakfast was good. The price is unbeatable for Amsterdam, so I will return to the Botel on my next trip.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

So this is what cruising must be like

Posted Dec 24, 2016
Never been on a cruise ship before but now I have an idea bec of my stay at this hotel. Room was small, so was the toilet, but it worked just right for me. Walls were thin though - I could hear someone snoring the entire night. Buffet breakfast was perfect since there were no restaurants nearby. I didn't realize that the location was in a quiet area until after I stayed at my next hotel, where you can hear every cyclist passing by.
5 out of 5
by Andrew

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 21, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 12, 2016 on Hotels
Good being close to ferry. Not much going on in bar but it is quiet season.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Budget but great harbour views

Posted Dec 11, 2016
Budget botel situated across the harbour from Amsterdam Central station. Room small but clean and comfortable. Breakfast adequate. Free ferry across to the city every half hour so good access to the sights and it made the stay a bit different. Great Indo Asian restaurant in nearby boat.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent Value For Money and Location

Posted Dec 10, 2016 on Hotels
Botel staff friendly , good breakfast, excellent location only 10 mins from city centre, clean room serviced every day, good heating, good view towards city, room safe, tv. Very clean bedding. You can book discount trips from reception for all city sights and museums, free maps and guides for area, 24 hour reception. Good bar serving sandwiches burgers etc, beer 4 euro pint, pool table, coffee tea 1.50 euro. Only let down was shower in room could do with a new shower head and can get very HOT very quickly. Will stay again. EXCELLENT VALUE FOR MONEY