Ratings based on 271 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from willich

war ein super schöner aufenthalt...empfehlenswert

Posted Jul 17, 2016
das botel ist was besonderes...werden auf jeden fall nochmal dort einchecken tolle ausflüge nach amsterdam gemacht die grachtenfahrten sind wunderschön und echt viele sehenswürdigkeiten die man besuchen muss. leider war die zeit an bord und in amsterdam viel zu kurz. kommen gerne wieder
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from M T

Hôtel agréable à tous points de vue.

Posted Jul 14, 2016
Bonne relation qualité-prix. Petit-déjeuner complet ( il ne manque qu'un fruit frais). Ambiance jeune et agréable pendant mon séjour.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Torino

LoveBoat!

Posted Jun 15, 2016
Bella nave da crociera riadattata ad hotel. Particolare e romantica, comoda ai servizi in quanto anche se si trova appena fuori dal centro c' è un traghetto gratuito che fa la spola in continuazione per portarvi in città. Consiglio le camere a tema situate nelle enormi lettere del nome.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from South England

Well positioned away from business of city

Posted Jun 11, 2016
Pros: Very handy for the city center without being in the bustle of the city. Easy access from the central station. good breakfast and room cleaned daily.
Cons: The shower room is very small so a curtained off private area when sharing a room would be useful.
Location: the Maritime museum is worth a visit.
it was surprisingly easy to find the Botel using the blue and white ferries immediately behind the Central Station and it made the holiday feel a bit more of an adventure. Just be careful not to stand right at the front of the ferry- you might get wet! the staff were welcoming and spoke English. the room was clean and beds were comfortable. We stayed in a three bunk room which I was anxious might be cramped,but it was perfectly adequate with good views across the water. The breakfast was well organised and plentiful each morning. there is a small supermarket nearby which is handy for drinks and items for lunch.there are a few eating places on this side of the river if you do not want to cross back into the main part of the city, however travelling on the ferries was easy, quick and free. Considering that hotels within the main Amsterdam canal area are quite expensive the Botel is an affordable option that is close by.some might consider it relatively basic, but if you are looking for not too expensive bed & breakfast whilst visiting the city it's a good choice. we had noise from a local bar on only one evening but it stopped just before midnight, I would expect many city centre hotels to also be noisy. In the night we could hear the people in the next room talking,but we still slept well. the room was cleaned each day and towels were fresh each day.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

a great base

Posted Jun 7, 2016
Pros: The staff were so friendly and it was clean.
Cons: Nothing!
Location: Free ferry to central station from which you have access to pulic transport and walking distance to city centre. Regular trams to art galleries.
We were made very welcome at the Botel by all of the staff we encountered. The room was very clean and serviced everyday. the shower was on the small side BUT we went to see Amsterdam not the shower. Breakfast was very good, plenty of choice. The ferry from just along from the Botel was free and ran regularly to central station with links then to the trams and metro. This is a great base from which to see the city if you are o a limited budget. It was a very positive part of our trip.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ausreichendes Hotel für Städtereisen

Posted Jun 7, 2016
Das ist Hotel ist ideal für eine Städtereise nach Amsterdam. Nur mit der Fähre fahren und dann ist man schon im Zentrum. Hotelzimmer ausreichend. Leider waren nicht so viel Ablage Möglichkeiten vorhanden. Frühstück war auch ok. Man ist satt geworden. Personal war immer freundlich und hilfsbereit.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Quirky place for low budget travelers.

Posted Jun 4, 2016
Pros: Staying on a boat was novel, and the ferry rides to and from the Botel were fun. Breakfast was good and the view from the bar/cafe was nice.
Cons: The pillows are awful (old, lumpy), and some basic hotel bath products (even just soap!) are sorely needed.
Location: It's not the most convenient location, but ferries run to the city center frequently during the day, making walking or biking around very easy.
Overall this place was fine. The room was small and very simple, as expected, but there were even fewer amenities than I had imagined. For example, there wasn't even bar soap in the bathroom. Breakfast was adequate. Staff were a little gruff but okay overall. Getting to the hotel late at night was a major pain. I even emailed in advance for more specific information about taking the ferry and shuttle, but I was only provided the basic info already available on the website. After I took the ferry, I had no idea how to get to the shuttle, and ended up having to call the hotel. When the shuttle finally came, it was an unmarked white van and I had to approach the driver and ask if he was going to Amstel Botel. Other guests who got on the shuttle after me seemed equally confused. Transportation during the day was much easier. I would recommend this place, but only after encouraging travelers to arrive with low expectations.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nersingen, Bayern

Tolle Lage aber veraltete Ausstattung

Posted May 31, 2016
Das hat eine tolle Lage mit guter u d kostenloser Fährverbindung zur Innenstadt. Die Ausstattung des Botel ist aber veraltet und dringend renovierungsbeduerftig. Das Frühstück hat nicht mal Jugendherbergsniveau und ist sehr überschaubar sowie qualitativ unterstes Niveau. Betten sind unbequem aufgrund sehr schlechter Matratzen.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from bayern

Sauber, harte Matratzen, günstig

Posted May 29, 2016
Drei Nächte waren wir zu zweit im Doppelzimmer. Amstel Botel war zu der Zeit im Mai das günstigste. Das Personal war nett, die Matratzen waren steinhart, wir hatten ab der ersten Nacht Rückenschmerzen. Sauber war es allerdings schon. Die Größe des Zimmers war normal und die Dusche sehr klein, der Fernseher auch. Möbel etwas veraltet und herunter gekommen. Mit der kostenlosen Fähre kommt man super zurecht und ist immer sofort im Zentrum. Gefrühstückt sowie die Bar benutzt haben wir nicht. Würde es aufgrund des Preises weiterempfehlen, aber wegen der Matratzen eher etwas anderes bevorzugen.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel in ruhiger Lage.

Posted May 17, 2016
Pros: Die ruihge Lage. Wir hatten einen tollen Schlaf!
Cons: Das Frühstück reichhaltiger gestalten. Ein wenig Obst wäre toll. Neben den gekochten Eiern gerne ein Rüheei anbieten. Etwas Musik an der Bar...
Location: In der Nähe des Hauptbahnhofes. Man kann in der Nähe gut essen und etwas trinken gehen. Tolle maritime Athmosphäre.
Hotel in ruhiger Lage… Mit der kostenlosen, öffentlichen Fähre vom Hauptbahnhof hat man gleich einen kleinen Eindruck von der Hafen- und Grachtenstadt. :-) Man landet direkt am Pier des Botels und ist von dort aus in 2 min an Bord. Das Personal empfängt freundlich und gibt gerne angefragte Informationen. Der erste, schöne Eindruck der Möbelausstattung der Flure und Gänge spiegelt sich leider nicht in den Zimmern wieder: 90er Jahre Stil eines ETAP- Hotels in unschönen Hellblau. Zimmer an sich sauber, aber sehr klein (es gibt übrigens keine Klobürste...). Reicht zum schlafen. ;-) Frühstück: Sehr wenig Auswahl und bestückt mit dem günstigsten, was aus einem Billigdiscounter zu haben ist. Kein Obst, nur ein wenig Rohkostsalat, Instantkaffee aus der Maschine... Am Pier befinden sich ein paar schöne Restaurants und Bars (teilweise mit Rabatt für Botel- Gäste). Natürlich bekommt man auch im Botel an der Bar einen Absacker. Musik kommt aus eine CD- Jukebox. Man muss nur alle 2 min aufstehen und einen Knopf drücken. Nichts mit Palylist... ;-) Fahrräder: Können im Botel ausgeliehen werden. Ich finde es jedoch lebensgefährlich in Amsterdam Fahrrad zu fahren... Ihr werdet es erleben. ;-) Fazit: Ein Zimmer mit Frühstück zum günstigen Preis (für Amsterdamer Verhältnisse). Für einen Kurztrip geeignet, mehr Zeit sollte man in dem Botel nicht verbringen... Personal ist sehr nett und man darf sich willkommen fühlen!