Ratings based on 91 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The steep side of Amsterdam

Posted Jul 18, 2016 on Hotels
Great stay. Great place. Great location. Very, very steep stairs, and a 3rd story walk up, so not appropriate with very large bags or for older guests.
4 out of 5
by Paula from Switzerland

Very comfy room, away from the crowds

Posted Jun 23, 2016 on Hotels
We booked the honeymoon suite, and it was wonderful! Huge soaking tub, rain shower, heavenly soft bed. Small balcony with seating for two, overlooking one of the canals. It is a bit of a walk to the nearest tram stop. If you want to be away from the touristy areas, as we did, then this is an excellent choice. It is more of a B&B than a hotel, as it has only 4 rooms! Our host emailed us shortly after our booking, with his contact information and a request to keep in touch for check-in. You can not just show up, as this is not a full-service hotel. Our host let us know this up front, and we were warmly welcomed and offered a nice bottle of champagne. It was a fantastic 3 day weekend in Amsterdam, and I highly recommend this hotel if you want peace and quiet. If you want to be where the action is, you may want to choose another hotel closer to the desired neighborhood. This one was kind of in between, which allowed us to go one direction to the Red Light district (once was enough!) or another to get to the shops and restaurants we were looking for.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Excellent location, walkable to all major museums

Posted Jun 2, 2016
Our room had a lovely view over nice gardens at the back. Room was quiet and light. Very nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Lovely hotel, excellent location

Posted Dec 28, 2015
Lovely hotel, excellent location. Traditional Dutch canal house, pretty location and easy access to Albert Kypp market, Waterlooplein and Rembrantplein. Room was huge, excellent bathroom, small balcony overlooking the canal. Lots of steep stairs but that's Amsterdam. Tea and coffee stuff in the room and a fridge and microwave.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from belfast

Stunningly luxurious

Posted Nov 15, 2015
An absolutely wonderful stay at Amstel Corner! The pictures do not do the honeymoon suite justice. I highly recommend this hotel based on views, location, cleanliness, luxury and finally genuinely friendly staff. Foko is a true gentleman. I would LOVE to have the chance to stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal, QC

Posted Nov 5, 2015
Pros: everything really.
Cons: Offer a voucher for returning customers. Why not center the two paintings on the wall?(as you can see this place doesn't require much improvement)
Location: Located on a quiet street facing a canal, close to metro/trams, 2.5km from centraal (35min nice and safe walk)
We very much appreciated our studio (Play Room) at Amstel Corner. -we requested and got 2 single beds (even though its easily reconfigured into 1 bed) -excellent location, with grocery store very close, in a safe area, and easy walk to centraal, red light, attractions -complete kitchen (fridge, microwave, stove, Nespresso+cups, cookware/dishes, etc) -studio was clean, high-tech(internet worked very well), felt safe(cameras in the hallways, proper lighting) -quiet and cozy and classy, very well designed and furnished. This particular studio doesn't have a balcony but that worked fine with us. -it`s true that the stairs are very steep, but take your time, there are two ramps, don't rush it and you'll do just fine, and well if you do trip, it's thick, nice, fluffy carpet, you may survive. -soundproofing was good! we could barely hear people in the corridor or next door, anyway there is only 2 rooms on this floor. -the staff also very positively contributed to our stay and was always so very kind and eager to help or suggest great things to see or do and they were not invasive at all.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fabolous hotel

Posted Nov 4, 2015
Pros: It was really cosy and overlooking the canal.
We stayed for 5 nights at Amstel Corner.The hotel overlooks Amstel canal. This hotel is amazing with various rooms. We had the Play Room and it was such a nice stay with everything you could possible need for a short break. It has a little kitchen area and Fokko provides a little coffee machine for you. There is an apple tv so if you have Netflix then you are definitely sorted! The bathroom is nice and a decent size. Finally Fokko the owner is absolutely lovely, he met us on arrival and made sure we were satisfied with everything and answered some questions about the area which really did help. We had a fantastic time and we are definitely going to be returning!!
4 out of 5
by Ricardo from Las Vegas

Charming!

Posted Sep 26, 2015 on Hotels
Everything amazing, very friendly Fokko. Watch the stairs and don't take to many or too large suitcases, the stairs are hard.
5 out of 5
by Theresa from Rota, Spain

One word... AMAZING! This is the place to stay!

Posted Sep 8, 2015 on Hotels
One word... AMAZING! This could not have been anymore perfect of a stay for our family of four, 2 adults and 2 children ages 10 and 7. We stayed for 4 nights in the family suite located at the top of the house. We flew in late and were accommodated by the hotel manager who was the most friendliest! She gave us advise, showed us everything in the room and around the area for ease of travel for our stay. The beds were super comfortable and waking up to a view of the canel each morning could not have been better. The suite also contained cook wear and kitchen items in case you feel like eating in from the wonderful fresh veges and fruits purchased from the outdoor market a few block away! The house is situated about 3 blocks from the metro and right behind the bus line. There is the best bakery/ pizza place "The Bakhus" that made the bread and pastries right in front of you! My kids loved it and the food was amazing! Our stay made our little vacation in Amsterdam amazing! Thank you so much and I wouldn't recommend another hotel to stay while in Amsterdam to enjoy the heart of the city but still maintain privacy and the separation of the hustle and bustle of constant tourists!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Lovely guesthouse close to the city

Posted Sep 6, 2015
A lovely stay at a lovely guesthouse. The room was clean and comfortable and its an easy tram ride to the city. The stairs though are very steep and if stairs are a problem for you then maybe this isn't the guesthouse for you. If not, then I recommend a stay here.