Ratings based on 728 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Essex

Posted Feb 18, 2017
Pros: Staff are extremely friendly and helpful. Nothing is too much trouble.
Cons: N/A
Location: Centre of Amsterdam, a five minute walk to the shops. Rembrandt and Ann Frank's houses 15 minute walk away and the famous red light district.
Hotel is in the centre of Amsterdam close to all amenities.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from O

Nice hotel very close to the city centre

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Overall good hotel but renovation works going on which meant disruption to vital service and utilities eg hot water. I was given some extras because I complained. I believe they should have offered this for the inconvenience and not expected me to ask
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from s

Great hotel highly recommend

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Had 3 family rooms for my 40th with a group of girls . Even though those rooms hadn't been renovated yet they was still spacious and clean . The staff was very helpful and attentive and the location was great .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Nice hotel with friendly helpful staff

Posted Jan 17, 2017
Pros: Staff were great, as was the food and the service.
Cons: Beds were uncomfortable, duvets were a bit thin and should have better bed linen.
Location: Location could be better, the immediate area is not as beautiful as the rest of the city. Easy access to the city with a short walk.
Decent hotel with friendly and helpful staff. Hotel food is very good with a simple menu and fair prices. Location is ok, being just on the outskirts of the main city. Room was comfortable and clean, but the views aren't great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA, USA

Great hotel, with great staff, in a great location

Posted Jan 13, 2017
Pros: The staff were terrific. They were welcoming, friendly, knowledgeable and approachable. Their positive attitudes made staying here very enjoyable.
Cons: My only suggestion is to add a piece of furniture in the hotel room for storage. Perhaps a small dresser under the clogs, for unpacked items.
Location: The location is terrific. The train stop is directly in front of the hotel. The museums are within walking distance, as is most of the city!
This is the first time we've stayed at this hotel and in this Amsterdam neighborhood. Check-in was efficient and our room was ready earlier than expected. The staff were professional, personable and polite. I think Michael checked us in. He was so helpful and patient when answering our many questions. We received a letter from the manager explaining the hotel construction. I especially appreciated this gesture. Only twice did we hear any construction noises and that's when we slept in late one day and returned early to our room another day. On the latter, we were able to take a nap, so the noise was minimal. The lobby was beautiful decorated for the holidays. The ground floor has an efficient layout, so it's easy to move around, as well as in and out of the hotel. Our room was terrific - I've included a few photos in this review. It was minimal in its decor and furnishings, which made it easy to use and enjoy. The bed was VERY comfortable and much too easy to take a midday nap! Housekeeping clearly takes pride in their job. Each day the room was restored and refreshed. Upon check-in, we added breakfast and the lounge to our stay, at a fantastic price. Alice greeted us warmly each morning for breakfast. The entire team was attentive and accommodating. If we didn't see it in the buffet, we ordered it! A buffet must is the mushrooms - so delicious. The lounge was a comfortable stop at the end of the day for a glass of wine and a 'chocomilk'. Thank you All for a wonderful stay!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Posted Jan 4, 2017
Hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. Very attentive and customer service oriented. They really cared to keep us happy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 3, 2017
Pros: Great location. Few blocks from major museums. Great breakfast and excellent staff.
Cons: Decor could improve. Rugs are dark, bathrooms plain with smelly shower curtain.
Location: Shops and museums very close by.
Hotel is in great location. Bus from airport stops right in front of hotel. Street cars to anywhere in city in plaza across the street.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Dec 30, 2016
Pros: Location and customer service.
Great location. But the hotel is being remodeled right now so there is a lot of noise which we were informed of. Our floors were not updated yet so they looked a bit run down. Overall the rooms were very clean. The staff was very helpful. We had an issue with our balcony door not closing and they fixed the issue right away and gave us breakfast vouchers for all 3 days of our stay! I am sure once the remodel is complete the hotel will look much nicer.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Excellent location in Amsterdam

Posted Dec 23, 2016
Pros: Staff, location, cleanliness, service.
Cons: The hotel is being renovated, so there is some construction noise.
Location: Everything: museums, shopping, restaurants.
Excellent hotel in perfect location in Amsterdam. The breakfast buffet gives you a lot of choice. The hotel is located at walking distance form great restaurants, the museum square and shopping. I would not stay anywhere else.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SF, Calif

Posted Dec 18, 2016
The hotel is well located and convenient to reach museums nearby. I liked the newly renovated room that I stayed but it lacked closet space.