Ratings based on 1,877 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cairo

Excellent location

Posted Apr 22, 2017
Pros: The best aspects of this hotel are its great location and very helpful staff.
Cons: Service at the hotel bar is often slow.
Location: The Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh Museum are about 10 minutes walk away. Similar distance to several canal boat rides. Easy access to downtown.
Very clean and pleasant rooms at a great location at the boundary between the museum district and downtown Amsterdam. Airport express bus stops 50 m from the hotel entrance.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 19, 2017
The concierge and doorman were amazing. The lady at the front desk didn't bother to look up to see if there was someone waiting in line but once she did she apologized and tried her best to make up for it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from United Kingdom

Great Hotel. Close to the major attractions

Posted Mar 17, 2017
Pros: This hotel is in a great location. The breakfast is amazing too.
Cons: Have real butter at breakfast. Not the kind that comes in small single serving packets.
Location: Very short walk to museums, restaurants, coffee shops. Public transport is right outside. Very easy to get around.
For me it is comfort and location. This hotel has it. I have stayed here twice now and both times have been exceptional.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Germany

Disappointing, with a lot of potential

Posted Mar 9, 2017
Pros: luxurious interior. Warm atmosphere
Cons: - plumbing of bath drain. - appliances - accurate minibar list - pre-paid rooms should have an empty minibar
Location: pancake house nearby on the opposite side of the road is highly recommended.
My family stayed at the Marriot hotel between 1 - 4th of March, 2017. The hotel was nice, staff were freindly and we received a newly renovated room on the top floor for our stay; however, the Marriot hotel was busy renovating the room next to ours. Whilst the hours of work were reasonable, (9-6pm) I would have like to enjoy the room a little longer in bad weather. Our room was nice to look at, however, there were dust bunnies accumulating under the bed (the tiles allowed us to see that it had not been vacuumed or swept), the plumbing of the bathroom was not sufficient (bath water rose 10cm with drain open, needed to wait ~6min to allow water to fully drain at that point) and the appliances were outdated (kettle had intermittent faults, which did not heat up to boiling point with power light on). In hindsight, we were falsely accused of minibar usage, and staff could not accurately identify what was taken (6.50 for soda, which was then identified as water). tl;dr - hotel was nice, but we felt that our visit was less prioritized than others.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel. Central to everything. Staff great

Posted Feb 27, 2017
As above Enjoyed my trip and the whole experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 26, 2017
Nice hotel in a good location, staff were all friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 24, 2017
Great Hotel, very near Vondelpark and the Van Gogh Museum as well as stops for buses and trams. Staff friendly and helpful - all made for a great few days break in Amsterdam.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice area!

Posted Feb 23, 2017
Nice area good play to stay! A stones throw from everything!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Essex

Posted Feb 18, 2017
Pros: Staff are extremely friendly and helpful. Nothing is too much trouble.
Cons: N/A
Location: Centre of Amsterdam, a five minute walk to the shops. Rembrandt and Ann Frank's houses 15 minute walk away and the famous red light district.
Hotel is in the centre of Amsterdam close to all amenities.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from O

Nice hotel very close to the city centre

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Overall good hotel but renovation works going on which meant disruption to vital service and utilities eg hot water. I was given some extras because I complained. I believe they should have offered this for the inconvenience and not expected me to ask