Ratings based on 118 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by nicola from Wistaston

Posted Aug 17, 2016 on Hotels
Fantastic service, Marcell was super helpful. Room was perfect and our children enjoyed the bunk beds. There is a walk to the bus stop (about 20 mins) and 1 bus followed by a tram to reach the city. It is a very idyllic setting and peaceful after a day in the city.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tampa, FL

Great location if you are driving or biking

Posted Jun 9, 2015
We were looking for a hotel that could accommodate 2 adults and two children. Amsterdam Village was by far the most reasonable, but we were a bit skeptical due to a couple of bad reviews. We are so glad we took a chance and booked it anyway. There are so many pluses I need to get the negatives out of the way first. Negatives: It is not within walking distance of public transportation. Positives: What a great location, in a small village on the water with great views all around! All rooms of the hotel face a side street so it is very quiet. A very nice served breakfast was included featuring eggs, ham, bacon, cheese, yogurt, bread and jam. The restaurant attached to the hotel was excellent. The staff was courteous and professional. The price was well below comparable hotels. The room was not huge but comfortably fit 2 adults in a queen bed and 2 children in a "castle" bunk bed (not all rooms are equipped for 4. The room we had was exceptionally clean and the bathroom was spacious. Our room had an enclosed shower, not sure if they offer rooms with tubs. There are three semi-private entrances each allowing access to only 4 rooms. There is a free public parking lot located about 300 feet behind the hotel. There is also a semi-secure hotel lot in about the same location which has a per day charge. A park and ride tram station is located just 5 minutes from the hotel by car.
5 out of 5
by muhammad from Manchester

Village hotel a*

Posted Apr 15, 2015 on Hotels
Beautiful place to stay in a lovely village. Would highly reccommend . Hotel was very clean and the service was excellent .
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh, UK

Idyllic, but even more disappointing.

Posted Sep 17, 2014
Pros: Nice location, lovely idyllic view.
Cons: Reduce (to max 5 Euros) the ridiculous 15 Euro charge for hotel car parking! Improve staff (non existent) professionalism. Improve food.
Location: You can pay extra (as I did) to get a beautiful lake view room, but there are outside tables of hotel guests and others chattering away.
Let's get out of the way the one good thing I can say about this hotel... great unlimited, strong free WiFi. Okay, now...I booked this hotel based on the pictures of the location, the concept of it all and the idyllic ambience described in the advert. The village itself was lovely - very quaint and idyllic. In fact, it gave me flashing thoughts of "The Wicker Man" and covens of witches. The room was fine, quaint, clean enough and... ok. The reception was a small section of the bar. Again, fine, but somewhat lacking I though. The bar/restaurant/breakfast room were all kind of cluttered in the way you'd expect an old fisherman's village/hotel to be, so I can't complain about that. The only way I can really describe the overall experience is... "okay"... and that's about it. The only *real* complaints I can muster would be both the restaurant food and the overall service. Suffice to say that - well - I don't like to see the staff who are supposed to be looking after me/serving me standing outside in full view and out the front smoking and chatting with friends. Breakfast was very basic. I was told to help myself but when I opened the containers, there was nothing in two of them. This should be checked regularly and clients shouldn't have to ask. Well, I had to go outside and interrupt the smoking to ask for eggs. The evening dinner in the restaurant was a big disappointment. I have toy say that the food was pretty well below standard.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 18, 2014 on Hotels
Great location over looking the water, close to Park & Ride for transportation to the city center. Staff was very helpful and knowledgeable about the area. The Hotel was a unique find for those wanting to experience a local fare. Would definitely recommend it!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 3, 2013 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful village and great location

Posted Oct 17, 2013
Pros: The atmosphere and the location. Also very child friendly.
Very friendly and helpful staff. Dinner and breakfast were excellent.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice place but a little far

Posted Oct 8, 2013 on Hotels
The hotel is nice and situated in a very tiny village on the water. I would not recommend it for business travelers who need to go into Amsterdam on a daily basis as the bus route is a bit erratic and not direct to the central station. Cabs can run well over €30. My room had a water view but the more than 1/2 of the headroom in the bathroom was taken up by a sloping roof making it impossible to stand when using the mirror or toilet! The restaurant is excellent and the staff was always helpful and friendly.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 1, 2013 on Hotels
i have already logged a complaint about the amsterdam village hotel with hotels.com as this is company i booked it with. i was extremly dissapponted in just about everything about the hotel! it was very very dirty the rooms were so old there was hair in the shower and the toilet was all stained brown! the heating wasnt working and when i went to ask a member of staff if this could be fixed i was told that he couldnt leave the resturant as he was the only person working! eventually he came up and fixed it but heaters took a further 1 hour to heat up. there was no room cleaning whatsoever all that was done was 2 new toilet rolls but the member of staff that replaced these stepped over dirty towels to do this, why were the dirty towels not replaced? food was very limited and not very nice either. all in all hotel was completly disgusting and would never recommend this to anyone.
3 out of 5
by Hezi from Israel

Not for Children

Posted Sep 2, 2013
Pros: The restaurant
the hotel is good for short stay and not for children. the room was dirty and very small for 5 persons. The restaurant which is part of the hotel was just great!!!