Ratings based on 1,488 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver BC

Great hotel in the heart of Amsterdam

Posted May 23, 2017
Pros: It is small and cosy, at the heart of the city and all the food/drinks at the bar in the lobby/minibar in the room is complimentary!
Cons: The elevator is a bit slow and very hot inside as there is no ventilation.
Location: Very centralised location where you can walk to basically everywhere!
Loved this hotel. Most attractions are within walking distance, including the Rikjsmuseum, Van Gogh Museum, Red Light District, Rembrandt Square, The Nine Streets, Centraal Station etc. Even if you were to travel further, it is very close to tram stops. Staff is very friendly and patient, and recommended places for us to visit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The best hotel.

Posted May 21, 2017
Pros: Absolutely everything
We had a wonderfull time in Amsterdam, thanks to the brilliant staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from HHI, SC

Great place, in central Amsterdam

Posted May 19, 2017
Perfect location, excellent staff, really liked the "all inclusive" concept. Breakfast was superb
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Well positioned, clean and comfortable hotel.

Posted May 16, 2017
Pros: We liked the location, being on the Herengracht canal, and that it was clean and comfortable.
Cons: a normal hairdryer by the dressing table, instead of one in the bathroom, which had a short lead and only works by squeezing handle ; v awkward.
Location: situated in the canal ring area,the Herengracht canal is conveniently near to the centre and also not far from the museums, bars and restaurants.
We flew into Schipol airport and transferred easily to Amsterdam via train. We caught a tram to our hotel, but once we d got our bearings, it was nt far to walk back at the end of our stay. Banks Mansion is very well positioned and it was easy to stop off for a break, during the day, if it was raining or we were flagging... The staff were friendly, and the room was clean and comfortable.The pillows were especially good and its always nice to find thick dressing gowns and fragrant toiletries. There was only one bath towel each, but they happily gave us more when we asked for them. The breakfast was varied and its a nice touch having someone to custom make fresh omelettes or pancakes with a selection of fillings. There were free drinks in the bar and our room, although you need strong fingers when you try and grip the coffee cups because the handles are all style and no function! The only minor gripe was that the hairdryer was awful and even if I'd taken my own, there was nt a power socket by the mirror.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from miami, fl

Great find

Posted May 14, 2017
Pros: Everything. Service, room, breakfast.
Cons: Nothing, really.
Location: Close to Central Train Station and cruise port. Nearby tram stop.
First time at Banks Mansion. A very nice find. Really nice, very comfortable hotel. Staff very helpful and friendly. Nice breakfast. Complimentary bar in lobby, and a cheese/hors d'ouvres reception every afternoon.d Very nice experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Wales

Good Location

Posted May 13, 2017
Pros: Complimentary items. Breakfasts.
Cons: Lift speed. More drawer space for clothes etc.
Location: See above
Close to centre, bars, restaurants. Overlooking canal. Excellent virtually all-day complimentary items. Excellent breakfast by excellent staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Cambridge U.K

Excellent city centre hotel

Posted May 6, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: The recommended 'Priority Pass' was not accepted at the Van Gogh Museum, so we had to queue for 45 mins.
Location: Good centre location, close to good restaurants, Museums, Royal Palace, Canal cruises, Red Light District , Floating Flowermarket and many others.
Excellent facilities with comfortable beds and pillows. All the staff that we met were extremely helpful,willing and professional during our 3 nights stay. Our delightful de-luxe room was kept beautifully clean and serviced. Good Buffet breakfast with extensive selection. Particularly enjoyed the daily happy hours with cheeseboard and wine, together with the inclusive mini-bar in our room. Max was especially welcoming, helpful and recommended a superb restaurant for dinner. We look forward to our next visit and will definitely stay at Banks Mansion.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Perfect location and fantastic hotel

Posted May 6, 2017
This is just an amazing hotel to stay in if your visiting Amsterdam. The staff are helpful and friendly. They welcome you each time you return to the hotel. Lots of extra treats...... Cheese and wine each evening in the Living Room is a lovely idea. You will be unlikely to find this anywhere else. The rooms are quiet and comfortable. Breakfast is so relaxed and tasty. Overall a great hotel!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Sussex

Wonderful Hotel central Amsterdam

Posted May 2, 2017
Pros: Everything
Location: Central location close to all the areas you would want to see. Stands on a canal in a lovely setting.
Great Hotel, friendly staff great facilities central location, What more can I say. We went for a four day weekend and the Hotel made it very special. Clean rooms, staff always at hand to help. Free Bar in lobby with snacks all free. Staff recommended a Restaurant and we ended up eating there for three evenings it was that good. Would say book and enjoy this Hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 1, 2017
Special thanks to Max, Ties and the breakfast crew.