Ratings based on 84 Verified Reviews

2.2 out of 5
29% of guests recommend
2.6 Room cleanliness
2.5 Service & staff
2.1 Room comfort
2.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Northampton, MA

James

Posted Sep 8, 2010
The Belfort is more a hostel than a hotel. It's location is not bad, but the hotel itselfd leaves a lot to be desired.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from canada

not worth the price

Posted Oct 30, 2009
I would not recomend this hotel. the floor was covered with other peoples hair! You can hear ever thing that the person is saying next door.paper thin walls carpet out side in hall are stained with water. stained ceiling tiles in shower if you get a corner unit its very noisy and busy with train noises and cars. and their are burnt cigerette stains on the window covers. We left the very next day. never going back there again
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los angeles, CA

Not at all satistied

Posted Jun 9, 2009
The hotel should be rated two stars instead of three. Poor quality matress (I could feel the springs), small room, poor location. I should have followed the advice from the other people that rated this hotel and stayed away from it.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Very very basic

Posted Aug 15, 2008
This is not a 3 star Hotel, it was more like a Hostel very basic with paper thin walls. I had 4 very restless nights here.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Central, South Carolina

Will Not Return

Posted Jun 18, 2008
I have stayed at several hotels throughout Amsterdam. While the rooms at the Belfort are reasonably affordable, they are small, worn, and somewhat dingy. I will not stay at this hotel again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Don't do it !

Posted Nov 29, 2007
Ok, the bathroom was clean, there was a flatscreen TV, and it is near the highway (if that is good for you) and a nice park (Vondelpark) and some ok neoighborhoody bars. Beyond that, it is all down hill. Tiny rooms (even for Europe), lot's of noise, ancient carpets and decor with nail holde sin the wall where something had obviously been ripped out, as well as sketchy fellow cleints and staff made this an unpleasant experience. About a 15-minute tram ride to the centrum, but on the flips side, also only a 15 minute (but 32 euro) taxi ride tot he airport too. Ins hort, you can do beter elsewhere for the same or better money.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

A very uncomfortable hotel, not recommend to anyone

Posted Nov 29, 2007
This is an extremely low quality hotel in Amsterdam. It was simply converted from a downtown apartment. The room is very small, and extremely uncomfortable. The bathroom is very small. There is no elevator, and you have to drag your belongs through a very narrow stairway. The revolving door is so narrow and it would not fit yourself and your bags. There were about 20 cigarettes buts in the balcony. I don't know how Expedia would rate this hotel as 3 stars. It should have been a 1 (one) star, or no star at all.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Rochester, NY

convenient...but....

Posted Mar 27, 2007
The location is right near a major tram route, so getting into the city proper was easy and quick. Breakfast was also good. It was a basic continental, but access to a panini maker made all the difference. Our room was a different story. It was a triple and small. Very. Small. Barely enough space between the beds and all I could think of while I was there was the old joke about going into the hall to change my mind. Oh, and the walls are very thin. You will hear everything. I had to go to the neighbors twice to tell them to shush. Granted they were only noisey boys, but still. So good location, good food, but not the cleanest or most comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Halifax, NS, CA

Good value

Posted Feb 11, 2007
The hotel is pretty far away from the center of Amsterdam - I suggest getting a tram ticket for getting around. The transit system is extremely easy to use and you can buy tickets that allow unlimited trips for a predetermined length of time. But the hotel is typical of those in the area - small, clean, and well maintained. The staff were helpful, breakfast was included each day and it was an overall good experience. I enjoyed the stay and felt it a plus that I was staying outside the center of Amsterdam; which, due to the significant amount of travellers to the area, can be quite loud 24 hours a day.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from jersey city, nj

bad place to stay

Posted Aug 30, 2006
the hotel room was the size of a cubical. it was far from anything. cost at least 20 euros to get anywhere!