Ratings based on 2,295 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to museum, but very small and low quality.

Posted Sep 23, 2016
The room had a very strong sent when I arrived, the mattress was very saggy, the wifi was slow, and there was always a line at reception. Wouldn't recommend.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Close to travel and entertainment options.

Posted Sep 8, 2016
Pros: It's location and staff.
Cons: Could have larger bathrooms, but that's Europe.
Location: Close to everything as noted above.
The staff was very helpful. The location was great, walking distance to the canal, tour offices, park, plaza and all modes of transportation. Will definitely stay there again and recommend it for others.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Posted Sep 1, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Customer service and its booking system.
Location: 2 minutes walk from the Rijksmusuem.
We arrived Saturday evening to be told we didn't have a room as there "had been a leak in the hotel". We weren't the only guests to have this experience. We moved outside of Amsterdam centre for that night, which spoilt our plans for that night. Other days, the reception area was very busy and the bar / drinks area under staffed. The double room was pokey and you'd struggle to swing a small cat in the toilet/shower room. The hotel is in a good location and for this reason is very busy.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Nice hotel in Museum quarter

Posted Aug 30, 2016
Pros: The elevator, the air conditioning in the heat wave during our stay, the helpful staff, cleanliness, location.
Cons: Different tap in sink and shelf in shower to hold soap/shampoo. There was gel provided but would prefer my own products.
Location: Very close the the Rijksmuseum, the Van Gogh museum, the Vondel park , and a museum of modern art but I forget the name. A tram stop just a block away
The hotel is well located for transit to other areas and to visit the museums close by (just a block) as well as a giant park. The room was nice, comfortable bed, good bathroom except for the tap which extended almost completely across the sink making washing your face, etc. almost impossible. A victory of design over functionality. It did look good though. But just a minor quibble. Staff was very helpful and professional. The breakfast was reasonable quality and standard price for Amsterdam.Be aware that the restaurant closes for food service at 9 pm. The apples and various changing drink samples and cookies/candy at the front desk were fun. We stayed for three days and would recommend it.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Monza

Buona posizione e molto comodo X i mezzi

Posted Aug 26, 2016
Esperienza positiva sia X l'albergo che X la città e anche x l'aria internazionale respirata! Consigliamo!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Danmark

Meget små værelser med defekte møbler og senge.

Posted Aug 20, 2016
Checkin/reception er ikke særlig effektiv. Personale løber rundt og holder ikke fokus på den aktuelle kunde. Eks. Blev vores Checkin afbrudt flere gange af en tlf der lige var vigtig. Ingen kontrol over hvem der er næst i kø osv. Personale er dog meget venlige. Rimelig morgenmad buffet, æg, brød yoghurt pålæg m.m. Man dog skal skrive en seddel på at man ønsker morgenmad hver dag, selvom det er bestilt på forhånd. Ineffektivt afrydning af borde som står fyldte i lang tid forde det er vigtigere at få skrevet sedler ang. Morgenmad af samme person som skal rydde af. Skabte en del panik, sure miner og ventetid fir dem som ville spise. Værelse var meget lille, og der var næsten ingen plads til bagage omkring sengen. Sengen var meget smal, under 80cm, hvilket gør at man ligger og banker albuer hele natten. Madrasserne var elendige gamle spring madrasser som var faldet sammen forskellige steder, hvilket gør at man ligger skævt. Endvidere lå de så løst at de rykkede sig ud over kanten hver gang man bevægede sig. Hvis man satte sig på midten løftede enderne sig unødigt højt, hvilket indikerer ødelagt madrads. Del lille skrive bord var halvt skilt ad i samlingerne og måtte bankes sammen for ikke at falde fra hinanden, hylde på væggen var trykket skævt så rullende ting ville rulle ned. Maleri oå vægge var revnet flere steder. Badeværelse var fint og rent, omend meget småt. Hotellet ligger dog rigtig godt i forhold til at kunne gå ind igennem Amsterdam, og transport.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Disappointing experience in Amsterdam

Posted Aug 10, 2016
Pros: Location near museums
Cons: parking, room smell, staff getting it right the first time and not causing guests to have to move rooms as a result of their error
Location: Heineken Museum and other museums, fashion district, shopping
Nothing seemed to go right here. No parking available, had to drive around town looking for a spot. Street was torn up for construction so had to illegally stop to unload luggage and drop in hotel (lucky I had a companion with me). Then they put us in the wrong room (1 bed instead of the 2 that I booked). They fixed the situation by giving us 2 separate rooms but we still had to move all our stuff a second time. Room was clean but very small and had a musty odor. Bar downstairs was nice though. Rate I paid was ridiculously high for what we got.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Valley, Bayern

Zentral gelegenes Hotel am Museumsplatz

Posted Aug 5, 2016
Pros: Das internationale Publikum und Personal.
Location: In unmittelbarer Nähe des Museumsplatzes mit Reichs-, Van Gogh-, Diamanten-und anderen -Museen.
Waren 3 Tage (Donnerstag-Samstag) zum Sightseeing und zu Museenbesuchen in Amsterdam. Hotel liegt in unmittelbarer Nähe des Museumsplatzes, mit dem Reichsmuseum, van Gogh-Museum, Diamantenmuseum und anderer Museen. Die Gäste wie auch das Personal sind international. Leider wird vor dem Hotel gerade die Kanalisation erneuert, was zu einer gewissen Beeinträchtigung durch Baulärm und Geruch führt.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Berlin

Absolut centrale Nähe für alle Museen und Lokale

Posted Jul 31, 2016
Pros: Der Service an der Rezeption und die Zimmer. Großzügig, wie man/frau es in dieser Preisklasse in Amsterdam nicht gewohnt ist.
Cons: Das Frühstück im Hotel
Location: Alle Museen besuchen, alle Möglichkeiten um Essen zu gehen
Hotel ist besser als sein Ruf. Im Umkreis von 10 Gehminuten hat man/frau alle Museen, Restaurants aller Spezialitäten und auch wenn ihr keine Frittenfans seid, diese hier müßt ihr probieren. Auch nicht zu verachten sind die Rippchen und morgens Pancakes im Cafe`. Unbedingt einen Boot-hop-on-hop-Paß für 24 Stunden kaufen, der lohnt sich. Für den Bus nicht so sehr, da die Straßen z.Z. durch Bauarbeiten alle verstopft sind. Transfer vom-zum Flughafen ist durch das Hotel gebucht günstiger.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Frankfurt

Posted Jul 27, 2016
Wir waren für einen spontanen Kurztrip in Amsterdam. Die Lage ist super, das Hotel an sich auch, das einzige, was uns gestört hat, war das Personal an der Rezeption. Abgesehen von der Mitarbeiterin, die uns am 1. Tag eingecheckt hat und sehr sehr freundlich und schnell war, waren wir mit den Anderen .. Naja, nicht so zufrieden. An der Rezeption hat sich meistens eine große Schlange gebildet, weil die Mitarbeiter sehr langsam gearbeitet haben. Ich wollte einmal an der Rezeption nachfragen, wo sich die Toiletten in der Lobby befinden und wurde einfach gänzlich ignoriert von dem Mitarbeiter, weil es anscheinend sehr schwer war, vom Computer nebenbei kurz hochzuschauen. Am Tag der Abreise arbeiteten 3 Mitarbeiter an der Rezeption und wir standen 30 Minuten in der Schlange bevor wir auschecken konnten. Da ist noch etwas Nachholbedarf.