Ratings based on 502 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The perfect location

Posted Jun 5, 2017
Having visited Amsterdam before, this was our second trip to this beautiful city. The hotel is ideally located near Dam Square to allow visitors to experience what Amsterdam has to offer.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Filthy hotel, but great location.

Posted Jun 4, 2017
Pros: Incredibly central location. Right by Dam Square. Close to shops, amenities and only a 10 minute walk from the train station.
Cons: Clean the rooms and bedding thoroughly.
I have never stayed in such a filthy hotel. That says a lot as I have travelled extensively and stayed in hotels and hostels all over the world. I initially had to swap rooms as the first room I was offered had pubic hairs on top of the bed covers. It was also very dusty and had long hairs on the pillows. This was a small room at the front of the hotel and I could tell it would also be very noisy due to the close proximity of coffee shops and bars. Once I requested another room, they gave me a slightly larger room at the back of the hotel. This was far quieter and the bedding was clean. However, there was still a thick layer of dust on anything but the most obvious surfaces. I drew a smiley face in the dust on the phone to prove a point as I rang down to request my wifi code for the second time. The staff forgot to give me the code when I checked in and the first code they gave me didn't work. Apart from the person on reception when I checked in, I found the staff pleasant and helpful. The location is perfect. If they could only keep their rooms clean, this would be a great little hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Moderately priced & satisfactory

Posted May 14, 2017
Stayed only for one night; then went on a river cruise on the Rhine. This older hotel is in a very nice location, near Dam Square, and the staff are very pleasant and helpful. However, it is located on a narrow street, inaccessible by taxi. So we had to lug our bags uphill to the hotel. Our room was clean, but had an awkward layout. The bathroom was small, and the shower could barely hold one person. Overall, it was just "okay" and priced right for our 1-night stay!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 14, 2017
Great location and wonderful bar next door. De Nieuwe Pilserij. Breakfast included was good. Staff were very helpful.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California, USA

Great location. Taxi did not come to door.

Posted May 9, 2017
Pros: Location. Helpful and friendly front desk. Good breakfast. Good value given that hotel prices in downtown Amsterdam are very high.
Cons: Housekeeping; room cleanliness.
Location: Location was excellent. Could walk to most of the attractions. Convenient tram connections. 10 minute walk to main rail station.
Room housekeeping needed improvement. Toiletries not replenished. Vacuuming of floor not done.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

good location, quite a bit dated, needs upgrade

Posted May 7, 2017
Pros: staff are professional
Cons: decor and interior... really not nice. bathroom dissapointing
Location: location is good. so hotel is good option for location.
breakfast is ok, staff are reasonable, the overall "feel" of the hotel is one that reminds you of a hospital. The security door through to the rooms, is really out of place and breaks the feel of being on holiday. dont think of arriving early as earlier checkin, is definitely not available. however, the staff are helpful and kind. Luggage storage is possible.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great experience

Posted Apr 30, 2017
Very clean, quiet, friendly staff, nice breakfast, comfortable room. Decor is a bit dated but everything else outweighs this. Travelling alone with my 9 year old and we felt safe and secure
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from cardiff

Great location

Posted Apr 30, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Could do with redecorating
Location: Close to train station, museums and canal trips.
Nicely tucked away behind Dam Square. Easy walking distance from the station. Staff very helpful. Comfy beds.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, great location

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Good place, near from Many places. Nice hotel, friendly people, good breakfast
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA, USA

Comfortable and Convenient

Posted Mar 23, 2017
Perfect hotel for my first trip to Amsterdam. Near EVERYTHING! Clean, quiet, charming, with a friendly and helpful staff. Plenty of HOT water and a real decent continental b'fast. I'd totally stay here again.