Ratings based on 1,012 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Very convenient and quiet hotel.

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Location: If you go before the end of December visit the Banksy exhibition at the Moco Museum, also Warhol until 15th October.
Although the room was quite small it had everything we needed. The staff were very good offering advice and tickets to the museum's nearby. Great location for getting around and good variety of places to eat nearby. Would definitely stay here again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from England

Perfect location and really friendly staff

Posted Oct 5, 2016
Location: There are many museums only a short walk away, including the Van Gogh Museum and the Rijksmuseum. The Leidseplein is also only 5 minutes away.
The hotel is in the perfect location - bus from the airport stops a 2 minute walk from the hotel. The hotel staff are full of knowledge and very helpful. The rooms are modern and clean - we couldn't fault anything and would definitely recommend this hotel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Victoria, BC

Location is perfect!

Posted Sep 24, 2016
Pros: Staff, location.
Cons: Currently lots of road construction, but of course the hotel can't do anything about that. When it is finished it will be terrific.
Nice hotel, lovely staff. Rooms a little small, but doable. Perfect location right near all the museums, Leidseplein, the trams to Old Town, lots of restaurants and good coffee shops (the coffee kind!)
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Very comfortable hotel, extremely welcoming staff

Posted Sep 23, 2016
Pros: So much, the room was attractive and comfortable, the service was great, the location was perfect for us, and the bar was quiet, cosy and inviting
Cons: If they added an omlette option to breakfast I would be completely satisfied. As is it is fine but not exciting.
Location: Located close to the art museums, there is shopping, canal boats, and a large park dotted with cafes close by.
The hotel is perfectly located close to the museums and two of the major shoping streets. The superior room was attractive and comfortable, large bathroom, a sitting area and small balcony overlooking a tree lined street. The staff was marvelous, friendly and helpful. The breakfast buffet was reasonable, notable for excellent croissants and warm thick raison bread. The only problem, and it proved to be minor, was the street remodeling. The construction is anticipated to last for several more weeks. It starts around 7 but ends early. It wasn't a problem for us, but it poses a bit of an inconvenience.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

road construction

Posted Sep 20, 2016
except for the road construction (till October) everything was great as it always is, sixth stay here
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wellington, New Zealand

Location is magic!

Posted Aug 30, 2016
Pros: Hotel staff are generally top notch. Services are easy to order through reception. The place is clean and tidy.
Cons: The bar/snack area was a bit disappointing (overpriced for the quality), but the guy behind the bar was nice enough.
This hotel was in a premium location if your goal in Amsterdam is to see the best cultural activities that the city has to offer. It's around the corner (2-5 minutes walk) from Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh museum, Stedelijk modern art museum and Het Concertgebouw, the concert hall. Don't take the stairs if you have big feet, or alternatively try them and see what I mean! Maybe the stairs are only intended for energetic children...
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to transit and museums

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Transit from airport is so convenient to get there and return. (Bus 197 at airport stop to rijksmuseum stop literally a three minute walk to door of hotel) very close to both rijks museum and Van Gogh museum as well, same deal about a 3-5 minute walk! Tram stop to get everywhere else is very close too. Breakfast was good but it was charged to us even though they said it was included in the booking. We even asked at check in. No one told us until check out we were being charged. We didn't eat a breakfast beyond coffee and juice and one small croissant each - didn't touch the rest and they still added a full breakfast charge. Our booking included it which they said they had no record of. It would have cost them nothing to waive this since we barely touched it! Poor service in this regard. The room was very clean and the air conditioning worked well. Shower pressure was good and the bed was a large bed not a pair of singles pushed together which is too often the case! The desk staff was helpful with directions and knew the transit system very well - perfect clear directions every time.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Westchester, NY

Very good

Posted Aug 27, 2016
Pros: Excellent location. Pleasant and helpful staff. Clean and attractive.
Cons: Bed and pillows ok, but too saggy for me.
Location: Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh Museum very close. Stedelijk Museum, Vondel Park and Het Concertgebouw also close.
Enjoyed stay very much. If you're choosing this hotel because it has an elevator (not common at this price level), be advised that many rooms are 5 steps up from elevator landing, and elevator does not access breakfast room, which is in the basement.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 28, 2016 by Sjoerd Cozijnsen Front Office, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you very much for your feedback this is much apreciated. We do regret to read that you did not enjoyed the comfort of our bed and pillow. We would be happy to welcome you once more in the Bilderberg hotel Jan-Luyken.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from nice

Confort et proximité des musées.

Posted Aug 15, 2016
Pros: La situation géographique, la propreté, le personnel très professionnel.
Cons: Alarme terriblement bruyante: donc acouphènes pendant 3 jours!
Location: Les grands musées, les plus beaux canaux.
Excellent pour un séjour confortable et culturel. Je recommande vivement les grands musées sont à 5 mn à pied.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 11, 2016
Clean room. AC worked very well. Bathroom was clean. Location was good. Close to great museums but not too busy.