Ratings based on 1,035 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Good location.. cozy hotel. Definetly recommend for medium budget trips
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wilmington NC

Lovely hotel convenient to the museums

Posted Nov 19, 2016
Pros: Location and state of rooms - clean and large.
Cons: Bartender could be friendlier - he was quite rude
Location: Museums
Nice hotel with lovely staff and clean, comfortable rooms. Cute bar with a less than friendly bartender, but the rest of the staff was very nice. There was loud construction outside but otherwise was a great stay.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, will definitely stay again

Posted Nov 18, 2016
Short 2 day stay was perfect, friendly & polite staff
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

I would go back.

Posted Nov 12, 2016
Pros: The room was pleasant and comfortable and the staff, very nice.
Cons: More light in the room. Lamp over the bed often failed. Stingy with the soap and shampoo.
Location: The location was excellent, close to the Rijksmuseum and museum square. Close to many restaurants.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Portland, United States of America

Okay, but not Great

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Location: If all you need is a clean bed and a shower near everything, this is a good spot. Nearby are museums, shopping, grocery store, bakery and restaurants.
The room was quite lacking. In the room photos, it looks like there is a dresser, but that is the mini bar. Because there is no real dresser, we had to use our suitcases throughout the trip. The closet does have two shelves but they are so high up that you cannot see what is on them. The room has a safe but it cannot fit a laptop (or even our small tablets). The room has a deadbolt, but it does not work. The bathtub was very small (okay for Europe) but the placement of the shower head and faucett is in the middle making it almost guaranteed you will bump into it every time you turn around. The room had a bed, but it was not comfortable. The matress seemed to be maybe 8 inches thick. The hotel had wifi, but it was very slow. On the service side, the maids were great. They left us with a clean room every day. But from there it sort of fell apart. The minibar checker would come by every day, usually while we were taking a nap. We told him on day one that we don't drink alcohol and that if he stocked it with things we do drink, he might actually make a sale. He said he had to stock them a standard way. No problem. We just went to the grocery store a few blocks away instead. Then there was the bar downstairs. On one occassion, we went to a bakery about 2 blocks away. We brought our pastries back to the hotel bar to order beverages and plan out the rest of the day. A hotel staff member told us we could not eat outside food in the bar. Overall, the service was not great.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

brilliant stay

Posted Nov 3, 2016
Location: van gouh museum , rijksmuseum , janluyken shopping street ,leidstraat , leidseplein
great hotel , near by bus & tram station . easily approachable at day & night .
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Stroud, UK

Our fourth visit. We love it and will return!

Posted Nov 1, 2016
Location: It is a 2 minute walk from museums, galleries, shops, park and coffee! Trams and buses stop within 200 metres so it is easy to get anywhere.
Everything about this hotel is great! We have now visited four times in two years and I am sure, will be back again soon. The location is perfect and the hotel very comfortable.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Excellent location in the Museum district.

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Pros: Great location and quiet.
Cons: Requested a non-smoking room.
Location: All the major museums are two blocks away and the city center is a short 10-15 minute walk depending on the direction you go.
The hotel is ideally located in the Museum district which is close to many cultural sites, transportation, restaurants and shopping depending on your desires. The room I stayed in was quiet in the back of the building and a couple blocks away from a tram line so you didn't hear the rumble of the train. One item, make sure to request a non-smoking room since the property is a mix of both.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Posted Oct 29, 2016
Convenient for trams around town, should normally be quiet location , but currently road words making an early start. I thought hotel and staff were lovely.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Good stay

Posted Oct 26, 2016
Pros: Very close to the museums
Cons: Distance in Amsterdam is deceiving (use the metro, we walked miles)
The hotel met our requirements; quaint,quiet and pleasant intjerveming. It's close to the museums, book all attractions upfront before going.