Ratings based on 3,057 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX.

Easy Access to Airport

Posted Jun 28, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Nothing
Location: Easy access to Amsterdam via the train station in the airport.
The hotel while different is in the best location for the airport. We were there post river cruise for two nights and has easy access to the Amsterdam train system in the airport. The room has everything a business person or a couple need.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Compact quirky hotel at the airport

Posted Jun 26, 2017
CitizenM is a fun quirky hotel situated less than 5 mins walk from Schiphol airport (starbucks exit). Its rooms are compact with everything you could need including hairdryer and free safe. We had a room on the 3rd floor, airport view, which was quiet considering! Room controls are very techy! Nice touch all controlled from an ipad mini- you can control lighting, mood, blinds and tv which includes a small selection of movies! Travel links from airport are excellent. Staff very energetic and will do anything to help!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Victoria BC

Convenient & Economical Hotel at Schiphol Airport

Posted Jun 23, 2017
Pros: Staff very friendly and helpful. Room very comfortable in all aspects (given the small size which is part of their concept). Convenient to airport.
Cons: Thought some sections of the 1st floor were meant to be quiet areas but entire lobby had a disco energy. Couldn't escape the piped-in music. Pls fix!
Location: 100 meters +/- from airport terminal and train station.
Stayed one night prior to flight to Canada. Had one of the upgraded rooms which was far superior to the "version 1" rooms in that the layout was more efficient and spacious. The room was drop-dead quiet in spite of the fact it was hard-by an international airport. Super clean. Bed was very comfortable. Couldn't overstate how friendly and helpful the staff was. Only complaint was the energy level of the lobby. We've stayed at this hotel twice before and our understanding was that certain sections were meant to be quiet areas. This time the entire lobby from stem-to-stern had piped-in music that was too high energy and irritating to these old eardrums. Would have been nice to sit and read in less disco-like surroundings. Otherwise the Citizen M concept of small, economical rooms that punch way over their weight in terms of comfort is a big winner.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from BC

Nine hotel convenient to onward connections.

Posted Jun 13, 2017
Very pleased with this hotel and its location. Nothing more to add.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Devon, England

convenient for Amsterdam Schiphol Airport

Posted Jun 2, 2017
Pros: Location. Modern, uncluttered feel. Rooms comfortable and suited to purpose.
Cons: Tea/coffee making in room please.
Location: Wishing an easy, level walk from Amsterdam Schiphol airport, Plaza & railway station. Good bus & train routes to Amsterdam and surrounding area.
Early arrival so we welcomed the 10am check-in and late departure the following day so we paid for the extension to 8pm. 'Pod' style room was not claustrophobic, bed comfortable, blinds effective in blocking the light and room well insulated for noise but I would have appreciated a kettle.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ontario

Nice hotel, close to the airport

Posted May 31, 2017
Pros: Close to airport
Cons: 2 chairs of some kind for both of us to sit. Esides the bed
Location: Great walking around shops in the airport or just a short ride into amsterdam.
We enjoy staying there. Only wish rooms had 2 chairs. Not nice to have to sit on the bed all the time with 2 of us. But i know room is a problem.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from P

Posted May 29, 2017
The staff was friendly and the room was afordable luxury.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The temperature in the room was EXTREMELY hot and

Posted May 28, 2017
Pros: Close to the airport
Cons: Room temperature
Location: Claoe to airport
Everything about the hotel was nice except the room temperature which made everything else pointless. Everyone knows that the single most important thing in ANY hotel room is the temperature of the room. If the room is so hot you cannot stand to be in it then none of the other things matter. Worst hotel stay of my life. I was exhausted from a LONG trip and had another long trip coming the following day. I finally gave up on being able to sleep at the hotel and went back to the airport and tried to get a nap in a chair. Room was a complete, 100% WASTE OF MONEY. I would have been much better off just staying at the airport for the 16 hour layover. Worst part is the hotel did nothing to improve the situation. They offered me a free breakfast but I was so miserable I left long before breakfast was ready. DO NOT STAT AT THIS HOTEL!!!!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UAE

Smart clean compact room

Posted May 28, 2017
Really good location, smart room (apple tv casting or miracasting is available) The room itself is small, but everything you need is in. 24hour open hotel bar and lobby is social space. Comfortable but not luxury bed (it is very personal opinion) Floor sharing iron No kettle in the room. Please don't ask too much. Why should I put a little bit more? Expedia, please don't push me. If once more, I will not answer for the next hotel I will use. I don't like this kind of push. Why should I explain more about my experience? This is totally optional activity. But still expedia asks me add a little bit more. What I hate in expedia is this. This is not related to the CitizenM hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Convenient for early departures or short layovers.

Posted May 26, 2017
Checkin was quick and easy and the hotel was close to the train to get into the city. The room is funky but functional, with the toilet and shower standing out rather than in a separate bathroom. Fine for a solo traveller but some pairs (especially if not a couple) may find it awkward. Overall good value for a short stopover in Amsterdam where the hotel is just a place to sleep.