Ratings based on 189 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from UK

Small, clean and relatively central

Posted Feb 17, 2017
Pros: Clean and relatively central
Cons: Nothing at that price point
Location: 10 min walk from Centraal station so Damrak, Kalverstraat and the associated side streets and attractions are a walk away.
A little bit of a hike along a windy waterfront on a cold February morning but once there the hotel looks recently redecorated and my room was small but clean & comfortable. The complimentary breakfast was 'continental' (ie no fried pig products) but was more than adequate. Note - hotel is easily walkable form Centraal Station but the street signs are confusing around there so just keep the water to your left and walk past the Amrath.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Posted Feb 2, 2017
Location: Close to the old city centre
I literally only slept and had breakfast here. I travel to Amsterdam regularly and meet with friends in the evening. The bike rental service is very convenient.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from scotland

Central hotel

Posted Jan 29, 2017
Hotel within walking distance of station , ideal for most attractions in Amsterdam. Staff very helpful and friendly. Only drawback was poor wifi.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Essex

Another pleasant stay at the City Hotel.

Posted Dec 31, 2016
Pros: As before clean room, friendly staff, good breakfast and great location.
Cons: If there was an English buffet breakfast rather than a Continental buffet breakfast (which is still great) then I would give five stars.
Location: As in previous review and also for those who like their tech stuff there's a large Media Markt store just across the river, just pass the Starbucks.
Further to my review from 3 Feb 2015: just as good a stay but now the wifi works in the room. I forgot to mention last time that the room has a hair dryer for those people with hair. Also a nice new addition was a pair of shower shoes, saves having to pack a pair of slippers. I noticed some guests were wearing these down to breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New England

Over Exceeding The Low Expectations of AMS Hotels

Posted Nov 1, 2016
Pros: Finally, an affordable hotel in Amsterdam where the WIFI works in the rooms! And a fairly nice television with a plethora of English-speaking channels! Clean! Towels! A bed that's bigger than a Tic Tac! Sorry for shouting. I'm just so used to dirty, accommodating, closet-sized rooms in this area. Not that the room was big, but it had everything I could possibly need.
Cons: Considering all the other horrible hotels I've stayed at in this general location, I couldn't possibly complain about this one. A refrigerator of some sort would have been nice, but that's nitpicking.
Location: It's a relatively short walk from the Central Station, and a relatively short walk to many active, crazy, beautiful parts of Amsterdam.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel with very good location

Posted Sep 25, 2016
Pros: Location
Stay this hotel in two night after my Viking river cruise. Walking distinct from the boat and easily to get the center train station.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice older hotel in good location

Posted May 25, 2016 on Hotels
Room was not ready when I arrived at 3 pm. Had to wait for half an hour - taking from my short transit sight-seeing time. Otherwise it was clean and comfortable. Had to leave early before breakfast so staff packed a great lunch for me to take with. Very sweet.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good Hotel, great location, friendly staff

Posted Apr 20, 2016
Pros: LOCATION LOCATION LOCATION
Cons: the elevator and the stairs.
Location: central location to all the main highlights of amsterdam. You can even choose to rent a bicycle for about 12-15 euros from the hotel for the entireday
City Amsterdam Hotel is in a perfect location if you ask me. Sure it might not be in the heart of Dam square, however it is literally within walking distance to the main sites you would want to visit in Amsterdam. It is about a 7-10 min walk from centraal station, likewise, it is about a 10 minute walk to Dam square and all of the coffeeshops. Couple min walk to red light district as well. The one flaw with the hotel itself is the elevator and the stairs to get to your hotel room. The elevator is extremely small and can literally only fit 1 person and MAYBE 1 duffle bag. If u choose not to wait to take the elevator to your floor, u can take the stairs which isnt all that bad, however it gets tiring and the stairs are very small and its easy to trip and fall. Other than that, the hotel staff was extremely friendly and the complimentary breakfast was also very good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Excellent value in an excellent location

Posted Mar 11, 2016
Pros: Location and price
Cons: Ceiling Height
Location: Close walking distance to all the major Amsterdam attractions
I stayed in the Single room while in Amsterdam. It is conveniently located close to the Central station and easy walking distance to all the main attractions in Amsterdam. They even have a very affordable bike rental if you want to see Amsterdam like a local on bike. The room was perfect for a single traveler and actually quite spacious for a single room. My only comment is that the ceilings were low. I am 5'8" and I was fine, but if you are 5'10" or taller you will be taller than the ceiling and will never be able to stand fully upright in your room. Room was clean and well taken care of and bathroom facilities were excellent. I would definitely stay here again, and would definitely recommend it to anybody under 5'10"...If you're on the taller side you may want to look elsewhere.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tolca Lake California

Free breakfast and only a quick 15 minute walk

Posted Mar 7, 2016
Pros: The price and it was very easy to find.
Cons: A larger trash can in the room as the little one in the bathroom really couldn't hold my trash from the day.
Location: The City Hotel Amsterdam was located near the main street which goes to Dam Square where you can find a l lot of things to do.
After reading another traveler's review I decided to book C6 at the Hotel City Amsterdam. I was very happy with the room, quiet, private with lots of hot water and many movie channels in English. The fact that it was located in the basement was not a problem and I will book this room again when I next return to Amsterdam. The staff was very pleasant and happy to answer any and all questions. The breakfast was plentiful and any item quickly replaced when low. The hotel is easy to get to. Once you exit the Central Train Station you go over the bridge and turn left and keep going down Prins Hendrikkade 130 you will see the green neon sign on your right. It is almost directly across the water from the Chinese restaurant, you can't miss that building. There are 3 steps up to the entrance of the building of City Hotel Amsterdam.