Ratings based on 94 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Pleasant stay

Posted Nov 29, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Wireless network
It's nice and cozy , within walking distance to centrum. Would be great if there's lift. Wireless network needs to improve.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 28, 2016 on Hotels
The B&B manager was a lovely man, made us feel very welcome and helped us really enjoy or last night.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bad experience

Posted Nov 6, 2016 on Hotels
Not worth for money
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing place! Very cozy and authentic...

Posted Oct 26, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: Everething!!!
Cons: Everething!!!
Location: Historical center of Amsterdam...
Very nice manager! wonderfull spirit of Amsterdam in the each detail... Great central location and a canal view...
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Definite no go

Posted Oct 23, 2016 on Hotels
The building itself is impressive and really displays how people lived in the past. If you are into history, this is the place for you. Unfortunately not for us. We stayed in the suite at 3rd floor. The bedsheets were not ironed and the pillows smelled really bad, of greasy hair. We could not use them at all. The heating was not working and it was cold and dump in the room. Bathroom door knob was broken and would easy fall or come out whenever using it. The room maindoor could not be closed without the key. The toilet was outside the room, by the staircase. There were some cups and a teapot in the room, but dirty, as well as the kitchentowel on which they were placed. The closet on which the bedsheets were stored smelled bad, thus the bedsheets. As an old building, there is no soundproof, and it can be quite noisy until late in the night. You can hear everybody, within the building and even in the next building Clean,white,ironed bedsheets, heating and proper doors would have made a real difference.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A great, nice place, that is a good value.

Posted Sep 17, 2016 on Hotels
The hotels on the quiet side of the city center. I liked that. I love the fact that it was the 17th century home converted into a bed-and-breakfast. Tuhami, The manager was nice and helpful with things to do in the area. Someone commented about the stairs being narrow but he helped me get all my bags up to the fourth floor. That's good service. The bathroom was outside of the room in the hallway but there was never a conflict in using it. I was pleasantly surprised with the room, it was big and had a kitchen and dining area. The bed was very comfortable and I was able to sleep with the windows open with a nice cool breeze coming in. All in all an excellent experience. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone and I will return. It's quaint and a very good value.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Adelaide, South Australia

Quirky hotel right on the canal

Posted May 3, 2016
This was a great little hotel right on the canal, 15 minutes' walk to the station, and 7 minutes to the red light district. We initially had trouble checking in, as we could not rouse our host. But we arrived to drop our bags an hour earlier than we advised, which caught him off-guard. However he was a great host and helped us with our ample luggage. We stayed in the huge family room with views front and back, furnished with a queen bed and pull-out sofa (both super comfy), a well-stocked kitchen and dining area, complete with chandelier. The bathroom was very small and dated, but clean. Our room took up the entire 4th floor, and there was no lift, but we loved the tiny winding stair cases, and even my 82-year-old mother could handle them with a few rests on the way. The De Baronie is well looked after with heaps of character.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

F***ing awful

Posted Apr 20, 2016
Absolutely abysmal place. Extraordinary owner who kicked off when 4 of us arrived as two seperate bookings because we didn't all book one room?! No 'Hello and welcome' whatsoever. Didn't even have our booking sorted either and seemed baffled we were even there. Shower was third world, mould everywhere, absolutely filthy and like being dribbled on. Avoid
3 out of 5
by Despo

Average accommodation

Posted Apr 9, 2016 on Hotels
Averge accommodation in major need of an update. Avoid if you cannot handle steep staircases. Would have been better if the toilet was in the bathroom and not across the hallway. The bathroom was in major need of updating but the suite itself was a good size and clean. Quite a walk from Centraal Station too so be aware that it is atleast 10 mins walk.
5 out of 5
by Lorna

I will definitely be back !

Posted Dec 23, 2015 on Hotels
I loved it, very central comfortable and very friendly Staff and also well priced