Ratings based on 466 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from new jersey usa

Location is nice

Posted May 23, 2017
Pros: Beautiful old style - you feel like you're in the early part of he century.
Cons: Experience / management of outside restaurant; room size; prices at nicer inside restaurant.
Location: Great for canal rides and renting bikes and beautiful meals along the canal - cannot be beat. Great for local restaurants in 9 streets area nearby
It is a beautiful place, and the concierge and reception staff are nice. However, rooms are quite small & noise from the canal is loud on sat night (thin windows?) and woke my wife and I up several times (in our 50s). Food at the canal side restaurant is good but staff are a. It inattentive (inexperienced?). The high end restaurant inside has high end food and prices to match but my wife and I both felt we had better food at more local restaurants that are located within 10 minute walks in beautiful neighborhoods. Need to stay away from the downtown tourist trashy scene located on one side of the restaurant which is loud and not great. In the end it is a beautiful old building that is. Sry well appointed with a very attentive concierge and front door staff - friendly accommodating and all good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 7, 2017
Pros: Beautiful,nice location,clean,comfortable rooms.
Cons: Some of staff not as friendly or helpful as they should be.
Location: very central and easy to get to all the interesting places
Mostly positive for beauty of hotel,location. Most of the staff was friendly and helpful. The concierge service and some waiters could use some improvement
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from hong kong

Not worth it! It's not a real luxury hotel

Posted May 3, 2017
Just not worth it! Room description is not true! A Tiny room with big bathroom! Just too Small to charge me over HKD 5,000 per night! Nothing really special about this hotel! Not recommended to stay!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Awesome

Posted May 1, 2017
Amazing Hotel with amazing staff, recommended to some of the best places to eat anywhere on our trip, helped arrange shopping as well, highly recommended.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Saint Louis, MO, USA

Elegant hotel

Posted Apr 29, 2017
Cons: Buffet Breakfast was more expensive than a three course dinner at the Brasserie.
Location: Central, walking distance to shopping and museums.
This hotel deserves its reputation as the queen of Amsterdam. Large room,quiet, with huge marble bath. The staff was friendly and helpful. Dinner at the Brasserie was wonderful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Great location right where one needs to be.

Posted Apr 27, 2017
Pros: Location and staff.
Cons: We didn't have inclusive breakfast but didn't know that when we breakfasted on the first morning. 84 € for breakfast for 2 extortionate!
Location: Hotel is opposite the floating flower market and close to good shopping and restaurants.
First hotel in ages to have a room ready at 11.00 am. Really helpful and accommodating staff were a real plus. concierge service was excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Martha's Vineyard

Classy hotel in the heart of Amsterdam.

Posted Apr 26, 2017
The staff is friendly and goes the extra mile to make your stay comfortable. The quality of the hotel is like staying in a museum including the lovely rooms. Good food and cold Heineken round out the experience. One of the few hotels with an enclosed and vetalated smokers lounge next to he bar with a fine selection of cigars for the aficionado.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from studio city, ca usa

Right in the center of town. Convenient to all t

Posted Apr 24, 2017
One of the finest hotels I've ever stayed at. A tremendous to star Michelin restaurant .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel Excellent restaurants Quiet

Posted Apr 19, 2017
Terrific food great Ambience Strong staff Lovely setting
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from M

Best accidental stay

Posted Apr 12, 2017
We land in Amsterdam an hour late only to find out that our hotel had double booked the room and they were at full capacity. In need of a room with limited options and high prices, we decided to spend a little more and go to L'Europe. It was the absolute best. We loved it so much that we extended our stay an extra day, twice!