Ratings based on 2,278 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel with good location

Posted Jun 1, 2017
Pros: Good location
Nice hotel right by the New Church so convenient for most tourist things and the train station. Rooms were clean and had everything you need, although small (which we were fine with) Staff were friendly. A bit expensive but still nice
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pricy (from my perspective), but great location

Posted Jun 1, 2017
Pros: Location, Location, Location
Second time I've stayed at Die Port van Cleve. Great location, and a million times better than the other hotels I've stayed in in Amsterdam. I was there in late Amsterdam, and we were into high season for Amsterdam - hotel prices are a lot higher than in the fall and winter. Comfortable and clean, there's an elevator (not always the case in AMS), good shower, wifi works well. Great bar on the ground floor.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from swansea

Excellent hotel, good location.

Posted May 25, 2017
Pros: Lovely lady working in the bar from Peru.
Location: Dam Square, Anne Frank
Perfect for Dam Square and Anne Frank house. Short walk from satiation and canal trips.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brentwood Essex England

Highly recommended

Posted May 16, 2017
Pros: The hotel room meet to all our needs, excellent accommodation
Cons: no
Location: very central to go site seeing
The hotel and staff are very friendly and helpful. We were very pleased with the accommodation, the room service was good
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

great and central

Posted May 14, 2017
Pros: the staff was excellent and very respectful
Cons: more clear on booking details
Location: theres six pot shops very close, also right infant of a train stop so very central located
The only thing I didnt like is in america when you order double bedS you think you'll get two beds, this place was very misleading on expedia, it was actually only one bed.. very very very small room, if you have a lot of luggage and more then 1 person I wouldn't recommend it
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Four days in Amsterdam.

Posted May 6, 2017
Great hotel, great staff. Atrocious service from Expedia who ignored my choice of double room, booked the wrong type and tried to charge me over a hundred pounds to out their error right after telling me that all of the rooms of the type I had chosen had sold out, when they hadn't . I refused, they contacted the hotel who, magically, found me another and Expedia still tried to charge me money for changing the room type back to that which I had originally selected. They didn't get a penny extra. I won't be booking via Expedia again. The hotel was great. The staff were faultless the location was great. Book directly with them.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis Mn

Busy rather littered area, maybe better for young

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Pros: Nice new bathrooms,, quiet and close to train station. Friendly front desk staff. Outside looks great. Inside not so much.
Cons: Carpet is indoor outdoor stuff and hallways are very budget looking. Doors to rooms look beat up. up
Location: Very central busy location, close to tour offices
Think I would stay in museum area next time. We did find a few good places to eat although Amsterdam in this area is pricey compared to US.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 21, 2017
Nice hotel in a convenient location Enjoyed our stay in Amsterdam
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

Convenient, but very old

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Very convenient location. The hotel is very old, but clean. Only the bathroom is up-to-date. The beds are not comfortable. All hotel staff are nice and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A Great Hotel in a Great City

Posted Apr 16, 2017
Pros: Everything
Location: Located next to Dam Square (the center of activity in Amsterdam) the hotel offers easy walking to all major sites.
This was my third trip to Amsterdam and my first stay at the Die Port van Cleve. The building dates from the 19th century and the bar is on the national registry. Located near Dam Square, the hotel provides easy walking distance to the city's major sites and to the city's busses and trams. My room was spacious and very clean. A mini frig and a safe were also available. The hotel staff was amazing. I was always greeted with a smile and a hello whenever I entered the lobby and the staff was quick to offer directions or suggestions whenever I asked for assistance. I cannot say enough good things about the staff! When I checked out, I felt was if I was leaving friends. You can be sure that I will stay at the van Cleve on my next trip to Amsterdam.