Ratings based on 857 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

Avoid at all costs

Posted Jan 13, 2017
Run down hotel that's located right by dam square. I was staying at room 107 and you can literally hear every footstep by the occupants in the room above. The heating was aweful, no double glazed windows, no sound proof rooms so you can hear next doors tv, footsteps, and love making. Apart from the location and helpful staff, this hotel is aweful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from UK

Nice hotel close to Dam Square

Posted Jan 12, 2017
Pros: Great location, lovely shower, comfy beds, clean rooms, free birthday drink!
Cons: Staff could have been a little more polite upon arrival, but were pleasant enough. Bar prices were very expensive
Great location, lovely shower, comfy beds, clean rooms, free birthday drink!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from cambridge

Excellent location,brilliant staff

Posted Dec 26, 2016
Pros: Staff,breakfast location
Cons: Lighting Toaster
Location: Brilliant central location
This is a super hotel close to all main attractions and with great transport links The staff were so helpful and could not do enough to ensure our stay was a happy one. Breakfast was tasty and plentiful but a new toaster is needed!!! The room was clean and comfortable, the only down side was the lighting which in the winter months needed more 'umph' We loved this hotel made by its super staff. Carol
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 15, 2016
Pros: The hotel staff were awesome and very helpful.
Cons: It could be cleaner, many parts were under construction.
Nice exterior, not so thrilling interior. Staff were excellent. The hotel could have been cleaner. Lots of areas under construction, which I did not know. Overall a good deal for the money though.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Lovely hotel from the outside

Posted Dec 9, 2016
Lovely hotel from the outside. Close to Dam square. Easy to find. However the rooms aren't great. Beds uncomfortable and mattress was dirty. The bathroom needs some attention - shower was basically dribbling out water so took forever to shower.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location.

Posted Dec 2, 2016
Pros: location
Cons: I am aware the bathrooms are starting to be renovated. I have no suggestions.
Location: Dam Square shopping, tram outside the door, everything is walking distance. Perfect location.
Walking distance to Dam Square, Amsterdam Centraal, and the Museums. Welcoming, pleasant staff throughout the entire stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Great location but rooms are not four-star quality

Posted Nov 29, 2016
Pros: Location. That's about it.
Cons: Cleanliness of the rooms, modernization of the hotel, more appropriate hotel rating for the quality and product provided.
Great location but rooms are not four-star quality. Average three-star quality would be a generous rating. What disappoints me most about the hotel is the mischaracterization of the quality... If I knew it would be as run down as is the case, with amenities and a layout that seem antiquated, I would have simply chosen another four-star hotel that has a stronger reputation. Rooms with two single beds have the two beds pushed together, with stands attached to the wall that make separating the beds difficult, if not impossible. It would have been nice if the hotel staff had offered to remedy the situation. But that didn't happen. Bathrooms look old and the tub was not four-star quality clean. Hotels in downtown Amsterdam don't have the space that US customers are used to seeing. But the dirtiness of the bathroom (mold on the shower handle, dirt that can't be removed from the tub floor, etc...), the outdated room look and facilities (cheap coffee maker, weak toiletry quality, etc...) and the fact that I had to physically move the beds apart bc no one from the staff offered to help makes the rating this hotel has laughably lamentable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Nice Hotel in the Central Area.

Posted Nov 22, 2016
Pros: Great location.
Cons: Internet routers need to be updated/improved.
Nice hotel with a nice size rooms but we did upgrade. Comfortable beds and very clean room. The Staff and Manager were very helpful. The wifi needs to be upgraded with larger routers to keep up with all the guests in the hotel as it constantly drops you off the internet. The hotel is walking distance to all of the downtown area shopping and attractions.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Great hotel

Posted Nov 17, 2016
Great stay . Really friendly staff especially the porter . Perfect location to get to every thing but just a little out from the nightlife and noisy streets . Comfortable and clean . Room not huge but we were only there in the evening to sleep. The hotel bar is lovely. Would and will go back to stay .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great location

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Location: Central lots to do.
Very central to square,very clean but needs modernisation eg: dark wood,bathroom has been modernised very clea and bright.staff very helpful.