Ratings based on 934 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from 大阪

街の中心にあり、窓から運河が見えるホテル

Posted Nov 27, 2016
Pros: トラムの駅隣にあり便利。
Cons: 窓を二重窓に、
Location: 街中で便利。
トラムの駅隣にあり便利。窓からの運河の眺望も素晴らしい。広い部屋でしたが、別館?エレベーターはあるが、階段がありスーツケースを持ち運びが少しだけ苦労。ベットは硬い目でよく寝れました。但し、窓が二重窓でないので、夜中まで街の喧騒が…音に敏感な方はやめた方がいいかも。
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Nice hotel with excellent location

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Pros: Location is great. Room was clean and cozy.
Cons: Nothing I can think of. May be do some maintenance for the heater or get new ones.
Location: Besides the bakery shops, there are tons of stores and shops near by. Also restaurants.
This hotel is an excellent location. There is a tram stop right in front of the hotel where it was super easy for us to go from and to Amsterdam Central Station. Staff are nice and friendly. The room is very clean and nice. Great bathroom. The main issue we faced is that the room was a little bit cold for us, even with the heat on. (They have one of those old heaters next to the window.) We ordered an extra bed cover and that did the trick. We didn't take the hotel breakfast, we wanted to enjoy the local food outside. there are two bakery shops within two blocks of the hotel so you can easily get some pastries and coffee. Also, the hotel provide a water boiler with coffee and tea in the room, so did the trick for coffee for us.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Excellent value, central location

Posted Nov 15, 2016
Pros: Very friendly and helpful staff, great location on the Canal Belt and several tram lines, an easy walk to most attractions. Clean, comfortable room.
Cons: I didn't dislike anything about the hotel. I do however dislike this review system which won't accept that!
Location: Central and convenient, in the old city.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London UK

Lovely hotel conveniently located

Posted Nov 4, 2016
Pros: Everything was perfect for our needs.
Location: Ideal location. Anne Frank House, canal cruises, Art House Cinema, lots of restaurants and bars.
Our stay at the Dikker Thijs Fenice Hotel was wonderful. Room was large and bed very comfortable, BBC1 available on the TV. Had breakfast every morning, buffet style, very good choice, smoked salmon, scrambled eggs, was lovely. Reception staff very friendly and attentive to our needs. This hotel is very conveniently situated near most of the tourist attractions. We used a taxi on our first day, but once we got the hang of the map and street names we found we could walk to the places we wanted to visit, just 5 minutes from the Anne Frank house. Would definitely stay here again and thoroughly recommend. Thank you for making us welcome and adding to what was a very memorable stay in Amsterdam.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wirral

Good location

Posted Oct 27, 2016
Pros: Good location, pleasant staff, clean rooms. Shame we didn't get chance to try the bar or restaurant as they looked very inviting!
Cons: The decor and furniture in our room was dated, it was however very spacious.
Location: There are plenty of restaurants nearby, the hotel is easy to reach and it's just a nice 10 minute stroll along the canal to the Anne Frank House.
The room was clean and quite basic (described as comfort on the booking form) but as we were out all day sightseeing this wasn't a problem. The hotel is easily reached via tramline 1 from Centraal Station, it's in a great location with plenty of restaurants nearby. Our room faced the street, it was noisy from the regular trams that passed within a few feet from the building but you would expect noise given the hotels location (part of the charm for a short stay in a strange city). We walked to all of the major sights that we wanted to visit and even walked back to the train station on our last day making the most of our time in Amsterdam. The staff were pleasant and helpful.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA, USA

Nice, clean, centrally located hotel near canal

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Easy access to everything being right next to 3 tram lines. Many convenient food places and nearby high end shopping. Beautiful view of canal. Reasonably priced and clean
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, B.C.

Great Location

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Location: The hotel has a great location, just across from the restaurant district and at the beginning of the main shopping street.
I booked a room for 3 people. The room was spacious and bright, and the bedding comfortable. Although facing the main street, the double-paned windows kept the noise out (although the windows can't be opened). The room had a high ceiling, and the walls were bare. Some wallpaper or art on the walls would have given the room more character, but this is a minor criticism. Because of a ledge in the wall, water could leak from the shower onto the bathroom floor if one is not careful. The hotel is right on a tram line to the central station, and close to a canal cruise stop. It is a short walk to the Rijksmuseum. The Leidsestraat location in the Leidseplein district is an ideal place to stay. Check-in and check-out were quick an efficient, and the staff at the front desk were helpful. I would definitely stay at the Dikker and Thijs Fenice Hotel again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Great location!

Posted Oct 12, 2016
Location: Lots of good restaurants nearby. Walking distance to the Anne Frank House. Also close to Vondelpark.
Loved my stay at this hotel. Room was very large, clean and had a beautiful canal view. Staff was helpful and polite. Mattress could use an upgrade though... Great location on the canal and across the street from the Tram. Can get a little loud on the weekends as it is a busy street, but that didn't bother me.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

dreadfully noisy renovations going on, inapt staff

Posted Oct 5, 2016
Pros: it was only 1 night and it was over quickly. I did not like it. I will not stay there again.
Cons: inapt staff, worn out room, insufficient comforter, not a pleasant experience
Location: great
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Grafton, WI

Great location within walking distance to museums

Posted Oct 4, 2016
Pros: Near to everything, clean, helpful and friendly.
Our room looked out over one of Amsterdams many canals. We walked to the Van Gogh and Riks museums and from there to the flowermarket. There were many restaurants, cafes, bakeries, shops and services all within walking distance. The hotel and restaurant turned 100 last year and have done so with grace and strength. Loved it.