Ratings based on 2,217 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from UK

Nice hotel, great location

Posted Mar 26, 2017
Pros: Great Location.
Cons: Could be a little noisy but hey people are enjoying themselves.
Location: All attractions within walking distance, Dam Square only a 5-10 min walk.
Nice hotel and great base for exploring the city. Short walk from Amsterdam Centraal station and short journey to/from airport. Staff all pleasant and helpful and you can't beat the warm cookie provided on arrival. Room was clean, bright and comfortable with a great view of the canal. Didn't eat at the hotel restaurant but the food looked good, also take the elevator to the 11th floor to the Skylight lounge for a cocktail & a great view! Overall an enjoyable stay, would return.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 27, 2017 by Caroline, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for staying at DoubleTree by Hilton Amsterdam Centraal Station recently! We are glad you had an enjoyable time with us and thank you so much for complimenting our location, staff and rooms! Great to see that you also had the opportunity to enjoy our Skylounge. We would love to welcome you back on your return stay soon! Warm regards,
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Good hotel but bring earplugs

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Pros: Nice room, great location, good facilities
Cons: Restrict the noise levels from the Sky lounge
Location: Walking distance from the central station, nearby some new hip developments, easy place to go discovering Amsterdam.
My main purpose was having a good night sleep. However, the DJ in the Sky Lounge club thought it was time to push the noise limits resulting till 01.15. Pity.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 20, 2017 by Caroline, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for staying at DoubleTree by Hilton Amsterdam Centraal Station recently. I am sorry for the fact that you were disturbed by the noise from our Skylounge. I will definitely forward this to the relevant team. Thank you for your kind words towards our room, location and hotel facilities! We hope we have the pleasure to welcome you back again soon! Warm regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Towson, MD

Great base for Amsterdam travel

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Hotel was a simple 5 minute walk from train to hotel along the csnal. Easy to walk into old town. The had a Mac in the room that served as a TV and computer, who ich was awesome. Great idea!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 20, 2017 by Caroline, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for giving us a 5 out of 5! We are grateful for your compliments and we are glad you had such an enjoyable time whilst staying at our hotel. We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back again soon! Warm regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from WAYNE, PA

A better than usual Doubletree.

Posted Mar 11, 2017
Pros: The location and the very professional staff.
Cons: The climate controls seem a bit dated though they do work well.
Location: The hotel is next door to Central Station and NEMO and the Central Library are adjacent .
We stayed at this hotel a few days back for a total stay of 7 days . We were initially given an accessible queen room and we did not mind for the first day as we were going to Antwerp for 2 days in between while keeping this room too. On our return from Antwerp we enquired about an upgrade to a queen room with balcony as I find it claustrophobic not to be able to open a window specially at night and this room came with Breakfast and access to the lounge making the nominal cost of the upgrade worthwhile . The Hotel is a few minutes walk away from Central station. All in all I am very pleased with this hotel and we would certainly stay here again. The reception staff are absolutely polite and a delight to interact with.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 13, 2017 by Caroline, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for this positive review! We are grateful for your compliments and we definitely hope to welcome you back again in the near future! Thank you and have a great Monday! Warm regards,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Close, but not too close

Posted Mar 8, 2017
A modern looking contemporary hotel with friendly staff that's close, but not too close to the Action of the Amsterdam. Ideally located, with shared parking facilities directly underneath the hotel. I was a little disappointed to have been placed in a disabled room, as the chair under the shower was cumbersome and the shower curtain was too close to shower head. The power of the shower could have also been better. In addition, I was also a little disappointed to have paper cups instead of China cups....it is 4 stars after all. Also, I had a fridge, but no mini bar! The internet connection for the apple system is also insufficient, as there were occasions where I was unable to receive a tv or internet connection. I also had a spare single bed in my room for some reason?! On the plus point, the bath robe, bed and pillows were nice and comfy and the room was staff and cleaning team do a superb job.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 9, 2017 by Caroline, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent stay at DoubleTree by Hilton Amsterdam Centraal Station. We are glad to read that you had such a pleasant time whilst staying with us. Thank you so much for all your compliments and for your feedback as well. It has been shared with the teams to see where we could improve. We hope we have the pleasure to welcome you back again in the future. Warm regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing hotel

Posted Mar 7, 2017
Such a good hotel right in the middle of everything, close to the station but no noise was heard from the trains.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 8, 2017 by Caroline, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for such a positive review and thank you for your kind words! We would love to have the pleasure to welcome you back in our hotel in the future. Warm regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Prefect, central location.

Posted Mar 6, 2017
Great location especially for train links and easy walk into the centre. Rooftop bar is excellent (but fairly expensive). Cocktail and evening view is well worth it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 8, 2017 by Caroline, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for rating us a 5 out of 5 and thank you so much for complimenting our location, Skylounge and views! We would love to welcome you back again soon! Warm regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel

Posted Mar 6, 2017
Pros: The view and it was very close to the shops, restaurants etc.
Cons: The sky lounge bar is very nice but needs to have a system in place to get people seated as names were not being taken.
Location: Very close to all shops, restaurants and train station
Staff very welcoming on check in and more than happy to help with any queries. The room was spacious and had a very good view. It was my boyfriends birthday whilst we were there and every thing was spot on.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 7, 2017 by Caroline, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for rating us a 5 out of 5 and I am thrilled to see you had such an amazing time whilst staying with us. Thank you for complimenting our staff, view, location and rooms! We hope we have the pleasure to welcome you back again in the near future! Warm regards,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Staff - coopeative, most of them were helpful

Posted Feb 27, 2017
Nothing is perfect, and the same applies to the hotel. Notwithstanding, except for an unnecessary minor incident by the hotel showing poor attitude to its guest, the overall experience was okay. The incident somehow reflects poorly on the hotel, and the reluctant acceptance when i brought the incident to the attention of the manager on duty.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 1, 2017 by Caroline, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us! It is a shame you were not fully satisfied during your stay and I hope everything was solved to your satisfaction whilst you were staying with us. We are very grateful for the high score and we hope we have the pleasure to welcome you back to our property soon! Warm regards,
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location, full of heavy smokers!

Posted Feb 27, 2017
Pros: Location, proximity to Central Station and downtown Amsterdam.
Cons: Making sure that if people reserve a non smoking room they are given an non smoking room.
Great hotel, in a fantastic location close to the Central Station and downtown Amsterdam. However, despite booking a non-smoking room we were given a room on the smoking floor of the hotel. Being Amsterdam, of course other residents were not just smoking cigarettes in the rooms around ours and it smelled very much like one of the famous Coffee shops on our corridor and in the room. We tried to move rooms but with it being fully booked, this wasn't possible, which is a real shame as it spoiled an otherwise great weekend away in Amsterdam.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 27, 2017 by Caroline, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are grateful for the positive comment towards our location! It is unfortunate to read that you were not completely satisfied during your stay. We try to monitor as much as we can and my apologies if we failed on this occasion. We hope you will visit us again so we have another opportunity to give you a perfect experience in our hotel. Thank you so much for giving us your feedback and hopefully we will see you again in the future. Warm regards,