Ratings based on 73 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient, quite bedroom/kitchenette

Posted Dec 23, 2016 on Hotels
Good value for money. 1 block from tram 16 that passes Rijksmuseum and flower market, goes to Central Station. 1 block from Albert Cuyler street market. Fixings for a self serve breakfast is provided at check in on 1st day. The other days we had to provide our own breakfast. Thus not truly a BnB. Warning: typical of old Dutch houses, stairs (about 64) to this 4th floor loft room are steep. Thankfully Wienik insisted on carrying our luggage up and down to prevent walls being scratched.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Amazing loft in a great part of the city

Posted Aug 5, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: Great location, amazing host, clean and comfortable.
Location: Many restaurants nearby make this a perfect base to explore Amsterdam. Tram stop is nearby but lots of activities within walking distance.
Had a great stay in this unique room. We were supplied with more than enough to have a comfortable stay and the room is the perfect size for two. The stairs are daunting at first and would not recommend to anybody who might have mobility issues but they aren't so bad - makes you feel like you are working off the holiday meals!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Cozy hotel close to museums

Posted Apr 8, 2016
Very nice rooms with small kitchen appliances. Host is very pleasant and helpful. Will be coming back nedt time iam in Amsterdam.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing

Posted Feb 19, 2016 on Hotels
- I had to pay for the entire stay and deposit up front, in cash before being permitted into the room. I had to locate an ATM in the rain while carrying my luggage. - I contacted the host far in advance and still had to wait outside the building in the rain until he arrived. - The room was very cramped. There wasn't any space for luggage. - Lighting in the room was awful, and it made it difficult to see anything at night. - The room heater was not strong enough to keep the room warm (winter time). + The room was stocked with food when we arrived. - The room and the towels smelled like old cigarette smoke - The host was paranoid about everything getting damaged and it was very unwelcoming. + The location is convenient to Amsterdam's major art museums, Albert Cuyp street market, and places to eat
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Essex/Cardiff

Really well looked after!

Posted Dec 30, 2015
Pros: Everything! Very cute little studio loft.
Cons: A hob would be useful and complete this studio, maybe an oven too but there isn't enough room at all.
Location: Restaurants, pubs, supermarkets and takeaways nearby. Right near the Heineken Experience and the huge market, and the tram stop 2 minute walk away.
A small studio, four flights up very very steep stairs, so not ideal if you struggle with stairs as it is, or have lots of heavy luggage - it'll be a challenge to get it up and down the stairs, albeit the guy who owns it was nice enough to carry my small (cabin-sized) suitcase up and down for me. I've added some pictures of the stairs, but they don't quite do justice. A nice large selection of foods provided for breakfast, including an egg boiler and a toaster. Some shower toiletries provided: shampoo, conditioner and body wash. Large Dutch TV with English speaking channels and Dutch subtitles - this really sold my boyfriend, when he could watch Family Guy with his breakfast! Really helpful owner, he's more than happy to make good recommendations, etc. You can tell that the studio is really well looked after. Double bed with individual duvets. Fairly dark room even with light on, so I had to put the bedside lamp on as well to add a bit of brightness. Overall, a really good stay and would definitely recommend to anyone who can cope with the stairs!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 10, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oakville, Ontario

Great location, helpful owner

Posted Nov 6, 2015
Pros: Very clean, good location with easy access to local transit and walking distance to many sights.
Cons: A tourist map would be helpful, but these are available free from many tour operators.
Location: Walking distance to Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh museum, and concert gebouw (free performances at noon on Wednesdays). Also close to Heineken Experience.
The loft is decorated using space efficiently and the bathroom is very clean with newer fixtures. Bed was comfortable and the street view was great. Fridge and cupboards were well stocked. Two things to be aware of are that payment, including a refundable damage deposit, is accepted in cash only and the loft is at the top of a STEEP winding staircase of over 50 steps. It is typical of Amsterdam buildings and is a cool experience, but it definitely would not suit anyone with mobility issues. Owner lives in adjoining building (at ground level) and is very accommodating.
5 out of 5
by Deborah from Steyning

Frans Hall loft

Posted Nov 5, 2015 on Hotels
Throughly enjoyed our stay here and would stay again and recommend to friends
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

Good area and lots of good places to eat close by

Posted Sep 6, 2015
Frans Hals Loft is a really close to Rijks Museum and Van Gogh Museum. It is in a less touristy area and this suited us perfectly. The loft is a good walk to Dam Square but we loved doing this and felt like we got to know the city by walking along the canals. The tram from central station was easy (16 or 24), but we only bothered to use this when we had our bags. The instructions about checking in were really clear for us and our stay was seamless. Wienik was really friendly and helpful. We counted 58 steps to the loft. If you don't like steps don't stay here, but if you want a typical Amsterdam house instead of a standard hotel this is a good place to pick. Great food and coffee provided which we made full use if and it lasted us the three nights we stayed. We'll definitely be going to Amsterdam again and will definitely stay here. Thank you Wienik.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manchester

Lovely loft studio apartment.

Posted Jun 2, 2015
Pros: Privacy, location, self catering, district, everything really
This was a little gem of an apartment up some very steep stairs so could be a problem if you have mobility issues or heavy baggage. Owner was helpful and friendly but communicate with him prior to booking in to liaise over times/bag drop and deposit as requested. Location we found was excellent, round the corner from a lovely street market, plenty of reasonably priced eateries nearby, 10 minutes from museum square and walkable to the station (about 50 minutes). Food to make your own breakfast is provided and there are supermarkets nearby if you need extra supplies. Room smelt a bit of smoke from previous residents as it is not strictly no smoking but you soon don't notice it (and we were non smokers). Would highly recommend this little oasis.